Put Euro Style Licence Plate Some More Lah

Nohnemwan

To me it's a bit over the top to penalize euro plates. LTA likes to be anal about things that don't really matter, yet they can't ban m'sia plate vehicles from entering our country, even though everyone knows fully well if they are involved in an accident, it's almost impossible to claim their insurance.

And then how about M'sia registered cars with car plates which are illegal here? What are they going to do about it?

Edited by Drive_carcar

I feel that it's good to standardise the number plates format and font size. Font size & colour are critical cos in an event of a hit&run it can be easily be identified, even with low light conditions like at night.

For Euro plates the font is narrower dan ours and the colour is black, the no. 7 from far can be mistaken for 1, same for 5, 6 & 8. I know some of you might counter by saying they use a broken 7 to differentiate from 1 but from far our naked (mostly myopic sgporean) eyes can hardly tell. When at night the black font makes it harder to read.

Why use Euro plates when we are in SG? In sg we have our own standard and should be proud of it mah. Later ang moh say we idolise them.

To me it's a bit over the top to penalize euro plates. LTA likes to be anal about things that don't really matter, yet they can't ban m'sia plate vehicles from entering our country, even though everyone knows fully well if they are involved in an accident, it's almost impossible to claim their insurance.

And then how about M'sia registered cars with car plates which are illegal here? What are they going to do about it?

I don't think we should compare MY vs SG, they are tourists here and we are tourists there. There is certain leeway given, if not there will be no tourists. IF MY will be strict on SG cars, everyone will say they are anal too.

And if we can't even control our own people, then the focue should be on us first....

And after saying all this, i agree its anal. But everyone got a choice, to stay or to leave. no one is stopping no one.

Agree with you totally.

Those who use their Euro / small / chrome / SMLJ plate already know 100% it is illegal even before they mount it.

Since they still do it, that means they are daring the LTA to catch them.

In response to such a challenge, LTA catch lor.

If the culprits want to pay extra for fancy plates that they fully know are illegal, should we show any sympathy for them if they later get caught and fined? Should we accuse LTA of being bo liao and catching small fish?

I fully support throwing repeat offenders into jail. This is not something you can ever accidentally do. Before anyone orders the plate, the sign maker will tell him that it is illegal. That means the culprit has the knowledge and intent to break the law. First time, should fine the pr1ck. Second time, jail his a$$.

I would suggest that since it is such a major crime to display euro-plates that it warrants a jail term, why not put the charges on vendors that manufacture or distribute them too? It takes two hands to clap after all. To further add, this should also include illegal modifications to cars. I am very sure TP knows of shops that distribute such products but do nothing to stop the process from spilling over to the consumer. So what is the rationale behind this? Allowing a trade to flourish yet earning side income from petty summons here and there? [lipsrsealed][thumbsdown]

Just like peddling drugs, if you penalise the supplier, the chances that consumers will touch drugs are far less.

I feel that it's good to standardise the number plates format and font size. Font size & colour are critical cos in an event of a hit&run it can be easily be identified, even with low light conditions like at night.

For Euro plates the font is narrower dan ours and the colour is black, the no. 7 from far can be mistaken for 1, same for 5, 6 & 8. I know some of you might counter by saying they use a broken 7 to differentiate from 1 but from far our naked (mostly myopic sgporean) eyes can hardly tell. When at night the black font makes it harder to read.

Why use Euro plates when we are in SG? In sg we have our own standard and should be proud of it mah. Later ang moh say we idolise them.

It's not a matter of whether it is euro-plates or not. If it weren't called euro-plates, I believe people would still continue to put them up because the fonts are unique and aesthetically more appealing.

Why not we produce our own cars and use only Singapore made cars then? We should stop importing Japanese, Korean, or Continental cars since the nationalistic view. Aren't we idolising by importing too?

I don't think we should compare MY vs SG, they are tourists here and we are tourists there. There is certain leeway given, if not there will be no tourists. IF MY will be strict on SG cars, everyone will say they are anal too.

And if we can't even control our own people, then the focue should be on us first....

And after saying all this, i agree its anal. But everyone got a choice, to stay or to leave. no one is stopping no one.

More likely they are workers here, we are tourist there. I have no issues with them, just the lack of common sense by our LTA. If they had any sense at all, they should take steps to protect Sing cars on our roads. But instead, they poke their heads on mods that are of little significance. And the potential punishments, is way out of proportion to the nature of infringments.

So much hype about Euro-plates from the TP and journalists for which I do not know why. Perhaps they attract the most attention among the bunch of illegal plates seen around Singapore. In fact, there are tonnes of different types of illegal plates which do not garner such attention from both these 'kaypoh' parties. Like some here, I do not see what is the rationale for being so rigid about Euro-plates. Take note that these plates are considered to be legitimate plates in one of the world's superpowers, Europe! Nonetheless, I used to be sporting euro fonts once, but have since taken them down. I have legal 'euro plates' now sporting legal fonts. [lipsrsealed] Some may think that why go through all the trouble doing all this, but it is just a matter of personal liking and preference. Just like some of us will never understand cars with aeroplane spoilers or humongous bodykits on 13" rims.

HAHAHAHA aeroplane spoilers and humongous bodykits with PUNY LITTLE 13 inch rims.

i got more problems with bikes' plates. their angle and the font appear much smaller than that of cars'. or are they not?

i think harder to spot would be bike in a hit and run. most people don't recognize the models or brand even. what more, such a small plate.

easy money mah.. now got big hole to fill so must collect more

No lah ..... retain number plate fee and the transfer fee is even easier ..... people queue up to give you $$ ..... don't even need to go out and catch.

LTA say the number must be reflective..but never say HOW reflective.

As far as my eye can see....chrome is reflective!

So I don't see under which clause will Chrome raised number be ILLEGAL.

My point exactly...chrome is jsut more reflective than silver.....BUT chrome is basically a Reflective type of Sliver...call it highly reflective Silver is you want.

So where it the Illegal part of using chrome number that comform to the lettering dimensions?

chrome vs silver... i dun see the diff?

I would suggest that since it is such a major crime to display euro-plates that it warrants a jail term, why not put the charges on vendors that manufacture or distribute them too? It takes two hands to clap after all. To further add, this should also include illegal modifications to cars. I am very sure TP knows of shops that distribute such products but do nothing to stop the process from spilling over to the consumer. So what is the rationale behind this? Allowing a trade to flourish yet earning side income from petty summons here and there? [lipsrsealed][thumbsdown]

Just like peddling drugs, if you penalise the supplier, the chances that consumers will touch drugs are far less.

I agree that it makes sense to punish everyone involved with illegal number plates, from the people who make them, to the people who use them.

However the law, as it stands now, makes it an offence only to to affix such illegal plates on your vehicle.

It is (still) not an offence to MAKE the plates. It can be reasonably argued that a sign-maker is making Euro licence plates for export or decorative non-road uses, and as such why should he be punished for carrying on an honest living.

It is a strong argument that when you kill off DEMAND for such plates by punishing the people who USE them, then automatically when demand dies off, supply will also cease. Demand creates supply; supply does not create demand. The people who make illegal plates can make millions of them, but without anyone BUYING them, such people will soon go out of business. This is not like drugs where junkies cannot help themselves because the drugs themselves create a craving for more, therefore the pushers must also be punished even more harshly than the junkies.

I agree that it makes sense to punish everyone involved with illegal number plates, from the people who make them, to the people who use them.

However the law, as it stands now, makes it an offence only to to affix such illegal plates on your vehicle.

It is (still) not an offence to MAKE the plates. It can be reasonably argued that a sign-maker is making Euro licence plates for export or decorative non-road uses, and as such why should he be punished for carrying on an honest living.

It is a strong argument that when you kill off DEMAND for such plates by punishing the people who USE them, then automatically when demand dies off, supply will also cease. Demand creates supply; supply does not create demand. The people who make illegal plates can make millions of them, but without anyone BUYING them, such people will soon go out of business. This is not like drugs where junkies cannot help themselves because the drugs themselves create a craving for more, therefore the pushers must also be punished even more harshly than the junkies.

Yes, I agree with you that there may be a possibility in the plate manufacturer claiming legal uses for the plates. However, I still firmly believe in the fact that supplier should bear part of the offence too. It is extremely easy to nail these suppliers down that knowingly supply these illegal plates from the invoices provided by traffic offenders. If this issue is that serious such that it warrants jail term, then I think the authorities should put a stop to suppliers too. This includes illegal car modification parts.

Probably my analogy of drug peddling is too far fetched. Perhaps contraband cigarettes would be a better one. Although euro-plates may not be too much of an addiction as of now, perhaps illegal car modifications is an addiction not too far off from drug addiction to a certain extent. I am sure some who are in the trade or are experiencing it now would agree. One may call it one of the 21st century's addictions.

Edited by Jetabout777

someone should write to TP and LTA about clamping on shops who are selling such plates

they shld kill off the supply first. then there will be no more demand..... simple as that.

i dunno why the govt cant go by this way, instead of catching individual drivers on the road. is it too difficult to target the shops?

i propose that for now, each time they catch a driver, they made the driver tell them where he makes the plate. then they can raid tat shop and fine them as well.

each plate they find in that shop, they can fine $100 or something per plate.

very soon, all shops will stop selling the plates..... problem solved.

in fact, they should do this for all other modifications such as exhaust, engine, etc etc.....

i think making euro plates are not illegal..shops can cite they r doing euro plates as part of their signboard biz. no one ask u to make and hang on ur car right? so the correct way sld target the drivers. its like codeine cough syrup is legal when issued to patient for consumption but its illegal if u r not sick and u abused it. so sld we ask all docs to stop giving cough syrup?

i dont think why sld i take the risk...i mean..u dont get to admire ur carplate as much as u drive and feel the car exterior and interior. carplate is meant for car behind to see only lol.

someone should write to TP and LTA about clamping on shops who are selling such plates

they shld kill off the supply first. then there will be no more demand..... simple as that.

i dunno why the govt cant go by this way, instead of catching individual drivers on the road. is it too difficult to target the shops?

i propose that for now, each time they catch a driver, they made the driver tell them where he makes the plate. then they can raid tat shop and fine them as well.

each plate they find in that shop, they can fine $100 or something per plate.

very soon, all shops will stop selling the plates..... problem solved.

in fact, they should do this for all other modifications such as exhaust, engine, etc etc.....

Why don't you go ahead and write then?

Motor shops make money by doing mods and repairs. There are mods that are purely for cosmetic purposes which does not much harm except to those who find it an eyesore. There are mods that are for safety and convenience, enhancements of features that are not available stock. There are mods that make the car more fuel efficient, and perform better.

Not everybody mod their cars to become a menace on the roads. As for the case here, an Euro style licence plate doesn't make a dangerous or inconsiderate driver, a driver is dangerous or inconsiderate because he / she is just like that. Nothing to do with the licence plate. And definitely not the motor workshop's fault.

The inner is manisfested on the outer. Euro style license plate is illegal, and yet "they" mod it, means they are willing to break the law. That says a lot about these people.

Why don't you go ahead and write then?

Motor shops make money by doing mods and repairs. There are mods that are purely for cosmetic purposes which does not much harm except to those who find it an eyesore. There are mods that are for safety and convenience, enhancements of features that are not available stock. There are mods that make the car more fuel efficient, and perform better.

Not everybody mod their cars to become a menace on the roads. As for the case here, an Euro style licence plate doesn't make a dangerous or inconsiderate driver, a driver is dangerous or inconsiderate because he / she is just like that. Nothing to do with the licence plate. And definitely not the motor workshop's fault.