Vios and Altis

Picanto

On 9/3/2009 at 2:24 PM, 2bfree said:

To bring out examples like that Stays in The RainTree at Bukit Timah & drives a Vios is an unfair and subjective statement. It is just like what HengHeng88 is saying on the other end. Both are subjective and politically incorrect.

The example was intended for the question, "some ppl say there r some who can't afford a altis so they buy vios.....anyone agree?". I quoted a condo dweller & a HDB heartlander as an example of different backgrounds, both decided to buy a Vios becos of preferences. One can afford to stay at a not so bad area like Bukit Timah pvt pty, logically he can afford to buy a Vios or a Altis. For watever reasons he chose to buy or not to, its not essential to the question. The other a HDB dweller in a not so bad area with a bigger HDB unit, choses to buy a Vios too rather thn an Altis. Again whether HDB dweller choses to buy or not, not essential to question.

FYI, I m notin like HengHeng. I dun even bother. I post tis to let u grasp wat I quote. Maybe u misunderstood. Or maybe u tink otherwise, pls share wif me ur perspective to the question posted of which I answered wif my example which u find unfair & subjective. No worries, I m the sought dat likes conversasions. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Maybe i misunderstood. I was thinking more in the direction where you mimic HengHeng88 and do what he is doing. For the statement , people said there are some who can't afford altis so they buy vios , it might not be relevant , the difference between the two models is just +/- 10k and to link it to affordability is just too strong a statement. [sweatdrop]

But if one links a higher end model like a BMW or an Lexus and compare it to vios , i would certainly agree that in buying higher end cars , the earning power of a person would affect one's considerations . Coming from the credit sector , my experience tells me that face value is a very important determinant to one's measurement of success. A simple example, in comparison when one wears a swatch watch while the other wears a Rolex , who do you perceive to have more money based on first impression. [shakehead]

Under this comparison , those buy vios or lesser cars rather than cars that reflect their "true wealth" are confident enough that their choice won't affect their "face value". For those sales related jobs , i think face value is still a very important aspect to gaining client's trust. [thumbsup]

Edited by CH_CO

  On 9/3/2009 at 1:32 PM, CH_CO said:

Hope you guys don't find it offensive , I've just read how HengHeng88 was attacked and i found it to be distasteful.

I just bought fit so i think i'm standing on the Honda side rather than the Korean car side , i don't dislike Korean cars , i like them for their price competitiveness. Though he sounds offensive but he makes sense in certain area , i found his post on opportunity cost rather enlightening as well how he explains why choose a car which is of a higher omv and lower profit margin might not be wrong as compared to owning a car which is cheaper but you pay more to the dealers.

In all fairness , i've see HengHeng88 post quite meaningful stuff when he is not arguing as compared to many others in the forum , no offense though. I apologize in advance if i offend anyone. I'm not in favor of his cockiness but i believe whatever you all have done is a little overboard. I actually feel shameful if i were to agree to you guys.

As for staying in bukit timah or vios , as I'm working in the backroom of auctioning and credit department for the backroom. You would be surprised that there is a high number of people staying in condo and hdb are the people defaulting on their bank loans as compare to people staying in landed and smaller places. It is just an case of whether one is able to afford

Some of which i know of were driving bmw before they had to downgrade to cheaper cars like vios , avantes as their incomes were badly hit due to the recent economic crisis. Though some would continue to drive BMW for their image and default on their loans. To bring out examples like that Stays in The RainTree at Bukit Timah & drives a Vios is an unfair and subjective statement. It is just like what HengHeng88 is saying on the other end. Both are subjective and politically incorrect.

As for the loans and credit part , a mean average of people staying in those places are paying more than 30% excluding cpf of their incomes to maintain those places , some as high as 50~60%. A simple calculation on a person staying in a million dollar place earning 10k a month.

Loan 800k , on 3% loan interest on a 20 year loan period

3% of interest = $24,000

Which is $2,000 a month for interest alone. If you were to add loan repayments into it . You would need to pay around 5~6k per month. Thats is not withstanding your car loans and other expense.

I won't agree that a person that is staying in a posh place mean that he has the capablity to pay. Based on whatever i see , i would disagree. The view on buying a car for everyone is different and shouldn't be linked to everyone solely where they stay. For higher end cars , the argument of earning power stand .

Oopps, I tink tis is the answer to the question. Sori din read it all cos too much details. But its ok. Guess u din grasp wat I was trying to quote. Anyway, I agree to some of the points u mentioned. Mine was thru real life examples to disagree wif the stereotypin of the poor buying Vios instead of an Altis. Like I say again, its preferences not whether they are rich or poor. It was mentioned in my posts if u may read again. Different backgrounds, bought the same car.

And I wld really appreciate it if u can dont quote oni a portion of my replies, cos tis was wat HengHeng did to stir up the flamin war. Tnx.

& so happens u joined on the 1st Sept......jus joking. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

  On 9/3/2009 at 2:41 PM, CH_CO said:

Maybe i misunderstood. I was thinking more in the direction where you mimic HengHeng88 and do what he is doing. For the statement , people said there are some who can't afford altis so they buy vios , it might not be relevant , the difference between the two models is just +/- 10k and to link it to affordability is just too strong a statement. [sweatdrop]

But if one links a higher end model like a BMW or an Lexus and compare it to vios , i would certainly agree that in buying higher end cars , the earning power of a person would affect one's considerations . Coming from the credit sector , my experience tells me that face value is a very important determinant to one's measurement of success. A simple example, in comparison when one wears a swatch watch while the other wears a Rolex , who do you perceive to have more money based on first impression. [shakehead]

Under this comparison , those buy vios or lesser cars rather than cars that reflect their "true wealth" are confident enough that their choice won't affect their "face value". For those sales related jobs , i think face value is still a very important aspect to gaining client's trust. [thumbsup]

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup] No worries. I agree wif u on the "face value" issue. I m in the sales line too. I hav seen my peers buy BMW bt barely can keep up the costs. These are the ppl dat I guess u see in ur line of work, defaultin on payments. BTW, WELCOME TO THE HONDAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by 2bfree

AXIO & Altis are both Corollas. Both are mid size Sedan.....uunder what they call C3 or C2 segment.

AXIO & ALTIS are dimensionally similar with same chasis. They only differ in their engine size, some exterior parts & maybe some soundproofing

On 10/24/2009 at 3:00 PM, C4tvv6qs said:

AXIO & Altis are both Corollas. Both are mid size Sedan.....uunder what they call C3 or C2 segment.

AXIO & ALTIS are dimensionally similar with same chasis. They only differ in their engine size, some exterior parts & maybe some soundproofing

but we all know which car most singaporeans buy.

Please la, vios is the best buy in terms of valure for money. 2 things I hate about it though, the lack of sound proofing and the pulley noise in the engine bay. The FC is fantanstic ! I just completed 650km per tank with one bar left, with occassional reving.

On 11/11/2009 at 3:21 PM, Kashy said:

Please la, vios is the best buy in terms of valure for money. 2 things I hate about it though, the lack of sound proofing and the pulley noise in the engine bay. The FC is fantanstic ! I just completed 650km per tank with one bar left, with occassional reving.

if you talk about Vios, weixiang_06 seconds to that.. ^^ haha.. i am back!

You are all forever linking money/dick length/ability/success to the make/model of car someone buys.

Maybe i have another theory of my own.

Intelligent people buy what they need that they can best afford vs. their total (all financial costs, subjective costs and "show-off/reward/pamper-self" costs *and* other returns considered). I dare say they don't make a loss even if the car they buy is a financial liability - because life is more than just about money. You guys never watch the TV ads "Murcielgo -1.5 million$. Looks from others - priceless?"

What is priceless? IT is up to you to decide. It is what makes us special, and what sales people want to know.

There's plenty of people who live fulfilled lives and die without regrets even though they didn't buy the car of their dreams. But they've had plenty of other dreams fulfilled.

Average people buy what they like and can afford, and consider then dismiss factors such as whether it makes them look rich, successful or better than you. Less than average people just see a car as a status symbol and ignore the actual economic (in all its entirety) costs of a car. Every day eat grass, still must own a toyota/honda - it's all cool. Your grave, your business, why must any one else (such as you) comment? You're not helping, you're not giving useful advice (post-hoc advice is NOT helpful - much less friendly) so what are you doing? You just like kicking people when they are down, or if you stand back and say they are stupid, then you're no better than the evil-hearted poorest or richest of us.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="

name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="
type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

What's a car. Before I had a car, I cycled my bicycle to work every day. Only when I needed a car, then I bought one (my folks got old, and I developed a need to be in office everyday), and yet I still didn't buy the best car I could afford. Even today, I can run to work if I have to. But time cost money to me. If I went by cab, I would have to pay more in terms of transport. And I would also have to book a cab (not always available). So how is a car a liability in this case? Many of the things we need in life are not assets either, such as electricity, water or groceries. A liability is defined in loose terms and a car in my car is not so tightly defined as one. I call it an expense, what do you call yours? If you can truly afford to just take BMW, then yes, you don't need it. Other people don't have that option.

So why am I here, spending time reading forums? It is not to make friends, and I really doubt any of you really are, given the nature of this particular forum.You can never be my true friend as long as you think money is the only factor in owning a car. I am that exact and that particular. What a car is used for is so much more infinitely valuable.

You are only as rich as your next paycheck. Right now the time you spend here, you are forgoing the next higher-class car you can afford in just a year or whatever with just half an hour spent here. In a year or less, I can buy another car that is twice the cost of what I am driving now. Yet, I don't think I need one that is that expensive. A lot of the money I make, I make by being true to myself - giving way, letting people pass, being kind to newbies.

This is money I could be spending in Europe, riding my bike. Do you truly know how to enjoy life?

I hope you all get too old to drive and realise this some day. Your sons and daughters will probably all drive volvos, bmws, vw or hondas (honestly, what is so difficult or expensive about driving a honda? even a failure can do it for 12 months) All your kids need is a (small) parking fee to pay for in the JB nursing home you will live in.

But your dick measuring contest in this forum will equal the same few inches when you're 70 plus ya.

Mine too I bet, but I don't care so much, unlike you who do. All my riches is with me today. All my base belong to me.

Send me a yellow card, dudes. Maybe we can all play cards when we're in the same home in JB.

I don't mind losing.

You all deserve yellow freakin cards.

You are all forever linking money/dick length/ability/success to the make/model of car someone buys.

Intelligent people buy what they need that they can best afford vs. their total (all financial costs, subjective costs and "show-off/reward/pamper-self" costs *and* other returns considered). I dare say they don't make a loss even if the car they buy is a financial liability - because life is more than just about money. You guys never watch the TV ads "Murcielgo -1.5 million$. Looks from others - priceless?"

What is priceless? IT is up to you to decide. It is what makes us special, and what sales people want to know.

There's plenty of people who live fulfilled lives and die without regrets even though they didn't buy the car of their dreams. But they've had plenty of other dreams fulfilled.

Average people buy what they like and can afford, and consider then dismiss factors such as whether it makes them look rich, successful or better than you. Less than average people just see a car as a status symbol and ignore the actual economic (in all its entirety) costs of a car. Every day eat grass, still must own a toyota/honda - it's all cool. Your grave, your business, why must any one else (such as you) comment? You're not helping, you're not giving useful advice (post-hoc advice is NOT helpful - much less friendly) so what are you doing? You just like kicking people when they are down, or if you stand back and say they are stupid, then you're no better than the evil-hearted poorest or richest of us.

What's a car. Before I had a car, I cycled my bicycle to work every day. Only when I needed a car, then I bought one (my folks got old, and I developed a need to be in office everyday), and yet I still didn't buy the best car I could afford. Even today, I can run to work if I have to. But time cost money to me. If I went by cab, I would have to pay more in terms of transport. And I would also have to book a cab (not always available). So how is a car a liability in this case? Many of the things we need in life are not assets either, such as electricity, water or groceries. A liability is defined in loose terms and a car in my case is not so tightly defined as one. I call it an expense, what do you call yours? If you can truly afford to just take BMW, then yes, you don't need it. Other people don't have that option. It is, actually, in my opinion (and my case) a freakin luxury.

So why am I here, spending time reading forums? It is not to make friends, and I really doubt any of you really are, given the nature of this particular forum.You can never be my true friend as long as you think money is the only factor in owning a car. I am that exact and that particular. What a car is used for is so much more infinitely valuable.

You are only as rich as your next paycheck. Right now the time you spend here, you are forgoing the next higher-class car you can afford in just a year or whatever with just half an hour spent here. In a year or less, I can buy another car that is twice the cost of what I am driving now. Yet, I don't think I need one that is that expensive. A lot of the money I make, I make by being true to myself - giving way, letting people pass, being kind to newbies.

This is money I could be spending in Europe, riding my bike. Do you truly know how to enjoy life?

I hope you all get too old to drive and realise this some day. Your sons and daughters will probably all drive volvos, bmws, vw or hondas (honestly, what is so difficult or expensive about driving a honda? even a failure can do it for 12 months) All your kids need is a (small) parking fee to pay for in the JB nursing home you will live in.

But your dick measuring contest in this forum will equal the same few inches when you're 70 plus ya.

Mine too I bet, but I don't care so much, unlike you who do. All my riches is with me today. All my base belong to me.

Send me a yellow card, dudes. Maybe we can all play cards when we're in the same home in JB.

I don't mind losing.

What's a car. Before I had a car, I cycled my bicycle to work every day. Only when I needed a car, then I bought one (my folks got old, and I developed a need to be in office everyday), and yet I still didn't buy the best car I could afford. Even today, I can run to work if I have to. But time cost money to me. If I went by cab, I would have to pay more in terms of transport. And I would also have to book a cab (not always available). So how is a car a liability in this case? Many of the things we need in life are not assets either, such as electricity, water or groceries. A liability is defined in loose terms and a car in my case is not so tightly defined as one. I call it an expense, what do you call yours? If you can truly afford to just take BMW, then yes, you don't need it. Other people don't have that option. It is, actually, in my opinion (and my case) a freakin necessity.

So why am I here, spending time reading forums? It is not to make friends, and I really doubt any of you really are to each other, given the nature of this particular forum.You can never be my true friend as long as you think money is the only factor in owning a car. I am that exact and that particular. What a car is used for is so much more infinitely valuable.

I don't mind losing.

On 12/20/2009 at 6:42 AM, Picanto said:

who the heck yopu think you are? dun come here disturb the peace

u dun talk noncense here lah, u r the most famous joker in this forum always disturb the peace and yet, u still have the cheek to point your finger at others?? <_<<_<<_<