Seevic Neutral Newbie July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 If your car is Civic, I believe the angle eyes for civic are legal in S'pore. Other make are illegal. ahem..some brands are... ahem...some are not... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 Basically, anything that is not manufacturer-approved is illegal. So those on Audis, which are standard with the car, are allowed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 (edited) hahah.. bro.. u write like those replies i get from LTA/HDB/TP... not bad not bad. the part that sound like LTA, its cut and paste from LTA. Edited July 11, 2009 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 bro what about manufacturers that allow the lights as an option? eg. Bi-Xenon HID as an option Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 Basically, anything that is not manufacturer-approved is illegal. So those on Audis, which are standard with the car, are allowed. yup... i dunno why LTA so damn anal about all these type of little minor things which do little or no harm at all.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 11, 2009 Share July 11, 2009 bro what about manufacturers that allow the lights as an option? eg. Bi-Xenon HID as an option If it's not allowed by LTA, then they cannot offer it as an option. So if they offer means approved. Unless the manufacturer want to kena fined heavily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raykim Neutral Newbie July 12, 2009 Share July 12, 2009 hey guys newbie here.. mt car have led but only swtich on when on convoy?? if not mostly turn it off.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear July 12, 2009 Author Share July 12, 2009 yup... i dunno why LTA so damn anal about all these type of little minor things which do little or no harm at all.. The one i dun undstd is the EURO number plate.. how i wish i can change to ITA ones... :( but no point taking that kinda risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icyfreakass 1st Gear July 12, 2009 Share July 12, 2009 I understand some other countries,(not sure where) actually advise road users to put Daytime running lights as a safety feature and also it dosen't consume much energy. But only white of course. Not sure if they allow other colours. Tp abit screwed up =p. Few mod also Gek gao:x never see them catching lambos for being too loud or Harley Davidsons. Having more $ Owns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 100% illegal cannot help it distasteful car dressing up is just part of their lifestyle and culture I just wonder why people like to dress-up their cars like a XMAS tree. Seeing more Audi A4 chaps like to switch on their front LED stripes during daytime. Singapore day time too dark is it ? Sorry, can't help thinking that it is just plain "show off" without practical purpose. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear July 13, 2009 Author Share July 13, 2009 I just wonder why people like to dress-up their cars like a XMAS tree. Seeing more Audi A4 chaps like to switch on their front LED stripes during daytime. Singapore day time too dark is it ? Sorry, can't help thinking that it is just plain "show off" without practical purpose. Regards, well.. if i paid 10k more to get that option. i will on it too lor.. ultimately, they are the 'original' and first as far as DRL is concerned on sg roads... so nothing mch to say abt it. CAnt deny it looks very good... esp on the R8... The ones that puzzled me are those xmas/hearse/chingay cars.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 well.. if i paid 10k more to get that option. i will on it too lor.. ultimately, they are the 'original' and first as far as DRL is concerned on sg roads... so nothing mch to say abt it. CAnt deny it looks very good... esp on the R8... The ones that puzzled me are those xmas/hearse/chingay cars.. Sure, I will switch on too but not during bright day light . Sometimes, I just wonder whether there would be someone who buy that car just so that they can switch on DRL during bright day light. Well, I'm sure such people do exist in Singapore . Cheers. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 I just wonder why people like to dress-up their cars like a XMAS tree. Seeing more Audi A4 chaps like to switch on their front LED stripes during daytime. Singapore day time too dark is it ? Sorry, can't help thinking that it is just plain "show off" without practical purpose. Regards, Bro, from 2011, all new cars sold in Europe are required by law to have Daylight Running Lamps. So Audi is merely implementing it on their cars earlier. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daytime_running_lamp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 I understand some other countries,(not sure where) actually advise road users to put Daytime running lights as a safety feature and also it dosen't consume much energy. But only white of course. Not sure if they allow other colours. Tp abit screwed up =p. Few mod also Gek gao:x never see them catching lambos for being too loud or Harley Davidsons. Having more $ Owns. Just next door, you see all kinds of lights . For example, braking ligths ranging from, bright yellow, green to blue. You can have braking light that blink too. Who cares there... Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 I just wonder why people like to dress-up their cars like a XMAS tree. Seeing more Audi A4 chaps like to switch on their front LED stripes during daytime. Singapore day time too dark is it ? Sorry, can't help thinking that it is just plain "show off" without practical purpose. Regards, The ones on Audis are not options. They are standard and come on automatically when the car is started. And yes, it's European legislation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 Bro, from 2011, all new cars sold in Europe are required by law to have Daylight Running Lamps. So Audi is merely implementing it on their cars earlier. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daytime_running_lamp Having DRL, doesn't mean you have to switch it on when plying Singapore roads. There is no law here require us to do so here . Our weather is not as foggy nor cloudy here. So either you call it "trend setting" in a nice way or simply a "show off" to some. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2009 Share July 13, 2009 The ones on Audis are not options. They are standard and come on automatically when the car is started. And yes, it's European legislation. Then how come some have and some don't have. Someone just mentioned that it is just an option here and it comes with a 10K tag. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear July 13, 2009 Author Share July 13, 2009 Then how come some have and some don't have. Someone just mentioned that it is just an option here and it comes with a 10K tag. Regards, That time when i went to the Lauch, the SE told me the standard ones cost 139k. If you want the package with DRL and all, will be 149K. That was last year Aug i think.. now im not so sure.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...