Iisterry 3rd Gear April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 I use them as my supplier for tires & rims too. Usually when a customer decides that the rims he chose does not look nice when fitted to the car, they will replace it again FOC for him. Comments taken back. No opinion on this supplier. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 i was searching for tyres for the last couple of weeks and finally changed to federal...can search my past postings i didnt have any dealings with Chen Jin or PH or SB, but i did made phones to all of them from the phone, i can see that Chen Jin is more hardworking... they bother to check with stock and tell me whether got stock or not.... and their prices are not all bad... all within market ranges. too bad, there's no stock on the tyres i was trying to get. so i didnt get from Chen Jin i think it depends on the mood of the person u are talking to..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 (edited) I have had good and bad experiences with different tire shops.. wall of text below Experience at Chen Jin I changed my rims and tires at Chen Jin about 1 year ago. Great service I received from them. About 3 months after that, I ran over a kerb due to carelessness, rupturing a sidewall on the spot and another tire showed a bulge. I went back to Chen Jin @ Upp Serangoon intending to change the 2 damaged tires and pass the other 2 good tires to my gf who was also on the same tires as me (LS2000). Due to financial constraints at that time, I asked them if they carried Federal or Kumho. They have Kumho, but they told me they don't have stock and suggested that I change to a new set of LS2000 since I was comfortable with that tire. However, they didn't have ready stock for the size I needed and since I was in a bit of a hurry to change out the tires, they started introducing other tires to me that had either bad reviews or were even more expensive than the LS2000s. Well, due to financial constraints, I declined to change the tires on the spot and they loaned me a used tire to replace the ruptured tire. Good service here from Chen Jin for the tire loan, but their hard selling tactics left a bitter taste in my mouth, despite me telling them that I was quite broke. But anyway, I left my contact with them for them to call me once the LS2000s arrived. Do take note, in case anyone wants to shoot me for not buying the tires from them in the end, they placed the order beforehand to replenish stock, and not a special order for me. Experience at Arrow Tires From there, I went to Arrow Tires to get the Federal 595 Evos after reading some good reviews about both the tires and the shop, but a distintive "wong wong wong" sound from the Federals and slight high speed wobble after changing led me to think that something was wrong (this sound was not present in the LS2000s) and I returned to Arrow to clarify with JJ and partner. They explained that the 595Evo is a budget UHP tire and such noise is common in 595Evos. As for the wobble, they did another round of balancing for all the wheels, but it didn't seem to solve the problem. They tried their best to resolve the issues for me, but somehow the issues remained. I will give credit to Arrow for trying their best though. Back to Chen Jin Thinking that it could be a balancing problem, I returned to Chen Jin with my gf to return the loan tire, swap the two remaining LS2000s to my gf's car and also asked them to do balancing for my Federals. They did the swap for my gf, $10 for that, but they flatly refused to do the balancing for my Federals. Reason given? They didn't want to have anything to do with lousy tires that are not sold by them. And to make matters worse, I realised that they didn't do balancing for my GF's wheels after they did the tire swap as I found out from my gf later. High speed wobble, what else could it be? I didn't mind paying, but they seemed to mind working on cheap tires not sold by them. Well, with that arrogant attitude, I won't be going back to them for sure. Experience at Horizon Auto So, with 2 cars needing to do balancing, I trawled the net once again and found yet another tire shop with good reviews, Horizon Auto. The mech, Ah Ho, did not hesitate to do balancing for me and gf's cars even though I did not buy any tires from him. He even remounted all my Federals to solve the high speed wobble completely. Of course, I paid him accordingly for his work, but hey, at least he didn't reject me unlike another shop I mentioned. His friendly attitude also made me feel good to continue with his services for my future tire and rim requirements. Conclusion? Always take online reviews with a pinch of salt. I have read about extremely bad reviews about PH, so I don't even want to start patronizing them. As for Leong Seng, my gf goes to them, but I find it too far for me. I stay in CCK and they are in Ubi. There are many other shops like Eng Wah, Soh Bros, etc, but I don't have so many tires and rims to change, so if I'm comfortable, I'll just stick to one shop. And out of the three shops I mentioned, no doubt which shop I will stick with. Chen Jin have a new outlet in Woodlands, quite near to my place, but I won't be going back to them. Even though they loaned me a used tire, I found their attitude lacking when they refused to do balancing for tires not sold by them. Probably feeling sour because I didn't change my tires with them. But too bad, money talks. And money says no no to expensive tires. Arrow have moved to some ulu place in Upper Serangoon near to Hougang area, extremely far for me and I still have to pay EPS parking to get to their shop, so I'll just stop patronizing them. Those who stay near them and don't mind paying EPS parking charges can give them a try though. They are quite friendly. But I would say their knowledge is not quite there yet. Ah Ho has set up his own shop in Bt Batok, near to my place and I'm also quite comfortable with him, so I will most likely be using his services for my next tire/rim change. Edited April 14, 2010 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onghc73 1st Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 give some hint of the shop in defulane bro. or u can pm me if u saw this msg. maybe changing tyres soon if price is really good change w rims lo. Bro, i asked Chen Jin price on 205 50 R16 & new rim price.. i would like to do comparison with Defu lane 1, bro.. appreciate if you can PM me the shop name, i would like go down to check myself this weekend.. no worries of wat other say... Truth is truth, nothin to hide.. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 I have had good and bad experiences with different tire shops.. wall of text below Experience at Chen Jin I changed my rims and tires at Chen Jin about 1 year ago. Great service I received from them. About 3 months after that, I ran over a kerb due to carelessness, rupturing a sidewall on the spot and another tire showed a bulge. I went back to Chen Jin @ Upp Serangoon intending to change the 2 damaged tires and pass the other 2 good tires to my gf who was also on the same tires as me (LS2000). Due to financial constraints at that time, I asked them if they carried Federal or Kumho. They have Kumho, but they told me they don't have stock and suggested that I change to a new set of LS2000 since I was comfortable with that tire. However, they didn't have ready stock for the size I needed and since I was in a bit of a hurry to change out the tires, they started introducing other tires to me that had either bad reviews or were even more expensive than the LS2000s. Well, due to financial constraints, I declined to change the tires on the spot and they loaned me a used tire to replace the ruptured tire. Good service here from Chen Jin for the tire loan, but their hard selling tactics left a bitter taste in my mouth, despite me telling them that I was quite broke. But anyway, I left my contact with them for them to call me once the LS2000s arrived. Do take note, in case anyone wants to shoot me for not buying the tires from them in the end, they placed the order beforehand to replenish stock, and not a special order for me. Experience at Arrow Tires From there, I went to Arrow Tires to get the Federal 595 Evos after reading some good reviews about both the tires and the shop, but a distintive "wong wong wong" sound from the Federals and slight high speed wobble after changing led me to think that something was wrong (this sound was not present in the LS2000s) and I returned to Arrow to clarify with JJ and partner. They explained that the 595Evo is a budget UHP tire and such noise is common in 595Evos. As for the wobble, they did another round of balancing for all the wheels, but it didn't seem to solve the problem. They tried their best to resolve the issues for me, but somehow the issues remained. I will give credit to Arrow for trying their best though. Back to Chen Jin Thinking that it could be a balancing problem, I returned to Chen Jin with my gf to return the loan tire, swap the two remaining LS2000s to my gf's car and also asked them to do balancing for my Federals. They did the swap for my gf, $10 for that, but they flatly refused to do the balancing for my Federals. Reason given? They didn't want to have anything to do with lousy tires that are not sold by them. And to make matters worse, I realised that they didn't do balancing for my GF's wheels after they did the tire swap as I found out from my gf later. High speed wobble, what else could it be? I didn't mind paying, but they seemed to mind working on cheap tires not sold by them. Well, with that arrogant attitude, I won't be going back to them for sure. Experience at Horizon Auto So, with 2 cars needing to do balancing, I trawled the net once again and found yet another tire shop with good reviews, Horizon Auto. The mech, Ah Ho, did not hesitate to do balancing for me and gf's cars even though I did not buy any tires from him. He even remounted all my Federals to solve the high speed wobble completely. Of course, I paid him accordingly for his work, but hey, at least he didn't reject me unlike another shop I mentioned. His friendly attitude also made me feel good to continue with his services for my future tire and rim requirements. Conclusion? Always take online reviews with a pinch of salt. I have read about extremely bad reviews about PH, so I don't even want to start patronizing them. As for Leong Seng, my gf goes to them, but I find it too far for me. I stay in CCK and they are in Ubi. There are many other shops like Eng Wah, Soh Bros, etc, but I don't have so many tires and rims to change, so if I'm comfortable, I'll just stick to one shop. And out of the three shops I mentioned, no doubt which shop I will stick with. Chen Jin have a new outlet in Woodlands, quite near to my place, but I won't be going back to them. Even though they loaned me a used tire, I found their attitude lacking when they refused to do balancing for tires not sold by them. Probably feeling sour because I didn't change my tires with them. But too bad, money talks. And money says no no to expensive tires. Arrow have moved to some ulu place in Upper Serangoon near to Hougang area, extremely far for me and I still have to pay EPS parking to get to their shop, so I'll just stop patronizing them. Those who stay near them and don't mind paying EPS parking charges can give them a try though. They are quite friendly. But I would say their knowledge is not quite there yet. Ah Ho has set up his own shop in Bt Batok, near to my place and I'm also quite comfortable with him, so I will most likely be using his services for my next tire/rim change. Thanks for sharing your experiences bro. I might be changing my tires soon and looking at a few tire shops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legacyx Clutched April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 I have had good and bad experiences with different tire shops.. wall of text below Experience at Chen Jin I changed my rims and tires at Chen Jin about 1 year ago. Great service I received from them. About 3 months after that, I ran over a kerb due to carelessness, rupturing a sidewall on the spot and another tire showed a bulge. I went back to Chen Jin @ Upp Serangoon intending to change the 2 damaged tires and pass the other 2 good tires to my gf who was also on the same tires as me (LS2000). Due to financial constraints at that time, I asked them if they carried Federal or Kumho. They have Kumho, but they told me they don't have stock and suggested that I change to a new set of LS2000 since I was comfortable with that tire. However, they didn't have ready stock for the size I needed and since I was in a bit of a hurry to change out the tires, they started introducing other tires to me that had either bad reviews or were even more expensive than the LS2000s. Well, due to financial constraints, I declined to change the tires on the spot and they loaned me a used tire to replace the ruptured tire. Good service here from Chen Jin for the tire loan, but their hard selling tactics left a bitter taste in my mouth, despite me telling them that I was quite broke. But anyway, I left my contact with them for them to call me once the LS2000s arrived. Do take note, in case anyone wants to shoot me for not buying the tires from them in the end, they placed the order beforehand to replenish stock, and not a special order for me. Experience at Arrow Tires From there, I went to Arrow Tires to get the Federal 595 Evos after reading some good reviews about both the tires and the shop, but a distintive "wong wong wong" sound from the Federals and slight high speed wobble after changing led me to think that something was wrong (this sound was not present in the LS2000s) and I returned to Arrow to clarify with JJ and partner. They explained that the 595Evo is a budget UHP tire and such noise is common in 595Evos. As for the wobble, they did another round of balancing for all the wheels, but it didn't seem to solve the problem. They tried their best to resolve the issues for me, but somehow the issues remained. I will give credit to Arrow for trying their best though. Back to Chen Jin Thinking that it could be a balancing problem, I returned to Chen Jin with my gf to return the loan tire, swap the two remaining LS2000s to my gf's car and also asked them to do balancing for my Federals. They did the swap for my gf, $10 for that, but they flatly refused to do the balancing for my Federals. Reason given? They didn't want to have anything to do with lousy tires that are not sold by them. And to make matters worse, I realised that they didn't do balancing for my GF's wheels after they did the tire swap as I found out from my gf later. High speed wobble, what else could it be? I didn't mind paying, but they seemed to mind working on cheap tires not sold by them. Well, with that arrogant attitude, I won't be going back to them for sure. Experience at Horizon Auto So, with 2 cars needing to do balancing, I trawled the net once again and found yet another tire shop with good reviews, Horizon Auto. The mech, Ah Ho, did not hesitate to do balancing for me and gf's cars even though I did not buy any tires from him. He even remounted all my Federals to solve the high speed wobble completely. Of course, I paid him accordingly for his work, but hey, at least he didn't reject me unlike another shop I mentioned. His friendly attitude also made me feel good to continue with his services for my future tire and rim requirements. Conclusion? Always take online reviews with a pinch of salt. I have read about extremely bad reviews about PH, so I don't even want to start patronizing them. As for Leong Seng, my gf goes to them, but I find it too far for me. I stay in CCK and they are in Ubi. There are many other shops like Eng Wah, Soh Bros, etc, but I don't have so many tires and rims to change, so if I'm comfortable, I'll just stick to one shop. And out of the three shops I mentioned, no doubt which shop I will stick with. Chen Jin have a new outlet in Woodlands, quite near to my place, but I won't be going back to them. Even though they loaned me a used tire, I found their attitude lacking when they refused to do balancing for tires not sold by them. Probably feeling sour because I didn't change my tires with them. But too bad, money talks. And money says no no to expensive tires. Arrow have moved to some ulu place in Upper Serangoon near to Hougang area, extremely far for me and I still have to pay EPS parking to get to their shop, so I'll just stop patronizing them. Those who stay near them and don't mind paying EPS parking charges can give them a try though. They are quite friendly. But I would say their knowledge is not quite there yet. Ah Ho has set up his own shop in Bt Batok, near to my place and I'm also quite comfortable with him, so I will most likely be using his services for my next tire/rim change. bro mind pming mi ah ho's shop address? hiz kinda like a legendary char lol..... heard about him from alot of ppl b4 when he was still at hankook cheers~!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear April 14, 2010 Share April 14, 2010 Pls pm me Ah Ho's contact & add too. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 me 2! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 take note that Ah Ho will be expanding to do engine oil servicings as well. he carries Redline oil, Brisk sparkies etc now....... soon, he can offer full car servicing packages, with extra manpower, of coz. i also change to Federal tyres, bought from him.... his service is good lah... no doubt abt it..... the only worry is he's alone now.... if too many cars go to him, he will have no time for each of them.... then ppl will complain about him.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 take note that Ah Ho will be expanding to do engine oil servicings as well. he carries Redline oil, Brisk sparkies etc now....... soon, he can offer full car servicing packages, with extra manpower, of coz. i also change to Federal tyres, bought from him.... his service is good lah... no doubt abt it..... the only worry is he's alone now.... if too many cars go to him, he will have no time for each of them.... then ppl will complain about him.... Oh... now got so many things ah.. but dunno if he's expanding too fast leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 i think it will ok so long as he got hired ppl to help out....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 i think it will ok so long as he got hired ppl to help out....... i just hope he chooses his help carefully to prevent jeopardizing his reputation.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Bro, does Ah Ho's shop have good range of rims and tires selection? Does he allow trade in of old rims and tyres? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 My comments on Ah Ho : Excellent experience. Very nice person. My comments on Chen Jin (Serangoon branch) : Very reasonable price and they sell some unique rims that others dont sell. Friendly staffs I dont know if Chen Jin is pushy or not but most shops are pushy. Came across most shops that asked me to pay deposit to booked their rims. So pushy is not a factor to me cos all shops wants to do business. Friendliness, honest, nice rims are the important factors. Buying tires need long term relationship. I dont want to go to some shops that are not honest. I can say Chen Jin and Ah Ho are very honest. Here are Ah Ho's details : Li Hong Auto Enterprise NO.1 Bukit Batok Crescent #08-61 Wcega Plaza Singapore 658064. Operating Hour:- 9.00am to 6.30pm (mon to Sat) sun by appointment only Contact person:- Ah Ho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edminski 2nd Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Bro, does Ah Ho's shop have good range of rims and tires selection? Does he allow trade in of old rims and tyres? yes bro, i have checked, they allow trade in of old rims and tyres. Price is not the cheapest of all, but Ah Ho is super nice guy to let u trust your tires with them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 My comments on Ah Ho : Excellent experience. Very nice person. My comments on Chen Jin (Serangoon branch) : Very reasonable price and they sell some unique rims that others dont sell. Friendly staffs I dont know if Chen Jin is pushy or not but most shops are pushy. Came across most shops that asked me to pay deposit to booked their rims. So pushy is not a factor to me cos all shops wants to do business. Friendliness, honest, nice rims are the important factors. Buying tires need long term relationship. I dont want to go to some shops that are not honest. I can say Chen Jin and Ah Ho are very honest. Here are Ah Ho's details : Li Hong Auto Enterprise NO.1 Bukit Batok Crescent #08-61 Wcega Plaza Singapore 658064. Operating Hour:- 9.00am to 6.30pm (mon to Sat) sun by appointment only Contact person:- Ah Ho Thanks for sharing the contact. Not sure whether I need to make appointment with him during weekdays since he is OMO.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 at least what u shld do is to call him and ask if he has yr required tyre size first...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 (edited) My comments on Ah Ho : Excellent experience. Very nice person. My comments on Chen Jin (Serangoon branch) : Very reasonable price and they sell some unique rims that others dont sell. Friendly staffs I dont know if Chen Jin is pushy or not but most shops are pushy. Came across most shops that asked me to pay deposit to booked their rims. So pushy is not a factor to me cos all shops wants to do business. Friendliness, honest, nice rims are the important factors. Buying tires need long term relationship. I dont want to go to some shops that are not honest. I can say Chen Jin and Ah Ho are very honest. Here are Ah Ho's details : Li Hong Auto Enterprise NO.1 Bukit Batok Crescent #08-61 Wcega Plaza Singapore 658064. Operating Hour:- 9.00am to 6.30pm (mon to Sat) sun by appointment only Contact person:- Ah Ho Ya i agree with you. Both of them are honest. But what irked me about Chen Jin was the part when i went back to them to ask them to do balancing for tires not from their shop, and they refused. Buay tahan! Edited April 16, 2010 by Beehive3783 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...