Help1 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 (edited) http://www.asiaone.com/Travel/News/Story/A...707-153403.html No hot drinks served because the weather is warm WE don't serve hot drinks because the weather is warm today. That was the reply Addy Lee got from a Singapore Airlines (SIA) stewardess when he requested for a hot coffee on the plane, says the celebrity hairstylist on his blog. In a Sunday posting titled "SQ's joke" on lifestyle website omy.sg, Lee writes that he has been commuting frequently between Malaysia and Singapore, due to his role as a judge in the Malaysian programme, "I Wanna Be a Model". During an early flight back to Singapore last Thursday, Lee says he was taking a rest when the stewardess came around to serve drinks. He requested for a hot coffee, to which the stewardess said "huh" in reply. Thinking that the cabin crew did not hear him clearly, Lee says he repeated the request. This time, the stewardess said, "Sir, due to the warm weather, we do not have hot beverages". Taken aback by the reply, Lee reacted with a "huh", to which the stewardess repeated the same explanation - what he calls - a "joke". Lee says he finally settled for mineral water. He then heard the Caucasian passenger seated beside him saying, "How can be? SQ such a big company do not serve hot drink. Ridiculous", to which Lee just laughed. An SIA spokesperson told the Shin Min Daily News that when the weather is bad and turbulence is encountered, serving of hot beverages will be suspended for safety reasons. The spokesperson added that the safety of the plane's passengers and cabin crew are of the utmost priority. Shin Min understands that during bad weather conditions, the airline stops serving hot beverages, in case it spills and scalds passengers. Warm weather vs bad weather, very different loh....based on the report, if it is true, then SQ should send their staff for Introduction to English 101 instead of coffee, tea or me...LOL.....anybody gf or wife is a SQ stewardess, care to comment on this???? Edited July 8, 2009 by Help1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 No idea bro but I would have told that Addy guy . . . "Siao arhh? Weather so warm still wanna drink hot coffee? I'll make you a ice blended latte, okay?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 (edited) http://www.asiaone.com/Travel/News/Story/A...707-153403.html No hot drinks served because the weather is warm WE don't serve hot drinks because the weather is warm today. That was the reply Addy Lee got from a Singapore Airlines (SIA) stewardess when he requested for a hot coffee on the plane, says the celebrity hairstylist on his blog. In a Sunday posting titled "SQ's joke" on lifestyle website omy.sg, Lee writes that he has been commuting frequently between Malaysia and Singapore, due to his role as a judge in the Malaysian programme, "I Wanna Be a Model". During an early flight back to Singapore last Thursday, Lee says he was taking a rest when the stewardess came around to serve drinks. He requested for a hot coffee, to which the stewardess said "huh" in reply. Thinking that the cabin crew did not hear him clearly, Lee says he repeated the request. This time, the stewardess said, "Sir, due to the warm weather, we do not have hot beverages". Taken aback by the reply, Lee reacted with a "huh", to which the stewardess repeated the same explanation - what he calls - a "joke". Lee says he finally settled for mineral water. He then heard the Caucasian passenger seated beside him saying, "How can be? SQ such a big company do not serve hot drink. Ridiculous", to which Lee just laughed. An SIA spokesperson told the Shin Min Daily News that when the weather is bad and turbulence is encountered, serving of hot beverages will be suspended for safety reasons. The spokesperson added that the safety of the plane's passengers and cabin crew are of the utmost priority. Shin Min understands that during bad weather conditions, the airline stops serving hot beverages, in case it spills and scalds passengers. Warm weather vs bad weather, very different loh....based on the report, if it is true, then SQ should send their staff for Introduction to English 101 instead of coffee, tea or me...LOL.....anybody gf or wife is a SQ stewardess, care to comment on this???? I have a similar experience when I took MAS carrier from SIN to KUL. The stewardess was in the midst of serving 'coffee, tea or me' when the selt belt sign came on. The Capt announced that everyone should be bucked in due to some turbulence. I saw that immediately, the stweardess brought the thermo flask containing hot drinks back to the galley and explained to some of the passengers that due to the air tubulence, hot drinks will not be served. For me, it's my usual 'guava' or 'orange' juice. Edited July 8, 2009 by Clarence07 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 No idea bro but I would have told that Addy guy . . . "Siao arhh? Weather so warm still wanna drink hot coffee? I'll make you a ice blended latte, okay?" no matter how warm the weather for the day, at 30,000 ft above sea level, no need to guess wats the temp outside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 NPNT...that Addy could have make up the story. maybe he heard bad weather as warm weather too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 no matter how warm the weather for the day, at 30,000 ft above sea level, no need to guess wats the temp outside very free today ar?? today weather cold wonder if they serve cold drinks then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 NPNT...that Addy could have make up the story. maybe he heard bad weather as warm weather too. the stewardess probably mentioned 'due to weather WARNING we won't serve hot drinks' the 50/50 guy heard wrongly and kpkb on the net Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 no matter how warm the weather for the day, at 30,000 ft above sea level, no need to guess wats the temp outside minimum -10 Degrees Celsius. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 The flight from KLIA to Changi is just a mere 45min. Wonder why he kick such a fuss when he can easily afford a cup of premium coffee elsewhere at Changi in just less than an hour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 very free today ar?? today weather cold wonder if they serve cold drinks then? u MIA so long still dare to ask me whether i free or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 The flight from KLIA to Changi is just a mere 45min. Wonder why he kick such a fuss when he can easily afford a cup of premium coffee elsewhere at Changi in just less than an hour. cheapo, wanna free kopi mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear July 8, 2009 Share July 8, 2009 u MIA so long still dare to ask me whether i free or not thing is i not free mah.. always out of office.. today free as coe bidding.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...