Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 9:27 AM, GoodCar said: Singaporean so boring.......Make in Thailand Altis and Vios everywhere.......more interesting a bit can or not. their argument is the more same type of cars on the road, the better, because cheaper spare parts etc. that's why some Toyota fool always cheer when this month Toyota outsell Honda to take #1 spot and next month Honda fool will cheer when Honda outsell Toyota as #1 seller. singaporean really bo sai pang, this kind of thing also make them happy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 9:27 AM, GoodCar said: Singaporean so boring.......Make in Thailand Altis and Vios everywhere.......more interesting a bit can or not. At Present, I think buy Korea design car like Hyundai, Kia and Chevrolet make a lot more sense. Some say toyota FC low .....not really true..... unless you drive like a taxi, the premium you pay can buy a lot more fuel.....:). Altis fuel consumption low meh.........I doubt. Good point! When I was driving a Vios, every tom dick & harry also had one so I had to go outta my way to make mine look unique. Then you realise that some other joker has the same bodykit as you and the story NEVER ends! At some point got sick of it all and went for a car that is as unique as one could hope for in Singapore. Have never looked back since. But I think the most unique car in Singapore must be the DeLorean DMC-12 aka Back to the Future Car. There is only ONE such car in Singapore, saw it once at Dempsey area...what a beauty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vin3663 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 it also depends on your feel towards the car. It can be your best feel, might not be the best feel for others... so, as long as you like it, dun compare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 10:09 AM, Hermitage said: At some point got sick of it all and went for a car that is as unique as one could hope for in Singapore. Have never looked back since. and what car is that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 8, 2009 Author Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 9:10 AM, Viceroymenthol said: that's why singaporeans are an easy target to sell to. they are like kiasu sheep in the herd, just be the shepard and you can sell them anything. why do you think the top rich men in singapore are mostly property developers who sell dreams, lifestyle, and desire. these things appeal to sheeple. cars are not cheap, and when so much $$ is involved, what is wrong with buying a model which is popular with the masses. axio is a good car, but its from PI. BM will stand by their vios and altis. PIs will not not do that. to side track a bit, some PIs even dare to cheat the govt. the poor car buyer they will also cheat if got chance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 8, 2009 Author Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 12:45 PM, Neutrino said: What about if you and your family are tall? maybe consider avante or forte? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 4:44 AM, Picanto said: altis is about 10k more expensive than vios. is it worth it to pay more for altis when a vios is just as good? Vios has it meter located in the centre of the console dashboard just like the ugly hyundai matrix instead of right infront of the steering wheel. Very abnormal way of looking the meter when driving....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 i find it ok, its a matter of getting used to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 It's OK lah. Driven one before so I know that it's only a matter of getting used to it. Btw, got used to it within 1 hour of collecting ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 2:05 PM, Hermitage said: It's OK lah. Driven one before so I know that it's only a matter of getting used to it. Btw, got used to it within 1 hour of collecting ride... yea, sometimes swap car with dad, he will try to look for odometer infront of the steering or try to signal using the wiper stick instead while i do the opposite on his Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 test drive lar, dun just limit yourselves to just these 2 choices though..... Many other makes around too... Agreeded tat masses cars are getting boring, coz U see them almost anytime on the roads.... Sometimes for a same make, 2.3 or more same colored some more on the same path on road... Common cars nowadays are 1) Avante 2) Corolla Altis 3) Vios 4) Civic 5) Fit/ Jazz 6) Stream 7) Wish Anymore on the list to add?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 2:12 PM, Spurman said: test drive lar, dun just limit yourselves to just these 2 choices though..... Many other makes around too... Agreeded tat masses cars are getting boring, coz U see them almost anytime on the roads.... Sometimes for a same make, 2.3 or more same colored some more on the same path on road... Common cars nowadays are 1) Avante 2) Corolla Altis 3) Vios 4) Civic 5) Fit/ Jazz 6) Stream 7) Wish Anymore on the list to add?? Well, abit OT but yeah, I see alot of: 1) BMW 3 & 5 series 2) Merc E-class 3) VW Golf 4) WRX 5) Suzuki Swift Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khakis359 Neutral Newbie July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 Camry as well On 7/8/2009 at 2:28 PM, Hermitage said: Well, abit OT but yeah, I see alot of: 1) BMW 3 & 5 series 2) Merc E-class 3) VW Golf 4) WRX 5) Suzuki Swift Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 Toyota are popular because their mantra is reliability, i.e. no problems. Singaporeans are practical people. They buy a car as transport, not as treasure. So a Toyota that does not give problems is ideal, because they don't have constantly worry about breakdown, or always go bring the car to service etc etc. Just pay for the car and use, no fuss. Not to say other cars aren't reliable, but Toyota have been expert in instilling reliability in their brand value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 1:42 PM, Axela72 said: Vios has it meter located in the centre of the console dashboard just like the ugly hyundai matrix instead of right infront of the steering wheel. Very abnormal way of looking the meter when driving....... Speedo in the centre so that u can put those flashy gauges in front of the driver ma.. more sporty... heee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 hmm...mine is a new model but its so uncommon that my friends have to tell me "hey, i saw a car that day that was the same model as yours at where where where" when i see one on the road im like omfg! doesnt make me feel happy though. its just ok lah. my car rare. want to buy aftermarket parts must scratch alot of heads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic93porsche911 Neutral Newbie July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 What car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 9, 2009 Author Share July 9, 2009 On 7/8/2009 at 1:42 PM, Axela72 said: Vios has it meter located in the centre of the console dashboard just like the ugly hyundai matrix instead of right infront of the steering wheel. Very abnormal way of looking the meter when driving....... that's what made the vios unique. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...