Sony 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 May I asked why do you want to follow the dialect pronounciation? For consistency of surname, you may just want to go for HIAP Xiang Ying. For proper Chinese standard, go for Ye Xiang Ying. For dialect group, follow your father - HAKKA. Whether or not you can speak Hakka is not relevant. that would be very half baked.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 You may want to get someone to help translate. Within Hakka itself, there are already many vatriations. I would not say this is absolutely correct but it is an attempt "Hiap Hiong Min". Try ot consult others for a more balanced view. instead of Min, would it be more accurate to be Yim? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Author Share June 23, 2009 Thanks for all the input. Although Hakkas does speak cantonese, but the fact is my BC is printed Cantonese, therefore, i personally dont see why my daughter cannot have cantonese printed on her BC. Does it really matters? It doesnt sounds nice for pronouncing HIAP Xiang Ying, as the last 2nd & 3rd name is similar to Han Yu Ping Ying, which completely dont makes sense to me. The worst part is my mum dont even care as she thinks BC can put anything as long as we like. (haha, older generation mindset, who cares....) Generation to generation is getting more and more complicated. How many family really care to know our origins!!! As long as my partner knows how to speak cantonese and knows how to communicate with same/different dialects, is good enough. Up to no choice, i will just remove HIAP ? ?, just keep it simple using Han Yu Pin Ying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Author Share June 23, 2009 Hiap Hiong Min does sounds correct :P But also sounds like cantonese. keke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Author Share June 23, 2009 If you could do me a favour by consulting your friends, it will be fantastic and greatly appreciated your kindness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marvic4 Neutral Newbie June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 My Father is Hakka dialect group. However, when I was born, my birthcert was written Cantonese. Kind of confuse ha? I don't blame my family cause they are illiterate. My father was a Malaysian but converted to singaporean. Now my daughter is coming to join my family. We have prepared her a name call. 叶 湘 颖 Ye Xiang Ying (Han Yu pin ying) the question here is how to give her Hakka name. In my identity card. My name is written as HIAP woon Kwong 叶文刚 ye wen gang (han Yu pin ying) now my daughter if wants to have her dialect group name will be HIAP ? ? I don't speak Hakka language. Even my sister also can't speak. Hakka people do speak Cantonese according to wiki. So based on my birthcert is cantonses printed but my wife insist to follow my father Hakka dialect group. I told her is ok to put Cantonese but hor she knn damn stubborn. If up to no choice we are going to remove the dialect name. If you could do help me come up the dialect name for my daughter. One thing is even I put Cantonese on my daughter birthcert I believe there is no big harm. Thank in advance for helping me. Hi bro, I am Hakka too. I think my generation (born in late 60s) will be among the last batch of Hakka who can speak the language. Newer generation maybe some can speak but definitely will be very very few. I am glad that you and your wife have such strong sense of keeping with the tradition and cultural root for your daughter, and I hope all bros here can help. Nowadays I try to teach my sons some Hakka and I hope they can manage at least some simple conversation. I think the key is to know which Hakka group you belong. The word "Xiang" could sound differently with different Hakka group. For bro Dclk, he pronounced it as "Hiong" but for my group, I pronounce it as "Song". My group belongs to "Yong Ding" in Fujian province. But according to your description, I would think your group is in Guangdong province - so the word "Hiong" is same sound as Cantonese. THat's why many people think Hakka and Cantonese are the same but they are not. In fact, most Hakka people in Singapore came from Guangdong province so you see most Hakka speaks the "Da Pu" type of Hakka language. When some Hakka people say they are Cantonese as mentioned by some bros here, I believe they mean they came from Guangdong province more than the dialect group itself. The word "Ying" is more challenging cos it is a seldom used word even as a Chinese word. Your surname Yap, in Hakka should also sound as Yap but snice you already have it as Hiap which also sounds very close so it is ok. Therefore, a suggestion for your daughter will be: Hiap Hiong Yin. (In Hakka, I don't think there is a pronounciation with ending of "g" as in Ying). By the way, if your name is to be written as Cantonese, it would have been "Yip Mun Kong". So bro, hope you have a clearer idea now after hearing from bros here and do update us on your final decision. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear June 23, 2009 Share June 23, 2009 For cha bo, doesnt matter. Your grandchildren will follow the SIL and that ends your posterity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Author Share June 23, 2009 haha thats true keke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Author Share June 23, 2009 --> By the way, if your name is to be written as Cantonese, it would have been "Yip Mun Kong". Yup, if based on Cantoese, i do agree my name should be written as what you have mentioned. example Yi Zi Mei - Cantonese However, i was given HiAP WOON KWONG, this sounds more like Hakka given name. Hiap Hiong Min or Hiap Hiong Yin, sounds good to me. Appreciated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 23, 2009 Author Share June 23, 2009 Actually when i was young, my dad did try to teach me, but due to young and naive, could not pick up the language, and in school & home, is either speaking chinese or english or cantonese, therefore, hardly communicate with hakka. haiz, i only know my uncle got mentioned to me like we are "hakka in" keke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 --> By the way, if your name is to be written as Cantonese, it would have been "Yip Mun Kong". Yup, if based on Cantoese, i do agree my name should be written as what you have mentioned. example Yi Zi Mei - Cantonese However, i was given HiAP WOON KWONG, this sounds more like Hakka given name. Hiap Hiong Min or Hiap Hiong Yin, sounds good to me. Appreciated. In the old times when parents or grandparents register the births . The outcome of your dialect name depended heavily who was the officer doing the registration. Also, it relied on how good that officer can hear and translate it to English. A good example is the word Fan "帆 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 it doesnt really matter anymore. Because during our father's and grandfather's time, all the names were been changed by the British civil servants doing the registrations. since u mentioned that yr father was a Malaysian, it's worse because its those Malays who did the birth registrations and obviously they dun know and dun care how they can translate the names into the registrations. i got Malaysians relatives and friends, their names are wrong one..... because those Malays civils servants anyhow translate into English words. Example, when their original surnames are "Cheng" or "Zhang", the civil servant put as "Chen" or "Tan" into the birth cert. Then all the descendants become "Chen" all the way down. so dun matter about such things. All our names are wrong already, right from the start. Our names are in dialect forms, which which translate into English, it changes everything...... If you ever go back to your Hakka province in China, you see how they really spell their Hakka names. i can tell you its very differenet from ours in singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear June 24, 2009 Author Share June 24, 2009 keke , tx tx, it seems like i am helping everyone to recover their origin. appreciated all inputs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 So many Chi Ka Nyin......:) but looks like dialect is declining in Singapore, not many younger generation can speak multiple dialects now. I am Yong Ding Hakka but speaking Tai Pu Ka....:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coder Clutched June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 Im quite ashame of myself.coz im hakka,but cant speak .coz my parents have been speaking hokkien when communicates.my father only speaks hakka with his brothers.me and cousins speak mandarin.everyyear,my father and uncles goes back to MEI XIAN in Guangzhou.he has been asking me to go back to pray or at least to know my roots,but i reluctant coz when go there,only speak hakka(ashamed as cant speak ).hopefully,will try to go back end of this year . i am Hakka, went back to China visit relatives every year, alone most of the time. I can't speak good Hakka. but communicate with them in Cantonese. it is ok for us. in fact, listening their conversation, I improved Hakka slowly. BTW, Hakka is not Cantonese. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMkhimwoon Neutral Newbie June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 叶 湘 颖 Ye Xiang Ying (Han Yu pin ying) HIAP Hoang Yin cos my whole family is hakka... so i cut and paste some of their name but better confirm with other... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 didn't realise that we are from the same dialect group..... *Sheeesh!* kekekek..... Can you speak hakka/khek? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear June 24, 2009 Share June 24, 2009 From Wikipedia.. The Hakka people (Hakka language: Hak-k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...