How to not let manual car stall?

Latioboy

As mentioned, how to not let the car stall so easily.

Hate the feeling whenever it stalls. eeks!

On 7/9/2009 at 11:38 AM, Latioboy said:

don't shift into any gear.. [lipsrsealed]

control ur clutch lo.. stalled how many times liao?? my whole course of learning class 3 only stalled once when my instructor told me to stall it and let me "feel" how is like to stall a car.. [shocked]

More practice!! [nod] [nod]

Practice, practice and more practice. Don't care how many times you stall, practice till you don't stall any more. Also learn to "feel" the biting point, hold it and control it, rather than following a fixed formula of how much to release.

feel the biting point first, then lower clutch a little. alway do that before moving off until you more comfortable controlling the clutch and the accelerator. always learn to move off smoothly first.

actually you should just keep trying.

you can try to slowly release the clutch to see car is moving then you step on the gas pedal. [:)]

but try not to stall the engine too many times..i guess it's bad for it..

For me I simply follow the below rules:

1) Dont be too eager to release clutch fully (this applies to 1st and 2nd gear for smooth driving)

2) Always add a little bit of gas when you are near the biting point if you are not confident yet

If on slope always try catching the biting point and release leg brake a little to test first before going for the gas and always always remember to hold the clutch in position until you have successfully moved off the slope. Last time during my driving lessons I was always too gan chiong to release clutch whenever I pedal for gas so engine will choke or over-rev on slopes. Some form of weird reaction...

You taking lessons now? Like others mentioned, slowly release clutch + pedal, burn abit clutch but gets you moving.. never touched manual much after i passed so [drivingcar][drivingcar]

Practice practice and practice taking into heart what the instructor has taught.

You can do some reading on this website too:

StandardShift

Been driving manual pre-dominantly for the past 12 years and really love it!

I remember when I was learning driving, my control was bad. My instructor just throw me to a parking lot and ask me practise clutch and accelerator until I cannot hear the vroom sound and synchronise the movements seamlessly. Took me 30minutes. Just keep trying... you can do it! [thumbsup]

Was told last time to think of throttle and clutch pedals are sitting on two ends of a see-saw.

One goes up the other must go down in tandem.

Tried on my next lesson and significantly improved.

Good luck.

I normally rev a lot. Which makes me look quite stupid. A lot of noise but no movement. [blush]

It helps to be gentle on the clutch also.

Clutch control - after u feel biting point, zuah some you, and at the same time release the clutch pedal. Don't 'throw the clutch', otherwise u'll get the jerky feeling.

wah bro,you better practise more.if you kena stuck on slope how?especially on the new Msian CIQ customs?don't worry,practise makes perfect! [thumbsup]

On 7/9/2009 at 11:40 AM, Nhrisuzu said:

don't shift into any gear.. [lipsrsealed]

control ur clutch lo.. stalled how many times liao?? my whole course of learning class 3 only stalled once when my instructor told me to stall it and let me "feel" how is like to stall a car.. [shocked]

same same....

latioboy, pls practise more and do not drive on the road even if u got the license bcos u r a road hazard...

  On 7/9/2009 at 3:56 PM, Zniper said:

same same....

latioboy, pls practise more and do not drive on the road even if u got the license bcos u r a road hazard...

walao eh... like that say people..

All of us all was once or is a road hazard la...