What is the most despised NS vocation?

Ahtong

  On 7/11/2009 at 11:53 PM, Julio369 said:

now you know why all our VIP would rather trust Gurkhas more than PTI, OCS etc. to protect them or their property.

They are known for bravery, strength and loyalty.

Most Singaporean know for what? Kiasi, Kiasu, Kiabo promotion/ money, kheng here and there, and like to play politics/ play cover backside, at ther comfort aircon office desk.

You forget to mention 1 thing. "And they are lower in IQ, easy to control." Since when did Gurkas score well in their theory? Most of them barely pass the exam and when come to swimming, they swim like the black not the white if you know what I mean.

Edited by Axela72

Guest Julio369

ah, isn't that a traid most master/ bosses like? just follow orders, no question ask....say it bluntly, like a dog.

ppl say they are for show in those critical installation, prisons, VIP home.... You put one S'porean standing there like statue, see he can tahan or not. most likely will move here & there, fall asleep, sratch backside, TCSS, use handphone, play PSP, go tea break, toilet break etc.

heard if you drive your car and stop in front of a VIP house, they will c--k their weapons... [rifle]

On 7/12/2009 at 12:47 AM, Julio369 said:

ah, isn't that a traid most master/ bosses like? just follow orders, no question ask....say it bluntly, like a dog.

ppl say they are for show in those critical installation, prisons, VIP home.... You put one S'porean standing there like statue, see he can tahan or not. most likely will move here & there, fall asleep, sratch backside, TCSS, use handphone, play PSP, go tea break, toilet break etc.

heard if you drive your car and stop in front of a VIP house, they will c--k their weapons... [rifle]

Sound like they are a born slave to the VIP. Who will want to be aspired to become one of them?

I think the lowest vocation in the SAF have to be a GD man.

I don't despised them but they are man with the lowest education level doing odd jobs in a camp something like a sweeper or runner.

On 7/11/2009 at 6:59 PM, Ngck said:

So fast become life guard so standard one or not? Commercial course also cannot so fast

fyi, SAF lifeguard course is less than 2 months. aft BMT go for course then can shake leg at pool. oh yeah, i OOCed from that course, ended up being driver. pisssssed offfff....

On 7/12/2009 at 12:09 AM, Axela72 said:

You forget to mention 1 thing. "And they are lower in IQ, easy to control." Since when did Gurkas score well in their theory? Most of them barely pass the exam and when come to swimming, they swim like the black not the white if you know what I mean.

woah, hold on sir. its not good to flame gurkas, although they are mercenaries, they are very hardworking soldiers and they really do well in what they are entrusted to do. ever had an entire platoon of gurkas run past you in tekong carrying FBO on their back and holding a rifle with one hand? each and everyone would run pass and say a very cheery 'good morning' even if you're merely a LCP. was having prata in tekong inside my tonner when that happened, busy man, mouth full of prata and curry trying to greet each one of them back. gurkas are very friendly and nice people once you get to know them better.

[thumbsup] for them and all others who shine in their own vocation be it COA or cook; NSF, regular or NSmen; CEO or road sweeper. Keep up the good work! (while the rest of us relac one corner) [laugh]

On 7/11/2009 at 12:14 PM, Chrispie said:

At my time.. WArrant Oh was in tango wing.. And i was from Echo wing too. 32/98! Lt Ubin was my APC!

Suddenly it jolt my memory, I was in 33/98 Tango, There was one case of a group defaulter parade, about 15 person, think his trademark is "kiri puseng, kiri puseng, pu seng...seng, seng ,seng....."

Then soon after one guy went into fits and OOC.

It was heard that his area cleaning inspection was very thorough, even check the bottle trap of those wall urinals to make sure the urine was flushed out. Luckily during my time due to the OOC guy, and maybe another platoon was for MO so he toned down. [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] I was the area cleaning IC.

OK, before things get out of hand. I am sure every vocation has its internal difficulties which can cause misunderstanding with others. If you feel your vocation has been unjustly maligned, feel free to tell your side of the story minus the insults. I like how the Ammo storeman explain his difficulties in a civil way and the ex-officer accept it graciously.

PTI, Cook, Medic, RP and so on are all noble vocations doing an important job. Problem is some of them abuse their position to tekan (aka bully) others. Training and tekan are 2 different things, but the NS bullies will try to mix the 2 together. Let me give you some examples.

For PTI, let's say the objective is to do 60 push ups, just say so. If someone cannot do so many, he needs to train more. Don't make use of liguistic loopholes to make people restart again and again. That is bullying. Another stupid stunt I experienced is the PTI asked us to positions ourselves properly in the training shed after we were already in push up positions. Everyone stood up and kena [furious] because PTI never said we can stand up. So we got back to push up positions and crawled sideways like a crab.

Modern recruits are well educated so the old bash-till-you drop style doesn't work anymore. Because I know the pattern of BMT people, I only give 75-80% during training. When pushed, I try maybe 5% harder and I get praised for my efforts. On the other hand, the poor sucker who give 101% from the start is punished for not being able to push harder. See how counter productive old fashioned methods can be? Strange enough during my ICT where training objectives are clearly spelt out, a bunch of slack uncles can do things suprisingly fast.

For cooks, why dump a mountain of rice on people's plate when they ask for more? Common sense will tell you nobody can eat so much. Once again someone try to be funny because of linguistic loopholes and the end result is the army wastes food.

For Medics, I know they see a lot of chao keng everyday but is there a need to abuse and harangue people? Make people with back injury touch their toes or throw their full pack items all over the floor under the guise of doing inspection. If they are all very steady, nevermind. In a real emergency, you can see them gabra.

I am not saying all people in "despised" vocations are jerks. Just that a few bad hats can spoil the reputation of the vocation as a whole.

During my BMT time at Tekong, the cook was still quite bad, ask me and my fellow prowler to help him cook breakfast after our prowling duties. Reason is he forgot to do something, anyway we needed the food, so LPPL.

But an assurance to everyone that SAF had taken some considerable effort to weed out bad apples and I believe that they listen to feedbacks and complains. I was visited by a civilian dressing guy with his name card from provost the evening before my BMT enlistment the following day. He said, '...if you encounter any problematic issues that seem overbearing, just call me. but let no other know and don't go ask around, there are a few others like you."

I guess that they have received complains from previous BMT courses and decided to place a few guys to provide feedback directly.

There was once during the field camp, the 3SG made everyone in my platoon did 5 sets of 20 push-ups with FBO, the reason given was we were walking like going to market. But it never occurred to me that it was tekan. I was like, now we are really training. I was not really sure if the few other guys called the provost guy during the BMT period, I believe that they could have at least 2 or 3 guys planted for the platoon with trainers suspected of abusing authority.

Edited by Atonchia

I think there is an NS forum at ns.sg. Don't think this type of discussion is common there.

I just want to give my 2 cents.

The Israeli style of training was inherited from a few advisors attached here. Was it really the way they train or was this style there because they had to try something new?

Isaelis know they are a nation, but when singapore started, it was a new country. will our conscripts think the same way as their conscripts?

We all know there is a difference between SGP training and say US/UK army training. What kind of mindset results from this type of training would be good to compare. But from annecdotal evidence, I think SGP has lots of things to improve on. Sure our air force win some competition in the US, but to me, that really is too far removed from things back home.

  On 7/11/2009 at 8:39 PM, Patronic said:

Bro you regular ah? [thumbsup] Since you so siow on and fit might as well go for navy seal course (if you can use your PTI status to get selected) [shakehead] Losers like to brag and live in the past [thumbsdown] Drive lambo or ferrari in real civilian life means you really can make it... not during NSF times...as people said last time policeman wear shorts understand? [sleeping]

the topic her talks about NS vocation...y suddenly gt lambo and ferrari one??? hmm...

not braggiing and living in the past leh

firstly i am still fit...so its not a PAST thingy

secondly its not braggin...its protecting the reputation of PTI as i m one and will alwaes be...where gt past and present.

ya and now is talk bout NS vocation pls dun bring CV life in...unless u tell me u drive lambo now and is a top cadet in OCS ..haha

u noe NS vocation means wat not?????? [sleeping] NS life inside only gt 3 tonner no lambo one [sweatdrop]

  On 7/11/2009 at 6:59 PM, Ngck said:

if anyone is so hung up about their vocations, why not sign on?

i think only regulars are fit to bitch/boast about their jobs. the rest are just wannabes

c ar....i dunno tis thread talks about NSF or ur NS reservist time...shld b more of NSF....

so meaning we are comparing NSF vocation...meaning no one is signing one rite??

so if no one is signing on....what other vocation can b better than PTI when wat we learn and practise can b actualli used in the now booming fitness industry....look how many gyms and blooming..

do u guys noe that we hav the Fitness Intructor Cert that cos $900- $1300 in the market now...we got it free in PTI course

oh ya tt cert allow us to b gym intructors and can venture into freelance personal trainer which can easily if gt sales tactic earn like 6k a month??

and we are qualified rock climbing intructors

swimming instructor..

some PTI ...due to different batch hav gt coaching cert too....

and many more thing we gain can be used in CV life.

so which other vocation can allow u to use ur 2 years army to gain sth tt is soo useful in CV life...

now i talking bout CV life cos i stress its the NSF vocation we comparing now. means no one is signing on.

so if one love their vocation so much during NSF msut sign on meh????

cannot love it cos pride and cos it gg to help them sooo much in the CV life meh??

since so many tink OCS is the tip top vocation but when they ORD wat can they do in CV that has gt to used wat they learn as an officer???

dun come tell me they can lead or watsoever ...tts the character and personality....can b trained anywhere else no need army...

or is someone gg to tell me they can use their harbouring skill in real life?? or rich weapon knowledge? or watsoever army law??

oh and i tink medic oso gain alot of useful certs in their course which can b use in CV life too...

wen i say use in CV life doesnt mean like can earn u alot alot of money...but at least can work part time wif good part time pay while u pursue ur studies after army....

everything is bout certs in tis world la...face it.

  On 7/12/2009 at 6:12 AM, Redlandzer said:

c ar....i dunno tis thread talks about NSF or ur NS reservist time...shld b more of NSF....

so meaning we are comparing NSF vocation...meaning no one is signing one rite??

so if no one is signing on....what other vocation can b better than PTI when wat we learn and practise can b actualli used in the now booming fitness industry....look how many gyms and blooming..

do u guys noe that we hav the Fitness Intructor Cert that cos $900- $1300 in the market now...we got it free in PTI course

oh ya tt cert allow us to b gym intructors and can venture into freelance personal trainer which can easily if gt sales tactic earn like 6k a month??

and we are qualified rock climbing intructors

swimming instructor..

some PTI ...due to different batch hav gt coaching cert too....

and many more thing we gain can be used in CV life.

so which other vocation can allow u to use ur 2 years army to gain sth tt is soo useful in CV life...

now i talking bout CV life cos i stress its the NSF vocation we comparing now. means no one is signing on.

so if one love their vocation so much during NSF msut sign on meh????

cannot love it cos pride and cos it gg to help them sooo much in the CV life meh??

since so many tink OCS is the tip top vocation but when they ORD wat can they do in CV that has gt to used wat they learn as an officer???

dun come tell me they can lead or watsoever ...tts the character and personality....can b trained anywhere else no need army...

or is someone gg to tell me they can use their harbouring skill in real life?? or rich weapon knowledge? or watsoever army law??

oh and i tink medic oso gain alot of useful certs in their course which can b use in CV life too...

wen i say use in CV life doesnt mean like can earn u alot alot of money...but at least can work part time wif good part time pay while u pursue ur studies after army....

everything is bout certs in tis world la...face it.

wad about wing clerks? i'm a wing clerk in ocs..stinks and i hate my job..but the people are kinda cool..so yea..its not so bad.

Dun let me get started on NS vocation lah when you ORD? [confused] Or you ARE STILL A REGULAR? you can understand my 1st sentence or not? Or you are all muscle no brain type? [confused] Secondly my lambo statement means IF YOU ARE NOT REGULAR have you made it in the REAL outside world? Or you're still living in your fantasy army life still? Kudos to you for keeping fit all these while... [thumbsup] Pride you shall have when you have good memories as a PTI but your last statement made it as though you still living in the past dun you agree? [shakehead]

Edited by Patronic

  On 7/11/2009 at 8:16 PM, Redlandzer said:

oh for ur info during my days in OCS as PTI i do conduct morning PT and IPPT for 1, 2 sometimes 3 crab officers

and during the IPPT ....u shld c....u shld realli c.

and my senior told me years ago...wen PTI was the most feared person in army....officers in tekong buy the PTI coffees as their IPPT is approaching u noe??? :)

now WHAT do YOU noe???

So basically, you're telling us that PTIs in tekong can be bought with coffee?

What is there to see? All my course mates were PTIs posted to various units. I doubt anyone of them is as thick as you.

On 7/11/2009 at 8:16 PM, Redlandzer said:

oh for ur info during my days in OCS as PTI i do conduct morning PT and IPPT for 1, 2 sometimes 3 crab officers

and during the IPPT ....u shld c....u shld realli c.

and my senior told me years ago...wen PTI was the most feared person in army....officers in tekong buy the PTI coffees as their IPPT is approaching u noe??? :)

now WHAT do YOU noe???

hrmm.. years ago... most feared, what about now, didn't anyone buy you coffee?

haha, you made it sound like PTI's are the one controlling the army behind the curtains, PTI can fail anyone IPPT. Remember?

Are you in the fitness industry?

Are you a freelance personal trainer earning 6k a month?

1.3k course is nothing much to shout about. anyone can afford it.

some PTI got coaching cert. do you have one?

what is the many more thing you are talk about. please emphasize

If its character and personality, how come you not selected for OCS? not develop yet during BMT? (I not officer also)