What is the most despised NS vocation?

Ahtong

  On 7/16/2009 at 9:18 AM, Axela72 said:

Lastly, you are right. Why female can't be doing the supporting vocation role like cook, clerk or storewoman since they want to be in par and equal with man right?

cannot lah, with regular female SAF personnel already got so much orgy stories leow, if all female also go in for NS... siao leow lor [lipsrsealed][gossip]

when females entered service in my unit, our showers and toilets had to be reconfigured so that one section is under lock and key, and we were told not to walk to the shower with towel only, must be PT kit, scared wait our towel drop and female serviceman outraged ...

go ROC also the same, must give them special room with door and lock, cannot share our barracks.

troublesome lei ...

On 7/16/2009 at 2:59 AM, Toyo said:

Yup, i thk it was silkair and if not wrong it was on a sat. I was on standby but not activated

should be friday... cos i was suppose to have a meet up with my sec school form teacher on the next day which is a sat. Unfortunately, she was on that plane [smallcry]

i was in NS at that time too... sad... very sad

On 7/16/2009 at 2:29 AM, Hub_n_mona said:

erm..my chopper was also activated within the hour..Menolong II

how long did you spend in Palembang? I remembered ordering Steamed Fish From Musi River from a menu there..I also [deleted]

I was a NSF..anyway bro, some details better not post online

u with 125 huh?

  On 7/16/2009 at 4:45 PM, System said:

OT: cheeky and cool avatar [thumbsup][lipsrsealed]

BTW anyone from Air force? Seems like most from Navy and Army. I was from air force and I would generally rate my time in NS as rather interesting. Got to meet all sorts of ppl and made some very good friends along the way. As a NSF, all vocations are equally valued if u ask me. End of the day just do your job well and everyone goes home a happy person :-)

Edited by Darkness

On 7/17/2009 at 12:40 AM, Hub_n_mona said:

no sir

SADA

air defense arty? Wondering what's your role in the silkair crash... hmmmm

[flowerface] can't really tell you

stayed till near end of jan but must say air force personnel had a better life than our naval people who had to stay at sea..we flew sorties out as support and one role was to transport debris back to a huge hangar to recreate..I literally picked up an arm and a leg

I'm with 120 when huey not phase out yet.....

now ICT still with 120....but become AH liao....

Seems like in this thread no one talks about RSAF vocation hor.....

  On 7/17/2009 at 2:01 AM, B777jubilee said:

u from Fairfield? Ms Koh was my teacher

yup... Ms Yee was my teacher

Edited by Altivo

One thing always strikes me in conversations about NS vocations. Namely, what a waste of intellectual firepower and social skills we have in the NSMan system.

At 18/19 years old, you are assigned a vocation that you stick to for life. Some parameters in a computer decide that vocation, and whether you should be sent to section commander or officer course.

Zoom forward 10 or 15 years after graduation. You have

- People nominated for leadership positions at 19 perhaps just coming into their own, but at least in a position of influence in their units

- People who have achieved personal success, in one way or another, reverting back to 19-year old roles and skill- (unskilled) levels

Cases in point

- A senior MD in a global financial institution - used to count his time as a driver till his last in-camp

- A senior HF salesperson I know who was called back for his 1st reservist training at 38, given his golden handshake a year later. And because they knew it was his last year, didn't give him anything to do for two weeks

How many successful entrepreneurs/artists/executives do we have out there being called annually to dig trenches for 2 weeks a year? I have rarely heard of NSMen programmes that try to utilise this brainpower in one way or another.

The ultimate point I am making is - forget about despising NS vocations, which itself is a fruitless and futile blowing of steam over something you have no control over. If only someone could figure out a way to leverage all that wasted talent....

On 7/17/2009 at 2:39 AM, Terence_oh said:

One thing always strikes me in conversations about NS vocations. Namely, what a waste of intellectual firepower and social skills we have in the NSMan system.

At 18/19 years old, you are assigned a vocation that you stick to for life. Some parameters in a computer decide that vocation, and whether you should be sent to section commander or officer course.

Zoom forward 10 or 15 years after graduation. You have

- People nominated for leadership positions at 19 perhaps just coming into their own, but at least in a position of influence in their units

- People who have achieved personal success, in one way or another, reverting back to 19-year old roles and skill- (unskilled) levels

Cases in point

- A senior MD in a global financial institution - used to count his time as a driver till his last in-camp

- A senior HF salesperson I know who was called back for his 1st reservist training at 38, given his golden handshake a year later. And because they knew it was his last year, didn't give him anything to do for two weeks

How many successful entrepreneurs/artists/executives do we have out there being called annually to dig trenches for 2 weeks a year? I have rarely heard of NSMen programmes that try to utilise this brainpower in one way or another.

The ultimate point I am making is - forget about despising NS vocations, which itself is a fruitless and futile blowing of steam over something you have no control over. If only someone could figure out a way to leverage all that wasted talent....

Well put. [thumbsup]

It's only after all NS, something we did not have a choice but to be put through. Vocations are very much randomly assigned if you ask me.

I have seen the brightest minds being posted into vocations that require little use of whatever brain power one has and on the other hand, the shallowest of guys wayanging their way to being commissioned as officers.

The over-zealous PTIs in here disgust me. [rolleyes]