Arikevin Clutched July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 hi guys, gg to ride up to cameron in a few days time. any nice foods to recommend? my gf is craving for the steamboat, any good recommendation? appreciate ur inputs. thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RayTravis Neutral Newbie July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 cameron highlands huh? Well i dont know about the food there. But one thing is for sure, I HATE DRIVING UP and DOWN cameron highlands. VERY VERY GIDDY..! Genting is 1000 times better.. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arikevin Clutched July 11, 2009 Author Share July 11, 2009 (edited) cameron highlands huh? Well i dont know about the food there. But one thing is for sure, I HATE DRIVING UP and DOWN cameron highlands. VERY VERY GIDDY..! Genting is 1000 times better.. :) ic. which way did u take to get up there? Tapah or Simpang Pulai? I tried both. have no issues Edited July 11, 2009 by Arikevin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 12, 2009 Share July 12, 2009 Go to Brinchang town in Cameron. you have 2 choices. A row of restaurants over charcoa steamboat on one side of a curve road. The other side which is near a supermart has traditional steamboat. I prefer the traditional. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enegizer Neutral Newbie July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 when are u going up bro .. ? might be keen to join :) last went was in early Feb. It was a bit drizzling for the 2days there, so wasted can't go around much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 hi guys, gg to ride up to cameron in a few days time. any nice foods to recommend? my gf is craving for the steamboat, any good recommendation? appreciate ur inputs. thanks in advance. If you are staying at the vicinity of Tanah Rata, there is one called Mayflower Restaurant. Tried it once, not bad. I think there are another one or two streamboat restaurant next to this outlet but I have not tried it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 (edited) I have tried afew steamboat in Tanah Ratah and Brinchang but so far most of them are pretty normal. The only saving grace was the cold weather made us ate more. I never understand why they insist on serving sea-food like prawn and fish when the abundance of the hills are there to be taken. I think its some kindof rip-off becos only with seaffod then they can charge a premium price. Its not the price that bothers me so much but if I want to eat sea-food, I dun have to go up the hills. Edited July 13, 2009 by Bavarian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 There's been cases of overcharging Whichever steamboat stall being patronised, best to confirm the rates and the dishes being offered before ordering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arikevin Clutched July 14, 2009 Author Share July 14, 2009 thanks a lot for the inputs. surely appreciated it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 14, 2009 Share July 14, 2009 hi guys, gg to ride up to cameron in a few days time. any nice foods to recommend? my gf is craving for the steamboat, any good recommendation? appreciate ur inputs. thanks in advance. Have you seen the thread on our Cameron Highlands Road Trip? It's in the Road Trips folder with many pix of food and places to go once there. Personally, I don't care for steamboat, we had BBQ Seafood instead and loved every bit of it. Especially the price; 1 huge stingray, 1 smaller fish, 1 vege, 2 rice and 3 homemade barley drinks (these were absolutely gorgeous!) All this for only, and I repeat ONLY...RM35 Till today, I still cannot believe it !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abke168 Neutral Newbie July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 cool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 Not forgetting it was quite filling for the stomach man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assobis Neutral Newbie August 30, 2009 Share August 30, 2009 msia seafood sure is cheap compared to sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 Have you seen the thread on our Cameron Highlands Road Trip? It's in the Road Trips folder with many pix of food and places to go once there. Personally, I don't care for steamboat, we had BBQ Seafood instead and loved every bit of it. Especially the price; 1 huge stingray, 1 smaller fish, 1 vege, 2 rice and 3 homemade barley drinks (these were absolutely gorgeous!) All this for only, and I repeat ONLY...RM35 Till today, I still cannot believe it !! Contemplating to drive up and visit Ipoh and CH this month (school holidays). It looks like need to refer to the road trips folder again for makan tips . I last went there about 3 years ago. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knht Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 Have you seen the thread on our Cameron Highlands Road Trip? It's in the Road Trips folder with many pix of food and places to go once there. Personally, I don't care for steamboat, we had BBQ Seafood instead and loved every bit of it. Especially the price; 1 huge stingray, 1 smaller fish, 1 vege, 2 rice and 3 homemade barley drinks (these were absolutely gorgeous!) All this for only, and I repeat ONLY...RM35 Till today, I still cannot believe it !! I think the price is about right for what you ordered, and wouldn't be considered as absolutely unbelieveable price, but comparing to sinkapor price then of course la... steamboat at cameron, nothing to shout about...very limited selection (not buffet style but standard set)....we alway tug along our own steamboat cooker or rice cooker, buy the meat or seafood at KL or Tapah wet market (remember to buy Tapah freshwater fish from the restaurant but have to pay high price)....checked into apt or bungalow at tanah rata or berinchang, go buy all the vege and mushroom at the tanah rata market and have our own steamboat dinner feast in cooling air with whole family, si beh shiok..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...