What is the most despised NS vocation?

Ahtong

  On 7/11/2009 at 6:33 AM, Nolicense said:

that's very bad attitude and wasteful behaviour by the cooks. why didn't you complain to the OC or Chief Cook or who ever? These things should not be tolerated as it is expected that you get a decent meal.

I understand if they give a bit less as sometimes they need to ensure they don't run out of food or they will be punished. But playing punk like you described when serving soldiers coming back from the field is just disrespectful.

Then we were all recruits, so very green and obedient. [rolleyes]

BTW Tekong Camp 1 Chief Cook at that point of time was a regular, a little on the plump side, who ain't taking too kindly to us recruits.

But I reckon its not the vocation (or professions, commercially beyond the gates of the Army) but the people doing the job.

Just like us recruits, we also a bit siao siao, go peep at one 302 bathing and kanna confinement... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Flight_skoda

  On 7/11/2009 at 6:11 AM, Piyopico said:

Then you need to define what is tekan lor.

TS cannot even do more than a few sets of 20 puch ups and consider it tekan. maybe nowadys our army boys too soft liao. During my time push ups DUN come in 20s ok. Minimum 50 and above.

If you are weak, itz tekan. If you are reasonably fit, itz training. I am of course just talking about the physical aspects as a former PTI. As for non physical form of tekan, I think it builds character but to many it may be bo laio and does not help in shaping character or resilence etc.

Our army boys now are weak. Sorry but thatz the truth. Physically and mentally WEAK!

Endure and Excel!!!!

give me 100 chances to choose i will still rather be a PTI then officer. i swear on tis.

as my previous post has list the CPFT details...how many can actuali complete it??

i was a PTI in FCC and OCS ...trust me the ocs cadets MOST of them cant even clear the low rope wif SBO dun even say FBO

and ya if u say PTI go reservist oso need to be humble oready then u are wrong!

reservist now oso gt PTI u noe and they post to FCC to train NSmen ....

y humble ? during NSF tekan NSF ....during NS time tekan NSmen lor.....

u can run but u cant hide from a PTI for life!!

no one can touch a PTI not even officer...(their IPPT depend on us rmb??)

BUT i am not thse tekan type one...tekan abit no point to me la...

jus wan tell thse PTI-haters out there that jus becos u can nv be like us pls dun hate us.

we earn the white singlet and cross swords wif our blood and sweat..

Yap Endure and Excel, thatz the motto that got me thru.

Alas, nowadays, the new army dun need to endure wan. Not happy, complain. Push up more than 20, complain. WTF? PTI have got SOP and guildelines to adhere to ok. Weak just say so lah, complain about push up!!!!???? Wanna complain about the ants and mosquitos ?????

I was from the active motar unit and my men are used to doing 100 push ups easily. If not how to move the motor base plate??? If unfit men goes to the field they will tend to tire easily and mishaps happen. Lives and limbs are lost bcos of that. Maybe nowadys press button the guns will auto set for you and no more physical work is required. Good life lor, thatz why 20 push up is enough. Give up man.

Edited by Piyopico

  On 7/11/2009 at 9:55 AM, Ngck said:

wah... PTI seems like big fuk

Big Fuk meh? Lowly ranked brute oni wat .................. Chief of Army then big fuk.

Guest Julio369

big furk also cannot escape aging, illnesee and finally death. [angel]

big furk but made too many enemies, go into civilian life also cannot work in peace....Singapore is too small, sure to meet outside one, even become a boss still need ppl's relationship/ network...unless PTI join MIW gang....[gossip]

a lot of my "lao pang" officer i met outside tone down liow, call them "Sir" they say don't like that leh, just address their name, no more big furk, just a family man.

Edited by Julio369

On 7/11/2009 at 6:02 AM, Julio369 said:

PTI and UC instructor can be saddist/ Kualan/ individualistic during their active 2 years, but when going back to reservist, they become a humble rifleman/ infantry with no buddy in the attached unit or battalion...very lonerly hor, nobody to TCSS on the good ol' days or play chor dai di.

seen many ppl become kualan and saddist when don on their uniform & rank during full time NS but become a quiet, humble, friendly, normal civilian when working for a company, even when they go back reservist become "customer" oriented.

The moral of the story is what goes around comes around.

Is it necessary to tekan? is it not better to lead by example and man will respect you.

That is why I never tekan my traineer before in my army day. I will not make them do whatever I can't do. Infact sometime, I also do the exercise together with them.

Piyopico and Redlandzer,

the two of you are big jokers. Anyone who passes BSLC with at least a silver can pass the CPFT if they try enough times and train for 3 months. If it were really so hard to pass, you'd see a failure rate of at least 20% per course and I can say with certainty that there isn't such a high failure rate.

In fact, I don't know anyone who has ever failed the course other than those who dropped out with injuries.

There are some PTIs that are really Saddist. They make their training do log PT with them sitting on top of the log and do leapord claw with long 4 on the road under the sun. That is what call tekan as they, themselves can't take it if ask to perform such "torturing" task.

On 7/11/2009 at 10:24 AM, Kusje said:

Piyopico and Redlandzer,

the two of you are big jokers. Anyone who passes BSLC with at least a silver can pass the CPFT if they try enough times and train for 3 months. If it were really so hard to pass, you'd see a failure rate of at least 20% per course and I can say with certainty that there isn't such a high failure rate.

In fact, I don't know anyone who has ever failed the course other than those who dropped out with injuries.

It is the training that make them pass CPFT. If no such training, you think normal ppls can swim, run and clear all those obstacles within 50 min?

The root is they earn this through sweat. Same as officer, which earn their officer rank through the 10mths training etc

On 7/8/2009 at 3:46 AM, Toyo said:

I find the food quite good.

yeah i found the food by SFI quite good too during my time

1st time i tried the char siew rice and chicken drumstick set at 46SAR cookhouse, they were really good! [thumbsup]

  On 7/11/2009 at 10:24 AM, Kusje said:

Piyopico and Redlandzer,

Ya very easy to pass. Full Pack SOC is peanuts. If fit, you pass, if not you fail. No two ways about it.

I dun profess to be a big fuk. My job back then very simple. Make evryone pass SOC and IPPT. Dun care if you ocifer or men. If you fail you report to me for RT. I dun ask to be respected, I dun need it. I earn respect from my men in my unit which is an active unit, not some school for recruits. My men respect me cos I will tekan anyone, including ocifers in front of everybody if they dun measure up, esp the kuailan wan who tink their bar is damn big fuk. Ocifers are a funny bunch, theu either are very good or totally cannot make it. But thatz another story.

My men and me very pally wan, go chiong disco together and we go by company level. Very funny incidents happen all the time. I remember distinctly there was one time at "Fire" (Ya I am that old), one bunch of ah bengs tried to be funny and confronted me and my friends saying we dance too wildly and we bumped into them, they got no space etc. WTF??? This bunch of about 10 guys think they can makan us cos only 5 of us!!!??? Imagine their utter terror when my men which number at least 100 strong surrounded them and asked them what they wanted? The disco actually stopped the music and the bounchers backed off. If you could see balls drop, that was it! They have to say sorry at least 20 times and left immediately.

[thumbsup]

Simple job for me leh, no need to joke around. Like I say, I love Army days, no need to think so much. I say it again, army boys nowadays are WEAK!

  On 7/11/2009 at 10:36 AM, Axela72 said:

It is the training that make them pass CPFT. If no such training, you think normal ppls can swim, run and clear all those obstacles within 50 min?

The root is they earn this through sweat. Same as officer, which earn their officer rank through the 10mths training etc

Precisely. PTIs are normal people who have been forced to undergo that training. There is no need for special respect and it doesn't make PTIs better people than any other person on the road.

None of this excuses what some of them do by abusing their authority and making recruits do more pushups than they are supposed to. Some of them will even come up with the excuse that PTIs can give more pushups than others of their rank because they are in charge of PT and it is part of the lesson; wait till some smart guy asks him for the lesson plan :)

* I passed CPFT too and it was indeed no big deal.

On 7/11/2009 at 6:11 AM, Piyopico said:

Then you need to define what is tekan lor.

TS cannot even do more than a few sets of 20 puch ups and consider it tekan. maybe nowadys our army boys too soft liao. During my time push ups DUN come in 20s ok. Minimum 50 and above.

If you are weak, itz tekan. If you are reasonably fit, itz training. I am of course just talking about the physical aspects as a former PTI. As for non physical form of tekan, I think it builds character but to many it may be bo laio and does not help in shaping character or resilence etc.

Our army boys now are weak. Sorry but thatz the truth. Physically and mentally WEAK!

Allow me to add-on to what Tekan definition means 15yrs ago.

Tekan means:

- 50 push-ups x 6 0r 8

- Jumping jacks in 4 x 300 or more

- "Tornado", cupboards all pushed to the ground, all personal belongings mix-up and then standby bunk in 5mins

- weapons over head and high knealing for 1-2hrs

- "change parade", meaning fall-in in No. 4, then change to PT kit in 5mins fallin, then change to smart 4 in 5 mins then fallin, repeatedly.

- turn-out in the middle of the night, effectively allowing everyone to have only 2-3hrs sleep a day.

the list goes on and on

That's tekan in the past... nowadays Tekan probably means not allowing the soldier to make mobile phone call! :)

However, I must say tekan in the past brings out the best and worst in every man. Although I do not condone it.

You get to see the true colors in everyone, who are your best buddy and who are the mentally weak/strong ones.

Thats how we build up trust.

Didn't know so many ex pti here.

Hi guys!

Guess the whole issues with this thread is just jealousy? [rolleyes]

I only got feedbacks from other vocation complainin us pti wearing only pt kit bua long long [cool]

Haha but then again i went back for my 1st reservist recently got told that the vocation is phasing out soon [bigcry]

TerencE,

Endure & Excel

On 7/11/2009 at 2:57 AM, Chrispie said:

we always try to reach early so wont kena the long queue..

kena before, reached JUST after a tonner at the PLAD.. it was drawing ammo for battalion ex.. really faint...

ah, its only a tonner. last time we were drawing for 5D4N battalion+regular+reservist+XXXX combined-exercise. battalion got 3 X 5tons, regular got 1 X 5ton, reservist got 1 X 5 ton, XXXX got 1 X 1.5ton. reached PLAD at 4.30am, da bao coffee, breakfast etc. non-smokers go in settle paperwork while the rest sit outside one circle on the ground eat prata, drink kopi, smoke, relax. [laugh] eventually we finished drawing at 8am. [sweatdrop] around 7.30am got one 2PDF rover queue behind us, he was like [dizzy]

On 7/11/2009 at 5:51 AM, Fishy said:

wah lao finally someone brought him out in this thread!

ya he was the wing sm in sierra company, damn guai lan. last time i was in echo company and when we see him, we will shout across e parade square to greet him! thats how afraid we were of him.

once, his coy went outfield camp in tekong. 1 cadet sprained his ankle and wanted to report sick. Warrant Oh told him "doctor Oh will treat u" and gave him defaulter parade with full pack! after e defaulter, he asked if e cadet still wanted to report sick. no prize for guessing his reply!

im from Echo 28/97 and warrant oh has a son in alpha coy who was commissioned in 97

At my time.. WArrant Oh was in tango wing.. And i was from Echo wing too. 32/98! Lt Ubin was my APC!