Sunny3664 Neutral Newbie July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 I saw a big cockroach at the nack seat of my car today and when I wanted to catch it, it escaped by squeezing into the small gaps between the back rest and the seat... Anyone knows what to do? I am worried if it died inside, my car will smell and ants will be attracted.. worse still, if it come out suddenly when my wife driving, she sure berserk and it is damn dangerous on e road.... i jus bought a cockroach trap with glue n left it in e car.. any alternatives? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 tat should be enough..dun worry. usually they dun come out when the car is in motion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 Only proven solution I think is pandan leaves. Cockroach traps attracts cockroaches to go there and die, may not be what you want to achieve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 ewwww... if it flies out when you're driving and lands on your face or somthing, omg!!! if need be, call pest control to treat your vehicle. if im not wrong another way is to fill your vehicle with CO2 (carbon dioxide gas) by releasing dry ice in the car (with it in a bucket of water and with you out of the car) and the cockroach should panic itself out of the car or at least into your swatter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 I saw a big cockroach at the nack seat of my car today and when I wanted to catch it, it escaped by squeezing into the small gaps between the back rest and the seat... Anyone knows what to do? I am worried if it died inside, my car will smell and ants will be attracted.. worse still, if it come out suddenly when my wife driving, she sure berserk and it is damn dangerous on e road.... i jus bought a cockroach trap with glue n left it in e car.. any alternatives? Try the ah-pek way -> put pandan leaves... Followed by, putting charcoal to keep your interior dry and odourless.. Enjoy!~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 (edited) Here's one almost guaranteed way to flush them out. Take two ping-pong balls and crush them slightly, then wrap them in aluminium foil. Light the parcel till smoke comes out but not to the extent of catching fire, place it into the car (in a mooncake box or biscuit tin for safety), close the doors, stand back and watch! If the cockroach still refuses to come out or die, nothing else will kill it! But then, this method isn't good because you'll have to deal with the poisonous smell afterwards rather than the dead cockroach smell! Seriously, a single dead cockroach won't smell much unless the interior of your car is extremely humid. In any case, the glue trap you have used is the best solution - they get caught inside and die, and you can check every day and throw the traps before they start to smell bad. Edited July 2, 2009 by Bicolor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enduro25 Clutched July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 panda leaves are gd...i got cockroach inside my boot so i put the panda leave in the boot..in the end the cockroach disappear behind..but came in front..inside my aircon vent..hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 i can see a bon fire coming soon do i need to bring my own mashmellow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 if you trust me....just go and buy WIPEOUT n place 1 to 2 pcs under the seat....next 1-2 morning....just look around for dead cockroaches..... those wipeout should last 3 months...and make sure FOOD not consumed in car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flykite Clutched July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 Here's one almost guaranteed way to flush them out. Take two ping-pong balls and crush them slightly, then wrap them in aluminium foil. Light the parcel till smoke comes out but not to the extent of catching fire, place it into the car (in a mooncake box or biscuit tin for safety), close the doors, stand back and watch! If the cockroach still refuses to come out or die, nothing else will kill it! But then, this method isn't good because you'll have to deal with the poisonous smell afterwards rather than the dead cockroach smell! Seriously, a single dead cockroach won't smell much unless the interior of your car is extremely humid. In any case, the glue trap you have used is the best solution - they get caught inside and die, and you can check every day and throw the traps before they start to smell bad. ping pong balls??? burning nitrocellulose? mai siao la! later the car explode or catch fire how? dont give the insurance companies reason to increase the premiums leh. buy the odorless insecticide then spray until empty inside the car. then lock the car up and leave it for a few hours. then prepare a vacuum cleaner to suck up the dead insects after that. simple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Srt911 Neutral Newbie July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 Another simpler way, just drive your car onto the top level of the car park at noon time when there is good strong sunshine. Open up all doors and boot and let it "shine and dry" for 1/2hr..will drive all roaches away and clear any smell in the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aliensix Neutral Newbie July 2, 2009 Share July 2, 2009 Haha good 1! My company's parking is open air... car baking everyday under the sun ... bbq cockroaches anyone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear July 3, 2009 Share July 3, 2009 That time went to fetch my cousin home after supper. Thn so qiao let her see a cockroach running past the driver's footwell. Scared till she jus stand outside dont dare to come in. But no choice must tahan cos late le. THn up till now, she don dare to take my car, kept saying got cockroach. Its my 1st time see the roach in my car also. I don knw to be glad or embarrassed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged July 3, 2009 Share July 3, 2009 she sure berserk and it is damn dangerous on e road.... ok, this is an important thread for me as i am one of those guys who is extremely afraid of roaches... my reactions for them, considered extreme. imagine driving, putting my life and others into danger So far, i have set a few ground rules for my car. No eating, only allow to drink water in the car. Plus, i bought a dozen of those Anti roaches kit, square type.. but the thought of removing their bodies.. never came into my mind.. maybe i ask my friend once a while, help me to clear. Last but not least, pertaining to the pandan leave, are you guys adamant that this is a proven solution? As i heard from my friend, he used it before and failed. Instead of pulling off the roaches, it even attracts ants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny3664 Neutral Newbie July 3, 2009 Author Share July 3, 2009 Thank you for your great ideas.. e cockroach trap did its job by trapping some babies.. however, the main target not out yet.. its not that i eat food in car.. let me tell u guys how such a big one got in.. I left a bag of work at home... i intended to get it done since june.. however, sat on it... so that morning, i brought it down and left in my back seat. once i put the bag down, e stupid cockraoch came out of the bag... so i can say it migrated from my house tp the car.. sigh.. lets hope things get better.. my main concern is the safety of my OC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny3664 Neutral Newbie July 4, 2009 Author Share July 4, 2009 The cockroach trap worked! after leaving it on the back seat for 2 days, it was caught today! finally can have peace of mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 4, 2009 Share July 4, 2009 (edited) i kena once b4, while driving at ecp, smth crawl into my pants.... knn, i damn kan cheong and quickly turn turn on left signal and stop on the roadside... knn, in the end found that is was a big xiao chiang! forget abt the pandan leaves, i always put it in my car but not prevent Cockroach invention, its more for the smell cause i prefer natural smell than the perfume...my way of terminating them... get a bottle of sheildtox odourless insecticide, spray as much as u could at all corner in the car & boot area. close the door and leave it there for 24 hrs... trust me, u wont be seeing any of those creature in the next few months.... dont worry about the dead Cockroach, u wont notice it anyway.... Edited July 4, 2009 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jumpman075 Clutched July 4, 2009 Share July 4, 2009 next time dont eat in ur car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...