Jamstart 1st Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 Wah, you so direct though frank. I like you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 vito is sure a of words Ya man... Uncle Vito even tried yanking the door open but lucky thing the car in front locked the door... So Uncle Vito buay song and decided to twist the side mirrors instead.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingen Neutral Newbie July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 I know of a few friends who gotten their license like 5-10years ago and never drove once after their TP. Well, if they don't drive their points are a good asset. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 My auntie passed her driving test at least 15 years ago but has never driven since that day. When I asked why, she said she has no confidence. So on paper, she is an experienced driver but in reality, she could be worse than a L plate. I suspect her license is only useful for giving bonus points to my uncle. I wonder how many people are in her situation? I also wonder if driving is like riding a bicycle where once you have mastered the skill, you can do it no matter what or if a driver needs constant practice to stay proficient. I drove for 6 months after getting my license then stopped for 3 years. When I got behind the wheel again, the first few trips were nerve wrecking. A friend of mine never drove for 30years after he got his license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 I wonder how many drivers out there remember how to parallel park. I was at the Ngee Ann City basement carpark on the weekend, as usual, quite full, but I saw an empty parking lot just outside the escalators, for those who know it, it's a pretty small lot as compared to the other spaces in that carpark and there is a pillar and a kerb nearby making it quite narrow to maneuver. I saw two cars (one merc, e class and the other a 3 series) try to park, but after a few to-and-fros, they both gave up (male drivers btw, not uncle, maybe 30's or 40s). Then I saw an Altis come along (surprisingly) she managed to get in first try! For me, I could easily have made that cos I'm an internet hero, but how about for the rest of you, is parallel parking a skill you still have? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinaski Neutral Newbie July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 My mum stopped drivin for thirty years, but started again out of necessity. Took a refresher course and she's been drivin no problem for the last two years. I just stay in when I know she's on the roads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 it's the on road EXPERIENCE that counts... if you're always on the road driving, 1 year will be as good or better than a 5 years who don't drive often. I believe 6 months on the road driving thru peak hr traffic daily is enough to give you decent driving skills liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 I wonder how many drivers out there remember how to parallel park. I was at the Ngee Ann City basement carpark on the weekend, as usual, quite full, but I saw an empty parking lot just outside the escalators, for those who know it, it's a pretty small lot as compared to the other spaces in that carpark and there is a pillar and a kerb nearby making it quite narrow to maneuver. I saw two cars (one merc, e class and the other a 3 series) try to park, but after a few to-and-fros, they both gave up (male drivers btw, not uncle, maybe 30's or 40s). Then I saw an Altis come along (surprisingly) she managed to get in first try! For me, I could easily have made that cos I'm an internet hero, but how about for the rest of you, is parallel parking a skill you still have? I do parallel parking daily more so than reverse parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 Sometimes the length of the car plays a part also. The age of the car too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 I believe 6 months on the road driving thru peak hr traffic daily is enough to give you decent driving skills liao. haha...confirm plus chop. Start at 5.30pm, drive on PIE back and fro...sure refreshed!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 Sometimes its the courage and confidence of the person who play a part too. Like my friend wife, pass license few years aredy..but wen drive, my friend muz sit beside her.. then when driving, she very kiasi 1, drive slow, wanna change lane oso scared, turn oso turn slow, dont dare do uturn.. parking take forever to park. The see big vehicles, she be kancheong.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 I wonder how many drivers out there remember how to parallel park. I was at the Ngee Ann City basement carpark on the weekend, as usual, quite full, but I saw an empty parking lot just outside the escalators, for those who know it, it's a pretty small lot as compared to the other spaces in that carpark and there is a pillar and a kerb nearby making it quite narrow to maneuver. I saw two cars (one merc, e class and the other a 3 series) try to park, but after a few to-and-fros, they both gave up (male drivers btw, not uncle, maybe 30's or 40s). Then I saw an Altis come along (surprisingly) she managed to get in first try! For me, I could easily have made that cos I'm an internet hero, but how about for the rest of you, is parallel parking a skill you still have? Parallel parking? Sure, why not? Do it all the time though I try to avoid it if possible 'cos my car's got no power steering ! Back to topic, my mum hardly ever drives for fear of getting into an accident. She'll take the MRT instead, even with the car sitting in the garage doing nothing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trader88_sg Neutral Newbie July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 Talking about refresher course, I am looking for one for my wife. Here is the criteria that she is looking for: 1. Female instructor; 2. Instructor using Nissa Sunny to teach Can anyone help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 an aunt of mine passed her driving test many years ago, and she drove only half a time, not even one time. cos the first time she drove after she got her driving license, she was so intimidated on the road by impatient drivers who horn and highlighted and chided her, she stopped half way short of reaching her destination, and called her husband to come and take over. thereafter, she has never driven again . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 sometimes driving during peak hours are more safer than non-peak hours as the cars cant race and cut dangerously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 wah, like that how to pass in the first place? how come TP can let her pass? not say want to complain, but isn't confidence in driving and not be an obstruction to traffic important to passing the test? or the tester just dun care anymore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear July 7, 2009 Author Share July 7, 2009 an aunt of mine passed her driving test many years ago, and she drove only half a time, not even one time. cos the first time she drove after she got her driving license, she was so intimidated on the road by impatient drivers who horn and highlighted and chided her, she stopped half way short of reaching her destination, and called her husband to come and take over. thereafter, she has never driven again . I think our aunts don't want to drive for the same reasons. Don't know about you folks, but my life cycle as a driver is something like this. Drive very cautiously at first ----> drive faster as confidence grows ----> Too much confidence leads to near accidents ----> drive a bit more conservatively because of near accidents and desire to save gas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_blue Neutral Newbie July 7, 2009 Share July 7, 2009 Talking about refresher course, I am looking for one for my wife. Here is the criteria that she is looking for: 1. Female instructor; 2. Instructor using Nissa Sunny to teach Can anyone help? hi ur wife looking for manual or auto Nissan Sunny? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...