What is the most despised NS vocation?

Ahtong

yes i know you guys are just doing your job.. and trying to do it well. So no hard feelings yah.

Guess since people always return and draw ammo at unearthly hours, no one will be in a good mood.. haha.. Cheers mate.

yes i know you guys are just doing your job.. and trying to do it well. So no hard feelings yah.

Guess since people always return and draw ammo at unearthly hours, no one will be in a good mood.. haha.. Cheers mate.

Talking about unearthly hours, during bmt, I wonder why the schedule is always draw ammo at around 4-5am. By the time the company reach the range and setup, still waiting for ammo till 8am. The shoot starts at 11am and time for lunch. Then shoot a few more before dinner and prepare for night shoot. Sit and wait for darkness. Then after that supper and pack up return camp. By 2am then the ammo party return.

If range for a few consecutive days, the ammo party really little sleep. But then draw ammo is always cluster F at the same unearthly hours.

we always try to reach early so wont kena the long queue..

kena before, reached JUST after a tonner at the PLAD.. it was drawing ammo for battalion ex.. really faint...

Guest Julio369

Any rules broken is bad image for the platoon, the company, the Battalion or BDE. sekali the commanders cannot get promoted or transfered, or unit/company ganna arrowed to do all sort of fatigues.

I remember in BMT, got ppl steal funds (~$1200) to be use for POP party, Platoon PC and corporals standby bed and hantom every one in the platoon...after that, no investigation, OC never interview us, MP never come....the case seems closed... and nobody bother to ask questions because all just want to get out of BMT. I guess if the case got blown out, even the CO at tekong will be sibei bo eng, under fire by Mindef.

That's why most of the time we sign extras rather than being charged, can be written off, the unit look good, your bosses look good, everybody look good.

But nowadays, in the internet digital age, it is very difficult to censored everything. Mindef is just an email away.

There should be a better way to do this i'm sure. but with all things saf, i think just forget about it. hurry up and wait yah?

same thing happen to us in bmt, waited till lunch before ammo party arrived.. hahaha

My previous cook was really good, when sea is rough, he will cook light food like teochew porridge or congee.

He is SAF sponsered Shatec trained, Staff SGT rank then. Also a very good long distance runner cos he jog everyday when in base. [thumbsup]

normally navy chef cook light food like congee or porridge when the ration supply is running low and needs rationing. Sometimes , can't re-supply out at sea.

For me it has to be either PTI, Cook or Medic. All 3 vocations are held by low ranks but they have the ability to tekan you jialat jialat.

How can you compare PTI with cook and Medic? Cook and medic can easily achieved and lots of the are downgrader e.g. PES C

Inorder to be a PTI, the full cycle to reach there is equaivalent to becoming an officer (OCS course) liao. (3mth BMT+2 mth ACT+ 3 mth NCO course + 2 or 3 mth PTI course). Futhermore, during PTI course, their physical training is tougher than commondo training. Not only need to run and clear SOC with full battle order, they need to be able to swim with that as well. Training in Commondo unit don't make commondo to become lifeguard but PTI course do. Imagine for a normal ppls that can swim only 2 laps, within 2/3 mth, you become also a certified lifeguard. Some ppls can run like the Black guy but may no be able to swim as the white guy.

The regret to PTI is, after been through such courses, might as well go for officer course (which is more prestige) instead to prevent you from saying "held by low ranks" here. [smallcry]

Edited by Axela72

How can you compare PTI with cook and Medic? Cook and medic can easily achieved and lots of the are downgrader e.g. PES C

Inorder to be a PTI, the full cycle to reach there is equaivalent to becoming an officer (OCS course) liao. (3mth BMT+2 mth ACT+ 3 mth NCO course + 2 or 3 mth PTI course). Futhermore, during PTI course, their physical training is tougher than commondo training. Not only need to run and clear SOC with full battle order, they need to be able to swim with that as well. Training in Commondo unit don't make commondo to become lifeguard but PTI course do. Imagine for a normal ppls that can swim only 2 laps, within 2/3 mth, you become also a certified lifeguard. Some ppls can run like the Black guy but may no be able to swim as the white guy.

The regret to PTI is, after been through such courses, might as well go for officer course (which is more prestige) instead to prevent you from saying "held by low ranks" here. [smallcry]

I was a PTI.

Dun like me ah? Hmmnnnn then I am doing my job right!

[flowerface]

Dun care you wat rank, if you are not fit I tekan. My CO also dun mess with me. SAF can play rank or play vocation. AH!.............. miss my army days.

[pirate]

No longer true. BMT+BSLC(Sispec)+PTI course is all that is required.

Last I checked, there is also no requirement to swim with the FBO anymore.

actually some of the Warrant officers and Staff with CSM appointment can be really guailan... OCS got the most feared Warrant Oh... kena defaulters parade by him.. you sure puke.

wah lao finally someone brought him out in this thread!

ya he was the wing sm in sierra company, damn guai lan. last time i was in echo company and when we see him, we will shout across e parade square to greet him! thats how afraid we were of him.

once, his coy went outfield camp in tekong. 1 cadet sprained his ankle and wanted to report sick. Warrant Oh told him "doctor Oh will treat u" and gave him defaulter parade with full pack! after e defaulter, he asked if e cadet still wanted to report sick. no prize for guessing his reply!

im from Echo 28/97 and warrant oh has a son in alpha coy who was commissioned in 97

Interesting thread. Why despise Medics? For Medic vocation, there are two kinds, Service and Combat. Both have to go through 10x IV with 16G needle, lots of theory lectures and tests (machiam like sitting in bio class), and stress training (think psychological stress). In terms of mental torture, none of the above held close to Medic. In some batches, there were ppl who couldn't take the stress and ended their own lifes at SMM.

For Service medic, training excludes physical torture, happy go lucky POP liao can serve at Medical Center.

For Combat medic, FBO + Field Pack + Stretcher & Patient + Rifle chiong SOC and run 2.4 clicks. During field camp, Stretcher + FBO + Medic Kit + Rifle all weigh more than 10kg. The hard part is not the weight, but the stretcher hitting your head, arms, all over you when you jump and hop, gets in the way of everything. Take off these and you can fly in SOC, at least my batch most ppl do SOC within 9mins, some 7. Now who says CBT Medics can't have 3SG rank and above. After serving for 1yr, CBT Medics (Poly, JC or Graduates) have to go for a Specs course, having to go through all the IVs, lectures and chiong suah again then pass out as 3SG.

On a monthly or quarter basis, whether you are CBT or Service Medic, so long as you work in a Medical Center, your Senior Medic or MO will conduct an IV test to uphold your IV proficiency. You know when you have troubles with your mates in the Medical Center, you can expect one or two blood shot arms each month.

Sometimes when a Medic misses your arm, it means he doesn't like you [laugh] And believe me, Medics in some battalions are big shots:

with cover from MO can tekan some enchik or OC with sickbay

some marches with CO during field exercises

in most exercises, Medics are amongst the first to be informed together with CO, S1, S2, S3, S4, OC, MO

on the field, all including CO have to respect Medics' decision and professionalism

Edited by Pmet

Guest Julio369

PTI and UC instructor can be saddist/ Kualan/ individualistic during their active 2 years, but when going back to reservist, they become a humble rifleman/ infantry with no buddy in the attached unit or battalion...very lonerly hor, nobody to TCSS on the good ol' days or play chor dai di.

seen many ppl become kualan and saddist when don on their uniform & rank during full time NS but become a quiet, humble, friendly, normal civilian when working for a company, even when they go back reservist become "customer" oriented.

The moral of the story is what goes around comes around.

Is it necessary to tekan? is it not better to lead by example and man will respect you.

PTI and UC instructor can be saddist/ Kualan/ individualistic during their active 2 years, but when going back to reservist, they become a humble rifleman/ infantry with no buddy in the attached unit or battalion...very lonerly hor, nobody to TCSS on the good ol' days or play chor dai di.

seen many ppl become kualan and saddist when don on their uniform & rank during full time NS but become a quiet, humble, friendly, normal civilian when working for a company, even when they go back reservist become "customer" oriented.

The moral of the story is what goes around comes around.

Is it necessary to tekan? is it not better to lead by example and man will respect you.

Then you need to define what is tekan lor.

TS cannot even do more than a few sets of 20 puch ups and consider it tekan. maybe nowadys our army boys too soft liao. During my time push ups DUN come in 20s ok. Minimum 50 and above.

If you are weak, itz tekan. If you are reasonably fit, itz training. I am of course just talking about the physical aspects as a former PTI. As for non physical form of tekan, I think it builds character but to many it may be bo laio and does not help in shaping character or resilence etc.

Our army boys now are weak. Sorry but thatz the truth. Physically and mentally WEAK!

wah... very good already (from my ICTs)

i haven't forgot that rubberband mee rebus 10 years ago in my BMT and the oily yam cake we had for supper during cleaning rifle at night... can't differentiate between the cake oil and the rifle oil.. :ph34r::ph34r:

Speaking about cooks: those in the units or divisional camps were so much better. When I was on duty as BOS, there were always hot milo, biscuits and nice supper waiting for my men.

However, my experience in BMT @ P Tekong was terrible. Allow me to share an experience:

My unit has just finished our work-outs and subsequent fatique duties, we were all faminished and eagerly waiting for lunch at the cookhouse. The portions given were inconsistent (Sections of 2 meat, 1 Veg, 1 serving of rice, followed by dessert).

I have collected my meat and vegetables and were moving towards the rice section, I asked this cook for " a bit more rice" and he dumped a full ladle (those big wooden kind with a long long handle) of rice on my mess tray, covering all my Meat and Veg. Even the sauce from the Veg and Meat was fully absorbed by the plentiful rice. [shakehead]

As I walked away not too amused, the cooks were there laughing and doing the same for another 2 of my buddies.

[shakehead]

Edited by Flight_skoda

once, his coy went outfield camp in tekong. 1 cadet sprained his ankle and wanted to report sick. Warrant Oh told him "doctor Oh will treat u" and gave him defaulter parade with full pack! after e defaulter, he asked if e cadet still wanted to report sick. no prize for guessing his reply!

This idiot got some sort of 免死金牌 is it? [mad]

that's very bad attitude and wasteful behaviour by the cooks. why didn't you complain to the OC or Chief Cook or who ever? These things should not be tolerated as it is expected that you get a decent meal.

I understand if they give a bit less as sometimes they need to ensure they don't run out of food or they will be punished. But playing punk like you described when serving soldiers coming back from the field is just disrespectful.

just read through all 7 pages, dam funny sia

just wanna contribute:

PTI--- i didnt hate PTIs. cos i think in BMT, it was just their " persona" to hantam the recruits, cos well, its BMT after all, recruits the scum of the army.

Chefs--- I enlisted in 2002, order 2004, i was teh SFI generation of army. BMT i eat until fat fat, smile at the auntie serving get extra chicken, then go OCS eat until also soong, but food get a little boring.

The only "OLD SCH" chefs i encountered were those who followed us up to taiwan and brunei.

The taiwan ones were pretty good. really.

BUT the ones who followed us up to Brunei, one of the chef dunno do wat, prepared us the OILIEST AND MOST TENDER MUTTON RENDANG (with the fat) ever!!!! SLURPPPSSS!!!

shiok sia

UCI--- These guys took my ass virginity away in OCS :(.. Do split until ass wanna tear liao sia.. knn..

but i found this TKD really kinda useless. Think i was last batch to do the TKD then after that they moved to CQB or something.

But heng some of the UCI pple for me were really nice pple.

PLUS HENG, one of the UCI sessions was accidentally scheduled after one of our 24 hr navex.

we walked 24 hrs ( upper peirce, come out mandai, then dunno how come turn up at bukit panjang, then up kranji dam, neo tiew road, walk the Lim Chu Kang run way, back to Safti).

after that our feet all wanna die liao, legs all dam pain. Our wing com requested the UCI give special treatment.

The UCI see all our feet chui chui, also feel sorry for us sia.. hahaha

BUT

i think the most hated vocation was:..

My voation.

Brigade AS1.

Becos its my name and signature that you see on your SAF 100.

but bo bian sia.. :(

Cheers!

Guest Julio369

nowadays practise consultaive approach, treated more like adults. must ask if can take the tekan or not? [rolleyes]

also too many sudden death cases, no instructor wants to be liable/charged or worst, live to regret.