Unhappiness with this Audio/Acc shop

Godfinger

XXX Car Audio/Acc shop in Turf Club city.

This is what happen, Previously, I have paid this shop a

visit when I am looking ro a replacement Rear View Cam.

The Shop installer told me that they are selling a Toyota OEM

type for $140 C&C or $170 with installation.

Since I have sourcing for a replacement, it just mean that

all the necessary wire connection is already there.

The installer just need to remove the old cam, enlarge the exsisting

hole and hook up the new Cam. Looking at this perpective,

I told the installer what about if I bring my own Camera Here?

( I saw one Cmos Camera selling in Ebay for less then SGD$30) The

installer reply that installation with outside cam is $30.

Great. With this in mind, I left the shop and return two days ago with the ebay item.

This time, the installer honour the $30 charge but keep saying, this type

of Camera how to compare to us. Then he and another guy starts laughing

at my brought in Cam. They started hooking up then this guy says, Wire not long

enough, needs extension. Top up $10. Fine, I says ok being the fact that I am really too

lazy to DIY myself like what I did for my old Rear View Camera.

This is not the end, after installing the Camera, the same guy told me that the View

is not good, unable to see my rear bumper protrution thus cant gauge actual rear distance.

Then he offer another $10 top up to re-align the Camera. I was like, what the Heck.

Cant he re-align it before setting all the glue in. This guy says since the Camera is not

from them, they cant gauge in the first place thus he set the glue based on his judgement.

I immediately Say NO. After i rejected them, the 2 guys started numbling among themseleves

and I was mad at the way they handle this installation. $30 should means including

all setup/alignment and materials.

I left this place in a fit of anger and I did the realignment myself today. I used Penknife to cut

the glue, took out the Cam, aligned it then held it in place by silicon.

i have lost confidence in these installers after this incident. Whatever I can DIY, i will never

want to approach any installer.

Shop name will be kept confidential. This shop sells kenwood Audio so some bros

may know these guys.

XXX Car Audio/Acc shop in Turf Club city.

This is what happen, Previously, I have paid this shop a

visit when I am looking ro a replacement Rear View Cam.

The Shop installer told me that they are selling a Toyota OEM

type for $140 C&C or $170 with installation.

Since I have sourcing for a replacement, it just mean that

all the necessary wire connection is already there.

The installer just need to remove the old cam, enlarge the exsisting

hole and hook up the new Cam. Looking at this perpective,

I told the installer what about if I bring my own Camera Here?

( I saw one Cmos Camera selling in Ebay for less then SGD$30) The

installer reply that installation with outside cam is $30.

Great. With this in mind, I left the shop and return two days ago with the ebay item.

This time, the installer honour the $30 charge but keep saying, this type

of Camera how to compare to us. Then he and another guy starts laughing

at my brought in Cam. They started hooking up then this guy says, Wire not long

enough, needs extension. Top up $10. Fine, I says ok being the fact that I am really too

lazy to DIY myself like what I did for my old Rear View Camera.

This is not the end, after installing the Camera, the same guy told me that the View

is not good, unable to see my rear bumper protrution thus cant gauge actual rear distance.

Then he offer another $10 top up to re-align the Camera. I was like, what the Heck.

Cant he re-align it before setting all the glue in. This guy says since the Camera is not

from them, they cant gauge in the first place thus he set the glue based on his judgement.

I immediately Say NO. After i rejected them, the 2 guys started numbling among themseleves

and I was mad at the way they handle this installation. $30 should means including

all setup/alignment and materials.

I left this place in a fit of anger and I did the realignment myself today. I used Penknife to cut

the glue, took out the Cam, aligned it then held it in place by silicon.

i have lost confidence in these installers after this incident. Whatever I can DIY, i will never

want to approach any installer.

Shop name will be kept confidential. This shop sells kenwood Audio so some bros

may know these guys.

I know who you're talking about. They did the install of the IU and frequency converter for my PI when I got the demio. s--t install for the former (exposed wires where it joins taps the power from), and s--t install for the latter (or maybe just poor quality equipemnt) as the rf shielding is horrible. Got the first fixed, the second I have stopped bothering about as I just connect my mp3 player to the aux-in nowadays.

some pple are like tat. u should haf went to one which u noe or perhaps stamford/autobacs.

i think one of the reason is because u went to ask liao and he thought can earn extra $$ by selling u. so since now cannot, he chop u from the installation.

Another suggestion:

Tell him to remove the camera as price keep changing. Dun pay.

cannot lah... [laugh][laugh]

wait they charge another $30 for removing... [laugh][laugh]

then instead of just removing what they fixed up, wait the wire also they take.... [laugh][laugh]

some pple are like tat. u should haf went to one which u noe or perhaps stamford/autobacs.

i think one of the reason is because u went to ask liao and he thought can earn extra $$ by selling u. so since now cannot, he chop u from the installation.

I agree with that.....

You also got some encounter from them.

These Bunch of people thought that Installation

is very tough and nerve breaking, thus asking

for more when I ask them to do tiny here and there.

Come'on, it doesnt take rocket science to do such

job. As if they are the only ones. I kinda of have a

feeling that they look down on customers.

We are not we drive, what we earned is more important.

Now think of it, $30 is really expansive.

Somemore got the cheek to ask $10 for wire

and another $10 for re-alignment of camera.

I went to this place because I was having Kopi break with my

Car Dealer friend whom mention about this shop..

recommanded by your car-dealer, yet this things happen.... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

alot of such people/shops around. i always go back to the shop i familiar with and had installed for me before, even more ex, they are reputable and they care for their reputation.

I presume you don't have very much of a good relationship with that dealer friend of yours?

Speaking on the topic of looking down on customers, I had this bad encounter with a tyre shop too, Stamf0rd Tyre to be precise. Just got my driving license in 2006 and was driving my dad's K11 march back then. Drove to Stamf0rd tyres at Macpherson as i wanted to upgrade my original 13'' rims to 14'' sports rims. I was served by the manager and I told him my intention of being there. And you know what he said, "Woa, long time never see this kind of 13'' steel rims already. Hahaha. Nowadays no one buying 14'' rims anymore, maybe you can go and get 2nd hand ones." I was da*m pissed off and I left Stamf0rd Tyres immediately. If this is their customer service then i am sorry to say I'll not patronise Stamf0rd Tyres for the rest of my life.

In the end, I got a brand new set of 14'' Kyowa Racing Lightweight rims plus tyres from Eng Wah Tyres, costing $300 less than what Stamf0rd Tyres offered me. So much for customer service from a SGX listed company. Stamf0rd Tyres [thumbsdown]

everywhere has its black sheep i guess. i ever went to stamford wif my lao pok car but was still ok. maybe havent experience those manager level de.

but i dun deny the fact tat wat we drive does gives different 1st impression to pple we meet.

Not directly. The PI I bought my car from uses them. Just that I noticed the shoddy work. Maybe it was isolated, as your scenario is about their service, mine is about quality of work.

everywhere has its black sheep i guess. i ever went to stamford wif my lao pok car but was still ok. maybe havent experience those manager level de.

but i dun deny the fact tat wat we drive does gives different 1st impression to pple we meet.

haha yea i agree. but it is so stupid.

[rolleyes]