Mandatory Give Way to Buses Scheme Extended to Four Bus Bays

Dunno

Mandatory Give Way to Buses Scheme Extended to Four Bus Bays

1. From 27 June 2009, the LTA will introduce the Mandatory Give Way to Buses Scheme to four bus bays in the Choa Chu Kang area.

2. These bus bays are located along Choa Chu Kang Road (opposite the Phoenix LRT Station and Blk 26) and along Choa Chu Kang Drive (opposite Blk 209). They are the first bus bays to be added to since the scheme was piloted in December of last year at 22 bus bays along Bukit Batok East Avenue 3, Toh Tuck Road and Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8.

3. LTA's ongoing review of bus bays island-wide will identify more locations that are well suited to this scheme. As this scheme extends, more bus commuters can benefit from the faster travel time.

4. Prior to implementation, banners will be put up along Chua Chu Kang Drive and Chua Chu Kang Road to remind motorists they need to give way to buses exiting bus bays.

Result of Pilot

5. Results from the pilot showed that the scheme is effective in reducing the amount of time buses spend trying to get out of bus bays. This in turn has improved overall bus speeds. Buses are now able to exit the bus bays faster with a time reduction of up to 73% in some cases. Bus journey times have also improved by up to 7%.

6. The Mandatory Give Way to Buses Scheme is one of a series of measures LTA is implementing to improve the speed and reliability of bus services under the Land Transport Master Plan announced in 2008. In December 2008, LTA completed the expansion of the bus lane scheme, increasing the coverage of full day bus lanes from 7.6km to 23km and normal bus lanes from 120km to 155km.

7. Please refer to Annex A for the locations of the new bus bays.

To me this is all crap. Witnessed many times that buses think they are king in these bus bays, driving out without looking out for traffic, causing cars to jam brake. Whenever I see buses in such bus bays, I'll just filter to the next lane cos I don't know when will I be the next victim when the bus just drive out like a king. If you bang the bus in these lanes, it will be 100% your fault, regardless of whether you are able to stop in time due to your travelling speed, cos BUS IS KING here.

You can see the way Garmen implement policies, it's all one sided one. The so called trial is just for show. Statistics is one sided. Do they dare to gather statistics from all drivers out there? No way, cos their wonderful high profile plans will never take off.

[thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

Edited by Dunno

any experienced driver will noe to avoid the lane beside bus lane

the way these ah tiong drivers steer their buses is as bad as a donkey pulling hay down a country road

LTA is quite stupid. I rather they implement bus bay mandatory scheme rather than slapping bus lanes everywhere. Most of the time like what they say, much time is wasted on buses trying to turn out. and most of the time i see jumbo jets' worth of space available in the bus lane in front and behind buses. All these spaces represent lost road holding and travelling capacity. Logically i dont think having vehicles in front and behind buses on the move, slows down buses too significantly.

they must wake up their idea that the reality is that a significant part of the population travel by private transport. So PLEASE think of more holistic solutions but not stop gap measures that just shuttles the issue elsewhere. <_<

i think you got this part wrong .a significant part of the population travel by buses and mrt, not by pte transport.

5. Results from the pilot showed that the scheme is effective in reducing the amount of time buses spend trying to get out of bus bays. This in turn has improved overall bus speeds. Buses are now able to exit the bus bays faster with a time reduction of up to 73% in some cases. Bus journey times have also improved by up to 7%.

Its just a number game (dunno worked out by who (scholars?) and really wu yar bo?) to justify the cause. [lipsrsealed]

I am not sure if the trials in my area has changed the mindset of some bus drivers.

Prior the trial, most tend to look out for cars before moving out of the bus bay. They are very careful to the point that if i slow down and let them go, they hesitate to move out.

Now, they tend to move out as if it is their right of way in non give way bus bay. On several occasions, I have to brake from 60kmh to 0kmh when they move out 3 car length in front of me. Other times they purposely inch out till the point that you have to stop because they are blocking 1/3 or more of the lane.

its nonsense... i m jus being their butt & they drive out ! even though it is not a mandatory give way bus stop .. stupid LTA.. stop messy our roads can?

This scheme create bad driving habit from bus driver(not checking the lane 1st before coming out of bus bay).

[nod][nod][nod] ..... all these so call trial are only for show. its just their way of justifying their actions....

trial is just a nice word to tell us that most bus bays will have this scheme in time to come. also, all of us will have to upgrade to the new IU in time to come.

To me this is all crap. Witnessed many times that buses think they are king in these bus bays, driving out without looking out for traffic, causing cars to jam brake. Whenever I see buses in such bus bays, I'll just filter to the next lane cos I don't know when will I be the next victim when the bus just drive out like a king. If you bang the bus in these lanes, it will be 100% your fault, regardless of whether you are able to stop in time due to your travelling speed, cos BUS IS KING here.

You can see the way Garmen implement policies, it's all one sided one. The so called trial is just for show. Statistics is one sided. Do they dare to gather statistics from all drivers out there? No way, cos their wonderful high profile plans will never take off.

[thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

I thought you're supopsed to stop at the "stop line" if there's a bus in the bay (even if its not coming out)? If so, doesn't that mean that you're in the wrong?

Why would the govt need to gather stats from all drivers?? They just need emperical data on the frequency, timing and travel times of the buses.

LTA is quite stupid. I rather they implement bus bay mandatory scheme rather than slapping bus lanes everywhere. Most of the time like what they say, much time is wasted on buses trying to turn out. and most of the time i see jumbo jets' worth of space available in the bus lane in front and behind buses. All these spaces represent lost road holding and travelling capacity. Logically i dont think having vehicles in front and behind buses on the move, slows down buses too significantly.

Different scenario. Bus-lanes are for congested roads, and these bays are for non-congested roads, but with a medium to heavy traffic flow.

You do realise that only about 12% of our population owns their own car/bike right? Thats hardly significant.

IMHO, bus lane in Singapore a joke....forcing drivers to give way to buses a joke....giving money to help taxi operators is a joke.....DRIVING in itself in our tiny isalnd nation is a joke

What's the big deal? Stop for a few seconds will die meh?

See bus in bus bay, slow down lah! Die, die must "win" ah? Wa kow, what kinda mindset you all have?

Comprain so much, achieve so little.... [thumbsdown]