Scoobydoo Neutral Newbie February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 (edited) Some old-timer who spent 30mins talking to me and a friend while we were making some enquiries. Guess he's entitled to his own opinion. Anyway, we didn't buy anything from him but he seemed to enjoy talking to us about tyres and comparing the various models. Anyway, I have friends who go to PH who are also complaining the service is getting worse and prices not fantastic either. One of them now goes to Leong Seng, even though it might not be the cheapest place but at least there's a reasonable amount of service and professionalism. I find LS not bad too; bought a set of Pirelli P-zero from them a long time ago while they were at Alexandra. To each his own though. I'm sure there are people who have good and bad experiences with each tyre store. E.g would be Yap Bros. Yap got erratic temperament and I know a lot of people kena from him already. I used to frequent his place, and have a mix of good and bad experience there as well. Anyway, didn't have to change tyres for the past 2 yrs so I've lost contact. Edited February 17, 2010 by Scoobydoo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 ph i call for price. he say call me back. i called him the next day he became very rude and said he thought he already told me. damn turn off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 ph i call for price. he say call me back. i called him the next day he became very rude and said he thought he already told me. damn turn off. PH was once upon a time very popular cos' the old man's son knew how to attract the masses. Through words of mouths, the business grew until to the extent that he doesn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skylurker Clutched February 17, 2010 Share February 17, 2010 went to PH today to get my rims. I knew what I wanted and I know exactly what price I should aim for. When I reached there, the son asked me to look for the dad. So I told them that I am looking for rims, and to start off, i wanna look for 2nd hand rims. Then the dad shot back to the son, and then the son passed the baton back to the father again. Apparently they did not want to serve me after hearing that I want to get 2nd hand rims So I went to the racks and saw the rim that I initially wanted. When I asked for the price, the father quote me an exorbitant price which I feel is totally unacceptable. It appears to me that he is clearly cutting my throat off. When I told him I need time to go off a while and consider, he started to introduce me rims that I didn't even want, even asking me to upgrade my rims and tyres which didn't even cross my mind. I kept hinting him not to introduce me more rims, and also told him that I want to go off to think about it. He then added more pressure on me by doing hard selling products that I didn't bother looking at. I got so pissed, went out of the shop and drove off. Went to a shop at sin ming to get my rims changed. price wise still ok. Although more expensive than what I thought, they explained to me nicely on their difficulties and I accepted it nicely. PH then called me again later in the afternoon, i told them that i got my rims already. They went like "Har? Got other shops open ah?" It was evident that they wanted to jack up their prices thinking that they are monopoly for CNY 3rd day. He didn't even say bye. I dun like their services. thats my experience so far. will not go back there again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 (edited) Sharing my experience here. My ride's tyres have reach >45K and almost 4 years. So decided it's time to change and might as well upsize rims while I'm at it (yeah, survived on stock all this time) Of course, having read about PH for so long, decided to check them out as my first stop. Arrived to a crowded workshop. Auntie was nice to offer me a drink but I soon realise that she's just doing what she can do ... 'auntie'-ing (offer drink, ask ppl to look see look see, ask questions but dunno how to answer... sorry auntie) Asked if they have 2nd rims. say have. asked if have black with red trim.. couldn't answer. Nevermind, guess they were kinda overwhelmed. So I did my own window shopping. Problem is ... whenever I sort wanted to walk out/away, someone will engage me to ask ask again... After a while, decided that I was wasting my time there... and felt real stupid like a lost puppy jumping around hoops (Grrr...). They had asked for my number when I left which I gave and they never used (yup, no follow up call). Knew about Soh Brothers across the road but felt real paiseh to walk over so called it a day ... Ended up I took a new set of tyres and rims with Chen Jin at Woodlands ... for $800. Happy that I gave up on PH Edited February 20, 2010 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 Huh..So much Bad FR on PH. Went to PH (was around AMK) on CNY-eve. Mine purpose was to replace a broken Air inlet valve on the tyre and was told by Justin that have to wait for 5 cars. Cost is $8/valve. After waited for the 2nd car, I felt that I am wasting my time, thus I hopped over the Tyre shop beside SB. The lady quoted $6/valve and I was like ' Mai tu Liao'. I quietly walked back to PH and shifted my car to the adjacent shop and the worker immediately jacked up my car and do the replacement. No waiting time at all and its $2 cheaper. So rather then wasting time waiting at PH, rather we do some searching and may get even better deals or at least we get served immediately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weesern Clutched February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 how u know the valve is not good already? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 How come most ppl post here r newbies ah? Quite suspicious lei.... try not to believe everything you read in a forum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie February 21, 2010 Share February 21, 2010 try not to believe everything you read in a forum Despite all the bad FR of PH, I found their trade-in price still the best around leh. Back in Sep 09 when I was looking to upgrade my stock Altis rims to 17", when around sin ming, ubi etc. PH & SB offered best price. SB at that time was quite bo-chap me .. so went with PH. I won't say it's price is the best in SG (maybe I did not search enough), nor it has the best service, but at time when price diff is so great (abt $300-$500), I swallow pride lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joyer Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 I was searching for Goodyear LS200 tires for my car and read this thread and tried to give Chen Jin a call right after CNY. I was told they do not have the size I want. Then found the ones from tirepac.com.sg and asked them to sent to Chin Jin Woodland store for installation. I chose them simply because the forum discussion here and decided to try. There were not many people, probably due to post holiday, and the staff there was very friendly even they just install the tires. Good experience and nice chat with the engineer and staff while changing my tire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 ai..... one common problem when business gets too good is that the owner tends to focus more on higher profit margin products and "high net worth" customers and their referral...rest are considered bonus... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 hi, reading up on chen jin and hear the good comments, will wanna try them but wanna do my homework too... i am eyeing on a replica re30 or something similar and wonder what price range should i expect? i do not need tyres just rims. thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaNibOy Clutched February 23, 2010 Share February 23, 2010 try not to believe everything you read in a forum Its not tat i believe them but sometimes its reali too much til i find it amusing lei. Jack up the name super sky high until can fly. Hehehehehe.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Justwe Neutral Newbie February 24, 2010 Share February 24, 2010 I went recently to Chen Jin to trade in my 16" rims and tyres for 17" ones. I know wat rims and tyres i wan, so should b fast and easy. But found out price not tat cheap at all. Same goes to tyres. And they took in my rims and tyres for only $220 which have ZERO scratches watsoever. Tried to haggle but gave me a measely $20 discount more. I need to pay them $1280 after 'discount'. Told them i wil go for makan 1st but instead i go to 2 other tyre shops. One of them at bedok and another at defu lane. End up i changed at defu lane. Firstly, the same rims and tyres as i wanted at Chen Jin were cheaper and they took my existing rims and tyres at $430. I need to pay $1k after trade in. Same rims, same tyres as wat i wanted at the 1st place. Moral of the story, its always good to scout a few places before purchase cos u wil save quite a sum. Not to say Chen Jin is no good cos they too need to earn a living. I do not wan to name the 2 other shops cos ppl may tink im working for them. SaNibOy mind sharing what tyres you ask for at Chen Jin which cost $1280 and $1k in another shop? So you change to the $1k package ones? Can pm me the shop of the 1k one, interested to drop by there if price is really that gd as you mention. TIA! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Justwe Neutral Newbie February 24, 2010 Share February 24, 2010 oh ya. also possible to share what rim brand? Advanti kyowa rota rm? I heard there's many china rims out there. Dont wanna change my taiwan rims to a china ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaNibOy Clutched March 4, 2010 Share March 4, 2010 (edited) My rims and tyres are the same from both shops but diff prices. But definitley not China made. Edited March 4, 2010 by SaNibOy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Artz Neutral Newbie March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 My rims and tyres are the same from both shops but diff prices. But definitley not China made. give some hint of the shop in defulane bro. or u can pm me if u saw this msg. maybe changing tyres soon if price is really good change w rims lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weesern Clutched March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 I like to know too ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...