Where to buy cheap and good engine oil? Any Brand or Place?

SZY

let me try to break down cost of car ownership in singapore:

• Registration Fees : $220
  • Open Market Value (OMV) : depend on your car model + freight cost 
  • Excise Duty : 20% of OMV
  • Certificate of Entitlement (COE) : $30-40k currently
  • Additional Registration Fee (ARF) :100% to 180% of OMV, depending on OMV value (min PARF is half of ARF refundable from LTA upon scrap)
  • Vehicular Emissions Scheme (VES) - not sure how this works but heard is $10k for many car models
  • Road tax - depend on engine capacity , 2litre is $1200 per yr
  • Others - eg agent premium and commission, loan interest, petrol , carpark fee, insurance fee , cashcard, inspection fee, etc etc

if the price difference for 5litre of best oil vs cheapest oil is only ~$100, which is incurred every 10k km or 6-monthly, i think the choice is clear - go for the best

Edited by pegasi

• Additional Registration Fee (ARF) :100% to 180% of OMV, depending on OMV value (min PARF is half of ARF refundable from LTA upon scrap)
  • Vehicular Emissions Scheme (VES) - not sure how this works but heard is $10k for many car models
  • Others - eg agent premium and commission, loan interest, petrol , carpark fee, insurance fee , cashcard, inspection fee, etc etc

if the price difference for 5litre of best oil vs cheapest oil is only ~$100, which is incurred every 10k km or 6-monthly, i think the choice is clear - go for the best

which is the best in the market? how did you determine that it is indeed the best?

best few bah eg amsoil signature, motul 300v ('best' based on own experience)

middle range i tried is castrol edge titanium, motul xcess 8100

entry range i tried is mobil one and shell helix ultra

below this entry range there are even cheaper oils which i never tried before ,eg carlube, lucas, meta, etc, and will never try because my threshold is entry range mobil or shell

for the above , the price difference compared to overall car ownership costs is actually negligible, see illustration below:

eg if 5litre shell helix ultra cost $40, and 5litre motul 300v cost $140, i would go for the motul 300v which is $100 more, which is half yearly oil change -> 1yr difference is $200 extra for motul 300v than shell helix ultra, but compare to yearly car ownership costs ~$20k, $200 is only 1% difference

which is the best in the market? how did you determine that it is indeed the best?

What you cited, 80% are taxes. Do I maintain the car based on car's requirements with a $30 engine oil. Or >$100 racing oil to protect it when 80% of the total cost are taxes and it last only 10 years? I don't think taxes need any special maintanenace, right??

The engines of BB cars dont have every high stage of tune, it is ok to stick to the requirements even with $30 oil.

Edited by Hachi

no lah, nothing to do with tax or non tax

is about how much you pay per yr for owning a car, and how much is engine oil cost compare to this cost

engine oil cost is part of what u pay to own a car, likewise all other cost including taxes, interest, insurance, car loan, etc etc etc etc etc

What you cited, 80% are taxes. Do I maintain the car based on car's requirements with a $30 engine oil. Or >$100 racing oil to protect it when 80% of the total cost are taxes and it last only 10 years? I don't think taxes need any special maintanenace, right??

The engines of BB cars dont have every high stage of tune, it is ok to stick to the requirements even with $30 oil.

no lah, nothing to do with tax or non tax

is about how much you pay per yr for owning a car, and how much is engine oil cost compare to this cost

engine oil cost is part of what u pay to own a car, likewise all other cost including taxes, interest, insurance, car loan, etc etc etc etc etc

i also think roughly the same way lol.

pump full tank also 150 liao, then niao here and there for serving and engine oil,

dun make sense.

thats y change the shell helix 5w40, no feeling, i tulan 2k nia change again  <_<

i also think roughly the same way lol.

pump full tank also 150 liao, then niao here and there for serving and engine oil,

dun make sense.

thats y change the shell helix 5w40, no feeling, i tulan 2k nia change again  <_<

I hoot 7 bottles of shell helix the last round when it was $30. To me engine oils are all the same, like petrol also, maybe my butt not much feeling.

But I do frequent oil change, coz i liked to see the golden color when i check the dip stick. Around 5000km +/- 1000km. So far the egnine i vehicles i onwed never give me any problems. Motorcycles or cars...7000rpm or 16500rpm.....

agree, shell helix ultra is not so ultra afterall

thats y change the shell helix 5w40, no feeling, i tulan 2k nia change again <_<

My belief is we need clean oil no need those high end type that claim can last for many more KM or high performance cause I rarely push past 4K RPM and never red zone before. I always change oil and filter at 10K.

Edited by Acewin

anyone can confirm shell helix on sale at Tampines giant???

ok ownself answer ownself.

saw in the other thread it should be available at Tampines giant.

pay abit more get amsoil motul redline

u will notice heaven n earth difference from entry level oils

Where got sell Carlube 5W-30 engine oil?

Please advise