CarsNStars Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 (edited) FYI, new IU might be compulsory for all new cars in 2010. -------- New ERP readers for cars By Christopher Tan, Senior Correspondent June 29, 2009 NEW cars will be fitted with second-generation electronic road-pricing readers from Tuesday - nine months after they were first available for motorcycles. The new readers allow motorists the option of using cards which comply with Singapore's contactless e-purse application (Cepas) - such as the new ez-link transit card. But motorists are likely to stick with the current Nets CashCard for their cars. This is because most carparks with electronic payment systems have not been converted to read Cepas-compliant cards. The Land Transport Authority on Monday said such carparks will be converted 'progressively' to read Cepas cards from October. Existing car owners do not have to change the new generation ERP readers. But if they wish to, they can do so - at $150 each. They can do so at LTA authorised vehicle inspection centres. Since the introduction of the new ERP readers last September, more than 17,300 vehicles have been fitted with it. They comprise mostly of motorcycles. For enquiries on the new ERP readers, motorists may call LTA on 1800-225-5582. Edited June 29, 2009 by CarsNStars ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 Need to pay for changes made by them? Clap clap clap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 but everyone is already paying for it when they brought the car.. anyway, it's not compulsory to change from the old to new one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enduro25 Clutched June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 craps.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 Why be an early adopter, pay $150, and have problems entering carparks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woohaa Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 wasting time... :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 siao.... i won't pay to use it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 answer is...NO i won't pay the $150..and if they enforce it to be changed by 2010..then LTA should do a 1-to-1 exchange since we paid for our IU and it's THEM who wanted to change..and not us.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 problems wif those scholars up there again... tink of such ideas and make us pay to change... $150!!!! got problem ah, can pay 3 times fine of double yellow lines parking... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 (edited) On 6/29/2009 at 4:34 PM, Shull said: answer is...NO i won't pay the $150..and if they enforce it to be changed by 2010..then LTA should do a 1-to-1 exchange since we paid for our IU and it's THEM who wanted to change..and not us.. Exactly... if they can do a 1-to-1 swop for the new CEPAS ez-link card.... y not the IU... since they are the one who initiated the change. Since the introduction of the new ERP readers last September, more than 17,300 vehicles have been fitted with it. They comprise mostly of motorcycles. this is total BS... this is introduced last year... and when i bought my car this year.. they still install the old IU... well done. Edited June 29, 2009 by Espire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarsNStars Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Author Share June 29, 2009 Judging from the response, it seems like LTA will have an issue trying to make it voluntary for vehicles to put this new IU in! I suspect they will go the "by law" way again... milking us for all it's worth (let's hope prices don't rise when it becomes compulsory!) Anyway just wanted to ask a weird question out of burning curiosity - if LTA comes out and say "If you install new IU, we will grant you 50% off ERP charges for the next 3 months." Will you guys rush for it then? Or is it still a resounding "no"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defelio Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 On 6/29/2009 at 5:37 PM, CarsNStars said: Judging from the response, it seems like LTA will have an issue trying to make it voluntary for vehicles to put this new IU in! I suspect they will go the "by law" way again... milking us for all it's worth (let's hope prices don't rise when it becomes compulsory!) Anyway just wanted to ask a weird question out of burning curiosity - if LTA comes out and say "If you install new IU, we will grant you 50% off ERP charges for the next 3 months." Will you guys rush for it then? Or is it still a resounding "no"? Nah, unless your travel into town or take routes which go through Endless Road Paying system... Rough calculation, $5 of ERP a day. 50% * 20 weekdays = $50/mth.... Well for me i dun hit $5 or ERP charges a day.. Dunno bout the rest.. Clear NO for something that's ain't broke!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 Why need to change? Are you saying that those Cepas carpark will only allow the new IU in 2010? Cannot be right? The old skool IU still can go anywhere and any carpark in Singaproe in 2010 and beyond right? On 6/29/2009 at 2:17 PM, CarsNStars said: FYI, new IU might be compulsory for all new cars in 2010. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 In the first place, we should tear down the stupid ERP system. Yet they want you to pay more, so it's easy for them to collect more of your money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 If they serious about introducing something good, give people some carrot lah. Don't treat us like carrot head to pay that $150 for something we can still live without. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 Btw, the actual cost is $160.50 (GST included). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 wah lao. why should i pay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 Nosense. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...