What is the most despised NS vocation?

Ahtong

  On 7/15/2009 at 4:35 AM, Axela72 said:

Wow, PTI somemore. You are a disgrace to your own fitness vocation as you rather prefer to be a slack clerk. Such kind of mentality should not be even qualified to be a PTI in the 1st place. Wondering how will your instructor feel and know about it when you are in their courses. I am not referring to PTI vocation only but all other combat fit vocation. Those ppls who support PTI is because they are proud of it but you put words in their mouth saying that they think/ proclaim themselves as "god."

i agree wit u bro.

ENDURE & EXCEL !!!!!

The pride you chaps hold in your NS vocations... you all should be regulars. SAF need more people like you all.

I've seen younger chaps who send in their CVs with their NS "achievements" listed so proudly - and I wonder why they choose not to make it their career instead.

- 1st post!

On 7/15/2009 at 7:06 AM, Bighappyjer said:

The pride you chaps hold in your NS vocations... you all should be regulars. SAF need more people like you all.

I've seen younger chaps who send in their CVs with their NS "achievements" listed so proudly - and I wonder why they choose not to make it their career instead.

- 1st post!

I was a regular and proudly put in my vocation in my CV. I was a Naval Engineering System Specialist and spent the whole six years of my contract sailing onboard the vessel, ORD onboard the vessel also.

I decided to leave the Navy cos they refuse to send me for ashore appointments. They lack of senior staff sailing onboard and wana keep ppl like me onboard to slog like hell. Other vocations do get shore postings once in a while but ppl in my vocation are stuck onboard the ship cos of lack of new blood.

When I indicate I do not wish to continue my contract, they start giving me benefits and promotions. I had seen enough and bye bye. I love my job. When I left, I went to the commercial shipyard and work there cos I love engineering and ships. Till now I am still working in this line.

If not for the kind of treatment I received from the Navy, I would have stayed on.

after carefully reading through some of the post here, I can say that its not the vocation or rank that is despised but the person indeed.

On 7/14/2009 at 10:31 AM, Kusje said:

Who me? I was a PTI (80th BFSC) and truth be told, I'd rather have been a slack slack clerk. But that's not to say that I despise PTIs; I just don't think they are the "gods" the other PTIs in the thread are proclaiming themselves to be.

dun bother arguing... they keep shifting the goalpost.. you cannot score lah

On 7/15/2009 at 7:16 AM, Adrianli said:

I was a regular and proudly put in my vocation in my CV. I was a Naval Engineering System Specialist and spent the whole six years of my contract sailing onboard the vessel, ORD onboard the vessel also.

I decided to leave the Navy cos they refuse to send me for ashore appointments. They lack of senior staff sailing onboard and wana keep ppl like me onboard to slog like hell. Other vocations do get shore postings once in a while but ppl in my vocation are stuck onboard the ship cos of lack of new blood.

When I indicate I do not wish to continue my contract, they start giving me benefits and promotions. I had seen enough and bye bye. I love my job. When I left, I went to the commercial shipyard and work there cos I love engineering and ships. Till now I am still working in this line.

If not for the kind of treatment I received from the Navy, I would have stayed on.

regular and ns boys not the same man.... you do the real stuff for 6 years and is applying for related job mah

On 7/15/2009 at 7:17 AM, Bavarian said:

after carefully reading through some of the post here, I can say that its not the vocation or rank that is despised but the person indeed.

well said

On 7/15/2009 at 7:27 AM, Ngck said:

regular and ns boys not the same man.... you do the real stuff for 6 years and is applying for related job mah

Agreed. Adrianli is different case altogether.

Don't get me wrong - I have nothing against NSFs (all of us with kkj have served!) or regulars, or taking pride in the job that you do.

But to the extent that even after their active phase they're still harping on the "glory days" of days past, and how it makes them so much better than others, then I wonder why they do not make it their career. Can put some serious consideration in it..

For my vocation, there are no NSF, only regulars. It takes more than two yrs to be proficient in my vocation.

Anyway onboard ship, NSF are minority only. But ashore, they are plentiful.

On 7/15/2009 at 7:50 AM, Adrianli said:

For my vocation, there are no NSF, only regulars. It takes more than two yrs to be proficient in my vocation.

Anyway onboard ship, NSF are minority only. But ashore, they are plentiful.

when you are on a ship at sea or flying a plane, its the real thing. no test test or foolish decisions that will cost lives.

How can we trust NS boys to do such stuff? ashore is a safer place for them and others

On 7/15/2009 at 8:32 AM, Ngck said:

when you are on a ship at sea or flying a plane, its the real thing. no test test or foolish decisions that will cost lives.

How can we trust NS boys to do such stuff? ashore is a safer place for them and others

Yup, its the real thing.

Once while clearing range for our live firing, those thai n indo fisherman refuse to clear the area. So we fired one salvo of our main gun into the air. U should look at the speed they move off the firing range. :D

Whenever we encounter a foreign warship within our vicinity, we would look at each other very very closely. Checking for new jammers, rocket pods, etc... against the latest edition of Jane's Fighting Ships. [lipsrsealed] Shhhhhh!!!! [lipsrsealed]

  On 7/13/2009 at 5:24 PM, Redlandzer said:

wah sia la....fierce ...realli fierce..

all the jiao flying around oready...

i scare ...sorry gor gor...

dun call ur gang come dwn beat me k?? [laugh]

[knife][laugh]

No gang just me only cowards join gang bo LJ or are you a coward? [confused]

  On 7/15/2009 at 4:35 AM, Axela72 said:

Wow, PTI somemore. You are a disgrace to your own fitness vocation as you rather prefer to be a slack clerk. Such kind of mentality should not be even qualified to be a PTI in the 1st place. Wondering how will your instructor feel and know about it when you are in their courses. I am not referring to PTI vocation only but all other combat fit vocation. Those ppls who support PTI is because they are proud of it but you put words in their mouth saying that they think/ proclaim themselves as "god."

The instructors and my coursemates knew very well what I think about the army in general. The government sends you a letter saying you are required to turn on on some stupid day or they will jail you, throw you into some stupid vocation to serve their purposes and you're proud of it? It is not my fault that you have been brainwashed by the system from the first day to think that you should excel in something that you have been conscripted against your will into.

I fought the system every step of the way and left every single instructor and superior in no doubt of my views about the SAF. I suspect some of the lower ranked instructors in BMT and SISPEC kept my transgressions from their superiors because they knew I would challenge the system(not really the system since the system is almost challenge-proofed by all the scholars but how everyone follows the 8th core value instead) all the way. The idea is to arm yourself with the very knowledge that most people do not bother with - Mindef directives, TSR, camp regulation and stuff like that. You fight many small battles and win hoping it is enough to sustain you through all 2 years; if I were to conform like many others, I would have lost my identity and self.

The fact that I was still selected to be a PTI says a lot about the the selection process and criteria doesn't it?

  On 7/15/2009 at 8:32 AM, Ngck said:

HAHAHAHAHAHAA.

PARDON ME BUT THIS IS THE MOST RIDICULOUS THING I'VE HEARD IN A WHILE.

I suppose we're talking about specialists vocations here.

In case you do not realise, a whole lot of NSFs, when given the proper training are more likely to be more proficient than dumbnut regulars.

How I know? Let's just say I was in a position where I dealt with regulars and NSFs on a day to day basis (real work in the AF, not wayang army) and the disparity between the two groups is glaring.

No offence.

Edited by Leslielai

Precisely. Anytime someone mentions the Singapore Navy's competence, 2 words come to mind.

RSS Courageous.

On 7/15/2009 at 2:25 PM, Leslielai said:

HAHAHAHAHAHAA.

PARDON ME BUT THIS IS THE MOST RIDICULOUS THING I'VE HEARD IN A WHILE.

I suppose we're talking about specialists vocations here.

In case you do not realise, a whole lot of NSFs, when given the proper training are more likely to be more proficient than dumbnut regulars.

How I know? Let's just say I was in a position where I dealt with regulars and NSFs on a day to day basis (real work in the AF, not wayang army) and the disparity between the two groups is glaring.

No offence.

it may be true in certain vocations where a set of rules are laid strictly for you to follow.

the NS boys will exel in the job due to fear of being punished and the regulars can push the blame to them

  On 7/15/2009 at 2:29 PM, Kusje said:

Precisely. Anytime someone mentions the Singapore Navy's competence, 2 words come to mind.

RSS Courageous.

bro your pt is valid but your example is abit uncalled for. it is almost like a low blow. some innocent people did lay down their lives needlessly in this mishap. respect the dead please.

Edited by Happily1986

On 7/13/2009 at 6:25 PM, Aimnfire said:

thats nothing compare during my time

whole BATTALION kena defaulters parade

btw i hate those clerks at CMPB......bloody lobo's think they are big shot

I remember this incident few yrs back, 2 out of the 3 operational companies in my battalion got defaulter parades from the Formation Chief. It was during the NDP parade, one of the guys in the contingent marched the wrong timing during march past. Both Formation Chief and FSM instructed the battalion RSM to find out who was the culprit and wanted to charge him. The RSM gathered both the companies whom took part in the parade to discuss about this. He got us to vote on to give up the culprit or to protect his identity and took the punishment together. Eventually, it was decided that everyone involved in the parade, including the 2 companies CSMs and RSM would take the punishment and protect the identity of that culprit. To prevent the culprit's identity from being leaked out, no one knew who he is, except the CSMs, RSM and the culprit himself. Eventually, everyone received one week defaulter parade from the Chief. However, that was the MOST EASY defaulter parade. The BOS tried to make the defaulter as easy as possible, as the CSMs and RSMs are in the parade too...