Blueray Hypersonic July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 In NS, get to mingle with chaps of different backgrounds so can be challenging and yet interesting. offhand some of the memorable guys I have met are the following : - usual 5-ton driver for exercises, 6 foot tall and weighs at least 110kgs, never does his No 4 or laces properly, but a super 5-ton driver - support course WO1 (old school SAF type) who taught us to be good section leaders and wear our stripes with pride - SSG who arranged a bunk and bed for me when I returned to serve my balance liability, he wanted me to have a place to rest during lunch time - fellow section leaders, some of who I still meet up with these days for jogs and beer - Chief Clerk who always helps us arrange for our bus pass - QM guys who were helpful with the kit exchange and some of the ones who were not so nice : - sadist SGT during my recruit days, dunno whats wrong with him but its punishment all the time for the most trivial of matters - an LTA who asked me why I never greeted him (an officer) when I entered the staff room ... pui ... army has since evolved and is now more "cultured", and now only 5-day week and 2-years NS. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 MPs have always had a very bad rep. Hate is bred from Fear and fear is what most soldiers succumb to when attempting to breach the army's rules & regulations. The MPs have to enforce these rules and thus have inadvertently become the most hated of vocations. When smoking in uniform outside of the camp, even a Major has to fear a LCP! Sorry guys, but I had I GREAT time in the army as an MP!! Ahahaha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 I think should be the combat engineers. Always the first to arrive and last to leave . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 U got my vote on that one! Every last parade was a fxxking nightmare becos the dumbfxxk will just go on & on & on....abt his "TOUGH" training in OCS. Someone forgot to tell him he is a reject in his cohort so end up as maggi mee platoon PC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 actually some of the Warrant officers and Staff with CSM appointment can be really guailan... OCS got the most feared Warrant Oh... kena defaulters parade by him.. you sure puke. My whole company kenna defaulters parade before because some idiot didn't dig a hole to s--t during field camp. Worst of all, he did his deed near our rest area and all he did was use his used tissue to cover up his s--t... so you can imagine the stench... No one owns up, so defaulters parade for the whole company. But quite fun leh. And warrant oh is quite a funny guy in fact. His vocabulary of vulgarities can really make one salute him! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 what's maggi mee platoon pc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 I think should be the combat engineers. Always the first to arrive and last to leave . Haha, you are right man, I'm from CE btw... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 PTIs at FCC are ok. Those at BMTC are full of crap. One PTI ever made us do 20 push ups and when we reach 17-19, ask us to restart from 0 because somebody never do properly. So we restarted counting 1,2,3,4,5 ...... 19 at which point the PTI says we all neve listen to his instructions of restarting from 0. At this point, us half dead recruits went ZERO! 1, 2, 3 ..... I wonder if this type of people still exist in the 3G army. I remember this! Must be the famous PTI in BMTC, i forgot his name.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 U got that rite. I remember we traded two carton of maggi noodles with india fisherman in india for a basket full of crabs!!! Each of us had one medium crab for dinner. Spending a mth at sea and still can eat wanton mee for breakfast and char kway tiao for supper. But the cook also got mood swing lah. Sometimes its port or starboard bean aka red or green bean for supper and rest of the meals is fried rice. BTW, SAF do send cook to Shatec for training. I have a short time on the old LST 201, I remember it was like 6 meal a day. I really enjoy the navy food, yum!, yum! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SZY Clutched July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 Driver got free license when ORD, the other vocations have free M16 when ORD haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 Sharing from my experience. some food for thought what drives a unmotivated, nonchalant, don't want to do NS, lesser educated 18 yo to do things the correct way? Nothing except fear of punishment. . most of the time these cook are (street) smart. they just are not motivated to do things the correct way. If they did, do you think they will perform so badly in school? How many of us will do things the correct way in NS? if there is no rifle inspection, do you really clean until no elephant or clean until good enough will do and head for the canteen or bunk? we do prowling duty, we really keep our eyes wide open to see if anything amiss or just walk and glance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jermlai Neutral Newbie July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 Musician :P One man's vocation in NS, feeds another man's jealousy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 (edited) that's why I say most just mark time. at my camp, most of them don't even stay in. every other night go home. my camp cook really senang. sometime even pilot light leave on, DO got to off it in case gas explosion. like that can call do correct thing or not? Standing orders don't even follow. anyway on the topic of so called street smart not school smart NS boys, there are all kinds lah. see where you go and who your encik is, got look after or not. no point talk to you about all these, everyone got their own ideas. Doing the correct thing is all about safety, don't wait die already still don't know why. Edited July 8, 2009 by Nolicense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 (edited) My vocation was a signal storeman, think this is the best vocation of all. Always hide inside the a/c room. Keke.... No wonder my signal set always jam . . . must be you I love medics becos during field exercises we always get to eat hor fun in the ambulance/BCS Edited July 8, 2009 by Vroomtattat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 what's maggi mee platoon pc? you ask the armour unit pple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 During my time, the most Beh Gan type of people in NSF cycle are those 'Lobos' whom are under medical excuses (Keng Or Not I Dunno), work at Encik's office & act like they are a level above the rest of those 'Cheong Sua' fellows If you/your platoon is not 'Ar' aka friend friend with them, they will 'help' to suggest to Encik to ask you/your platoon members to do more in Guard Duties/Fatigue work .... Encounter this sort of CBs during my time ..., everyday hair combed nice nice with gel, wear Smart 4 walk here & there, act like 2nd in command besides Encik .... PUI ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 During my time, the most Beh Gan type of people in NSF cycle are those 'Lobos' whom are under medical excuses (Keng Or Not I Dunno), work at Encik's office & act like they are a level above the rest of those 'Cheong Sua' fellows If you/your platoon is not 'Ar' aka friend friend with them, they will 'help' to suggest to Encik to ask you/your platoon members to do more in Guard Duties/Fatigue work .... Encounter this sort of CBs during my time ..., everyday hair combed nice nice with gel, wear Smart 4 walk here & there, act like 2nd in command besides Encik .... PUI ... Add chilly not just seen in the army, in some other working environments there are ppl like that also. Borrow other ppl's authority and act "big". Those "Paul Lampard" or kah kia are good examples. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 9, 2009 Share July 9, 2009 (edited) Add chilly not just seen in the army, in some other working environments there are ppl like that also. Borrow other ppl's authority and act "big". Those "Paul Lampard" or kah kia are good examples. Yeah Bro ... When coming to ORD liao, pattern all change ... Suddenly become friendly to everyone ... Most likely scare tio hamtum when walked out of the camp after receiving Pink IC Edited July 9, 2009 by Mzrmazda3 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...