Any Hakka people who can help?

Keithhiap

[thumbsup][grouphug] Chi kah nin, chi kah nin.

strangely i find it awkward to speak hakka with others beside my own family members..

but seriously, a lot of these dialects are getting diluted with each generation..

if want to teach, got to start young..

i was conversing in hakka before going to school and parents was worried how i can talk to others, but surprisingly, I got no problem speaking in chinese..

Ch 8 help a lot during my pre-school childhood.. and in school, i learn to watch Ch 5.. [laugh]

hi da ge

You are Da Pu Hakka! :-) I am Mei Xian...

blessings

More like Moi Chai, then Mei Yen. [laugh] [laugh]

Eyh I still waiting for you ok?

strangely i find it awkward to speak hakka with others beside my own family members..

but seriously, a lot of these dialects are getting diluted with each generation..

if want to teach, got to start young..

i was conversing in hakka before going to school and parents was worried how i can talk to others, but surprisingly, I got no problem speaking in chinese..

Ch 8 help a lot during my pre-school childhood.. and in school, i learn to watch Ch 5.. [laugh]

I speak with some friend sin Hakka, and in my family, my kids converse with me in Hakka and Japanese with their mother.

My wife doesn't really know how to speak hakka, but it has grown on her over the years, when I scold and smile at the same time,

she knows it's not a compliment. [laugh] I took after my Dad, who would speak hakka to us, and also my grandfather and grandmother.

Hi all bros here, I wonder what you guys think about preserving our dialect and the culture. Recently there were some people trying to suggest that we teach our children dialects in schools and try our best to preserve the dialects in our young generation. Then one press secretary of a prominent politician replied in the Forum that such people with this kind of thinking are stupid.

Personally, I think it is good and important for us to preserve our dialect and its culture. From my observation, among the dialect groups here, the Hokkien is the most active in this aspect. Maybe because majority of Chinese here are Hokkien and they have large number of members. I am still trying hard to teach my sons because I really hope that such dialect ability does not stop at my generation.

Hi all bros here, I wonder what you guys think about preserving our dialect and the culture. Recently there were some people trying to suggest that we teach our children dialects in schools and try our best to preserve the dialects in our young generation. Then one press secretary of a prominent politician replied in the Forum that such people with this kind of thinking are stupid.

Personally, I think it is good and important for us to preserve our dialect and its culture. From my observation, among the dialect groups here, the Hokkien is the most active in this aspect. Maybe because majority of Chinese here are Hokkien and they have large number of members. I am still trying hard to teach my sons because I really hope that such dialect ability does not stop at my generation.

The sad thing about it is, there are so many hakka that I have met, and most of them can't even speak, let alone understand the dialect.

The buck stops with them. We had the issue of speak mandarin campaign before that stamped out dialects, and also with the media

stopping all shows (HongKong TVB serials, in Cantonese, because a lot of people thought it was "IN" to speak Cantonese then) then.

60s had a RTS show then, (now Mediacorp) where there was everyone speaking in their own dialects, even Malay and Tamil, and everyone knew what was being said! [thumbsup]

I'm a Hakka speaker but when I was in Taiwan and tried speaking to Hakkas there, it wasn't easy to communicate with. Anyone has similar experience?

Lack of practice and limited by our choice of words....... [shakehead]

In Taiwan, there are alot of Hakka people. In "Miao Li" county, I heard most people there are Hakka. In Taipei, their subway (like our MRT) announces in 3 languages - Mandarin, Hokkien and Hakka. So you can see there are many Hakka people there. Their Hakka, I believe are mainly from Fujian province, being very close to Taiwan. Our Hakka, as I mentioned earlier, are mainly from Guangdong province. So that could be the reason whey you cannot understand them. When I took their subway, and when I overheard the people talking, I had no problem understanding, but I have never speak to them in Hakka.

BTW, I also heard that Hakka people have been a subject of interest to many people. There are some scholars who made research on Hakka people. Even in Japan, I heard there are specialists who made study on Hakka people. Don't know how true.

it's best to teach the kids when they are young. they can pick up a language much faster.

I am hakka, my wife mum is hakka making my wife half a hakka. when we want to say things that we don;t want our daughter to know, we used to be able to converse in hakka. but now, she can pick up the meaning....after all these years of absorbing.

That's how i learn my hakka too....that's the only way of communicating with my grandparents when they were still around.

actually...hokkien no need to teach...that's the most comment dialect i feel in singapore. boys will learn it from the army anyway

It's better for my boys (3 of them) to learn it before they go into army lah

That one considered MILD in my books. [sly]

oh I see, there is another one the many will disturb a Hakka, is to say this sentence in Hakka "bed head hang a pen"

da ge

Eh... u mean kopi or makan? I thought I was waiting for you here leh.... There are lots more stalls at Maxwell mkt so if you and the rest bros drop by, just give me a yell on my cell. I would gladly host... :-) There is also Pacific Cafe at Red Dot for kopi if you drop by. On me... esp because of my tardiness.

See you soon!

blessings

Edited by Tashi

The Hakka n Taiwan sounds very different from our hakka, I had a girlfriend in Taiwan then who is a hakka, and I had a rather hard time understanding the Taiwanese Hakka. Sort of a mixture of mandarin and hakka. Took sometime, but I managed to get by, some words are the same though.

In Taiwan, there are alot of Hakka people. In "Miao Li" county, I heard most people there are Hakka. In Taipei, their subway (like our MRT) announces in 3 languages - Mandarin, Hokkien and Hakka. So you can see there are many Hakka people there. Their Hakka, I believe are mainly from Fujian province, being very close to Taiwan. Our Hakka, as I mentioned earlier, are mainly from Guangdong province. So that could be the reason whey you cannot understand them. When I took their subway, and when I overheard the people talking, I had no problem understanding, but I have never speak to them in Hakka.

Taiwan hakkas can be found in Hsin Chu, Miao Li, Chong Li, Mai Nong, these are the places I know where a large community of hakkas are in Taiwan. Taipei, no bro. And they are not from Fujian, hakkas are from Canton province, mai sian. We can hardly understand the Taiwanese hakka because their hakka is mixed with mandarin, the tone is different from our, more "nasal" so to speak. Ours tend to be LOUD.

Their subway and train, I never bother to understand the hakka, I just listen to the "mai nan yu" and mandarin.

[laugh] I go there once or twice a year.

oh I see, there is another one the many will disturb a Hakka, is to say this sentence in Hakka "bed head hang a pen"

Yeah, I know. Play with the 'sound" like. That's why hakka people so many. [laugh]

Edited by Mazdaowner

da ge

Eh... u mean kopi or makan? I thought I was waiting for you here leh.... There are lots more stalls at Maxwell mkt so if you and the rest bros drop by, just give me a yell on my cell. I would gladly host... :-) There is also Pacific Cafe at Red Dot for kopi if you drop by. On me... esp because of my tardiness.

See you soon!

blessings

Eyh, GYM lah. You think I so free go to Maxwell to makan is it? Besides, too far also. Come, come, hakka say, Loy, loy, gym. [laugh]