Pay GST for JB shopping at Woodlands Checkpoint

Opel17

i really dont know whether such rule exist or not, but then i was prepared for a showdown with that young punk officer.

of course, u hv to know where is ur limit, how strong is ur backing mountain, making sure u r not OB in such case. but he backed out.

he signalled his asst 2return my passport n walkd to chk car behind me. KNN [furious]

u r bery sud.

i bet wen u took out the 10 grand ur boss mus be sweating

me almost kena same case as u

wkend getaway with family, got a brand new roll of 3core electrical cables in the boot

was at the msia side, fella ask me, for sale in msia ? i point to my safety helmet n construction boots n told him

"abang, sini mondey wooorking martireal, looday sundey aku no werkin"

he pause for a moment then wave me go, i know on the other side cannot be too GL , cos they will tell u they are bery "thirsty"

u know ur biscuit story is also so darn fukin weird,

i got friends who got away with chewing gum, pirate brand dvd but he wanna fuss with you over biscuit ?

Edited by Ah_tee

u r bery sud.

i bet wen u took out the 10 grand ur boss mus be sweating

me almost kena same case as u

wkend getaway with family, got a brand new roll of 3core electrical cables in the boot

was at the msia side, fella ask me, for sale in msia ? i point to my safety helmet n construction boots n told him

"abang, sini mondey wooorking martireal, looday sundey aku no werkin"

he pause for a moment then wave me go, i know on the other side cannot be too GL , cos they will tell u they are bery "thirsty"

u know ur biscuit story is also so darn fukin weird,

i got friends who got away with chewing gum, pirate brand dvd but he wanna fuss with you over biscuit ?

Agreed.

In Spore, as long as you are not wrong, you can be KL. They can't do anything on you.

On the other side, need to be soft to get the thing done. They go by "LEFT". No law for reference.

i guess you have to be prepared if you wanna be KL or gung ho.. it's true that you are not in the wrong.. but they might "tekan" you by asking you to take out everything in the car because it is their duty to ensure that there are no illegal items etc..

so in a way, be nice and they should not have any reason to find trouble with you..

yup, i always respect gov servants, nevermind where i go.

especially over here, in those old days when pte sec salary was high, gov servant salary was still so so,

quite a distance fr pte sec. they indirectly sacrifice in a way contributing their efforts.

but no need to draw attention like that over unopend biscuit mah.

maybe he dnt like me and my friends tired looking faces ?

cos we left the nite b4 at 9pm to seremban 4prayer, didnt sleep well inside car, then laeving sereman at abt 4pm back here. [confused]

Have yet to kena check b4.

Maybe bcos the number of MHA & checkpoints restricted zone decals on the windscreen too many liao. Scare them off. Hiazzzz. [lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh][laugh]

sometimes full boot of things but are all low value items. ie toilet rolls, kitchen towels, ... all these are quite big but cost low. Then if he sees 2-3 adults in the car, then I think he'll wave them goodbye. Maybe 1 pax with car full of toilet rolls, will still be very obvious....

if really wanna tekan you can also strip search and check your orifices for illegal substance... [sweatdrop]

my fren buy his S$4K macbook pro from HK walk thru airport customs nv declare also nothing happen, sometimes i really think double standard at the causeway.

There is no double standard. You yourself mentioned that he never declared. Thus next thing we need to ask is whether he is stopped by ICA officer for a check. I believe all those who come back by airport will remember that not all travelers are checked is more like random checks unlike at the land checkpoints mah . . . maybe if ur friend kanna check might be asked to pay the GST lor and maybe a fine which is 10X the GST involved

if really wanna tekan you can also strip search and check your orifices for illegal substance... [sweatdrop]

Under the Customs Act all ppl coming into Singapore including sporeans if demanded by Customs will have to allow themself to be searched including body search, luggage vehicles etc lor. If you no cooperate is obstruction of duty.

Agreed.

In Spore, as long as you are not wrong, you can be KL. They can't do anything on you.

On the other side, need to be soft to get the thing done. They go by "LEFT". No law for reference.

KL but no go over the limit though sometime at the heat of the moment, ppl can get too hot and step over the line and regret it . . . though . . .think few yrs back a lady came back from HK or China with roast goose I think which not allowed by AVA. Think when the ICA officer informed her need to detain it, she threw the geese onto the floor and scolded the officer, she was charged for obstruction of duty and fined $3,000 . . . case was widely mentioned in the media then . . . think all these things got both sides . . . sometime is the officer fault sometime the traveller too arrogant in first place . . .

sometimes full boot of things but are all low value items. ie toilet rolls, kitchen towels, ... all these are quite big but cost low. Then if he sees 2-3 adults in the car, then I think he'll wave them goodbye. Maybe 1 pax with car full of toilet rolls, will still be very obvious....

Why so many people like to buy toilet rolls from Boleh Land? Is that the reason why many many Singaporeans like to buy BIG BIG cars with big boot lupped with a small small engine?

KL but no go over the limit though sometime at the heat of the moment, ppl can get too hot and step over the line and regret it . . . though . . .think few yrs back a lady came back from HK or China with roast goose I think which not allowed by AVA. Think when the ICA officer informed her need to detain it, she threw the geese onto the floor and scolded the officer, she was charged for obstruction of duty and fined $3,000 . . . case was widely mentioned in the media then . . . think all these things got both sides . . . sometime is the officer fault sometime the traveller too arrogant in first place . . .

Managed to find some below:-

http://www.ica.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?ni...2&secid=192

http://www.ica.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?ni...1&secid=192

http://www.ica.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?ni...4&secid=192

Thus do remember to control control a bit no get too excited and accidentally step over the line . . . esp if got friends ard due to the 'face' issue.

As for toilet rolls maybe it is cheap over there lor . . . but also cannot understand it . . . milk powder can understand but not sure how much one can save on toilet rolls.

My fren bought a rolex overseas and saved about $1500 in gst. Those who had to pay gst must be suay.

Why so many people like to buy toilet rolls from Boleh Land? Is that the reason why many many Singaporeans like to buy BIG BIG cars with big boot lupped with a small small engine?

toilet roll is about S$1.50 cheaper [thumbsup]

My fren bought a rolex overseas and saved about $1500 in gst. Those who had to pay gst must be suay.

go where to buy? europe?

toilet roll is about S$1.50 cheaper [thumbsup]

but for the space it take up in the boot maybe buying something else which is smaller and save more worth it . . . anyway the petrol savings already not bad . . . talking about petrol any idea when pump price coming down since crude oil drop quite a bit liao

depends, for me sometimes i go in to eat and watch movie only so booth is empty, can buy 3 rolls