Any Hakka people who can help?

Keithhiap

My Father is Hakka dialect group.

However, when I was born, my birthcert was written Cantonese.

Kind of confuse ha?

I don't blame my family cause they are illiterate.

My father was a Malaysian but converted to singaporean.

Now my daughter is coming to join my family.

We have prepared her a name call.

叶 湘 颖

Ye Xiang Ying (Han Yu pin ying)

the question here is how to give her Hakka name.

In my identity card. My name is written as

HIAP woon Kwong

叶文刚

ye wen gang (han Yu pin ying)

now my daughter if wants to have her dialect group name will be

HIAP ? ?

I don't speak Hakka language. Even my sister also can't speak.

Hakka people do speak Cantonese according to wiki.

So based on my birthcert is cantonses printed but my wife insist

to follow my father Hakka dialect group.

I told her is ok to put Cantonese but hor she knn damn stubborn.

If up to no choice we are going to remove the dialect name.

If you could do help me come up the dialect name for my daughter.

One thing is even I put Cantonese on my daughter birthcert I believe there is no big harm.

Thank in advance for helping me.

i'm having the same problem as you.

asking me cousins who speaks a bit of hakka and they also don't know.

in the end i decide to give up the dialect name and register hanyu pinyin instead on the birth cert.

Exactly. Now seriously hardly find Hakka people Liao.

Mostly Hakka people speak canotnese.

Yeah up to no choice have to give up dialect name.

You may want to get someone to help translate. Within Hakka itself, there are already many vatriations.

I would not say this is absolutely correct but it is an attempt "Hiap Hiong Min". Try ot consult others for a more balanced view.

Kind of confuse ha?

叶 湘 颖

HIAP woon Kwong

叶文刚

HIAP ? ?

One thing is even I put Cantonese on my daughter birthcert I believe there is no big harm.

I'm born Hakka, and I speak hakka. With regards to your own IC being a mistake, no, Cantonese and Hakka are different, though it's in CANTON, Hakkas are not Cantonese, not Cantonese Hakkas. You can have your OWN dialect group changed if you can provide proof, e.g your Father's IC, or your birth cert showing (I donno how old you asre, but old birth certs do list parent's race/dialect group)

With regards to your daughter's Hakka name, suggest you head on to the Singapore Hakka Chong Association, the clansman there would be more then happy to help you out. One thing also, you have to know which hakka you belong to (Hakka/Khek) There are three different groups, hope I got the spelling right (From my knowledge) so you can pronounce it correctly, "Tai Pu Kak", "Say Pu Kak" and "Mui Yen Kek"

I'm "Tai Pu Kak". I found the list of Hakka Clans in Singapore and I belong to the above and one of these below:

Hakka clan Associations

* Foong Shoon Fui Kuan

* Eng-Teng Association, 132, NEIL Road

* Nanyang Khek Community Guild, 20 Peck Seah St

* Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Association

* Char Yong Association & Hui Choon Free Hospital

* Char Yong(Dabu) Association, 29, Lorong 22, Geylang

* Char Yang Lee Chee Association, 50-B, Lorong 8, Geylang

Good luck, and learn how to speak hakka/khek. [thumbsup]

Hope this helps you out.

Exactly. Now seriously hardly find Hakka people Liao.

Mostly Hakka people speak canotnese.

Yeah up to no choice have to give up dialect name.

Not true, some hakkas cannot speak Cantonese.

Hakkas are not difficult to find. You only don't understand the dialect,

so thus you don't know that person is hakka even if he spoke in the dialect

in front of you. [laugh]

Not true, some hakkas cannot speak Cantonese.

Hakkas are not difficult to find. You only don't understand the dialect,

so thus you don't know that person is hakka even if he spoke in the dialect

in front of you. [laugh]

I heard of Hakkas speaking their dialect, to me it's a mix of Cantonese(I'm one) and Mandarin. And some I come across won't say they are Hakka instead they will say they are Cantonese, especially those of age ones. I wonder why?

Bro Maz,

Which clan association you join ?

We go sing hakka san gor... hahaha :D

Kia meh chang how, si low chai. [laugh] [laugh]

See above, listed liow.

I heard of Hakkas speaking their dialect, to me it's a mix of Cantonese(I'm one) and Mandarin. And some I come across won't say they are Hakka instead they will say they are Cantonese, especially those of age ones. I wonder why?

I have heard "some" speaking like that, and I understand what they're saying and they are not hakkas. Hakka does not sound like Cantonese. I believe these people can't speak cantonese, so mix in mandarin to make it sound nicer. [laugh] [laugh]

Kind of confuse ha?

叶 湘 颖

HIAP woon Kwong

叶文刚

HIAP ? ?

I am quite a pure Khek but I am helpless if not hopeless. My BC stated I am a Khek and a British Subject!

My late maternal grandparents were pure Khek and were very fluent in Cantonese as well. My late mother and her siblings conversed in Khek and Cantonese as first language. But I cant even remember how I converse with my maternal grandparents when they passed away before I was 10. Most probably in Malay. I only remember I used to accompany them on trishaw to watch Tamil movies, their favourite, at Rex cinema.

My late paternal grandfather was also a Khek but I have never seen him. He was a Baba and his first wife whom he outlived was from Batavia. As a result, all my father's sibling converse in English and Malay only. I grew up with my grandpa's second wife who was a Teochew. Consequently, my father and his sibling switched from speaking Malay to Teochew as their current language. I stayed with my granny and conversed mostly in Malay as well as with a little Teochew.

As for my mother she never passed pri 2 and could only converse with my father in not so good English, Malay, Teochew as well as Hokkien. My mother was very versatile in languages and a very good cook and queen gambler and an ah long. Yes I really mean tai long. She recorded on 555 booklets whovever she loaned money (with tai long interest). When she passed away, my family could not make sense of what she wrote in the booklets and I guessed all her borrowers rejoiced, including those borroweing jewellery from her.

We children communicate with out parents in English and Malay only - no dialects at all. So my Mandarin was almost zero all the way to pri 4 when I dropped the subject. Later part of our lives we communicate in English only and slowly forgotten Malay. For that my siblings and I were scolded by my father's elder brother who children converse mainly in Malay when at home and English when outside the home.

Till this day, I am guilty that I am not able to speak any dialects or Mandarin or even Malay. Looking back, I could have learned multi-languages, except Mandarin, had my parents, especially my dear mum, passed down what they know including being a cook, a gambler and a tai long. By the way, I do still watch Tamil and Hindustani movies and my wife would say I am siao.

Now my daughter knows zero dialect and seldom speak Mandarin but she got A1 and A2 for Chinese.

Edited by Dumb

Im quite ashame of myself.coz im hakka,but cant speak [bigcry] .coz my parents have been speaking hokkien when communicates.my father only speaks hakka with his brothers.me and cousins speak mandarin.everyyear,my father and uncles goes back to MEI XIAN in Guangzhou.he has been asking me to go back to pray or at least to know my roots,but i reluctant coz when go there,only speak hakka(ashamed as cant speak [shakehead] ).hopefully,will try to go back end of this year [wave] .

May I asked why do you want to follow the dialect pronounciation?

For consistency of surname, you may just want to go for HIAP Xiang Ying.

For proper Chinese standard, go for Ye Xiang Ying.

For dialect group, follow your father - HAKKA. Whether or not you can speak Hakka is not relevant.

Edited by Kawan

True, for Hakka's from Canton, they assimilate into the Cantonese culture years back. Speech wise it does sounds like mixed Catonese.

For the older ones to assume themselves more of Cantonese then Hakka probably due to the fact of the Hakka Punti War in the late 1800 in China. Where the influx of Hakka from other region into now Shenzhen became unbearable to the local Cantonese community.

Older generation of Cantonese in particular generally have that eminity factor with the hakkas in Singapore. Though lesser than the earlier generation. With the internet, more and more historical information of our ancestor has become more accessible.

I'm born Hakka, and I speak hakka. With regards to your own IC being a mistake, no, Cantonese and Hakka are different, though it's in CANTON, Hakkas are not Cantonese, not Cantonese Hakkas. You can have your OWN dialect group changed if you can provide proof, e.g your Father's IC, or your birth cert showing (I donno how old you asre, but old birth certs do list parent's race/dialect group)

With regards to your daughter's Hakka name, suggest you head on to the Singapore Hakka Chong Association, the clansman there would be more then happy to help you out. One thing also, you have to know which hakka you belong to (Hakka/Khek) There are three different groups, hope I got the spelling right (From my knowledge) so you can pronounce it correctly, "Tai Pu Kak", "Say Pu Kak" and "Mui Yen Kek"

I'm "Tai Pu Kak". I found the list of Hakka Clans in Singapore and I belong to the above and one of these below:

Hakka clan Associations

* Foong Shoon Fui Kuan

* Eng-Teng Association, 132, NEIL Road

* Nanyang Khek Community Guild, 20 Peck Seah St

* Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Association

* Char Yong Association & Hui Choon Free Hospital

* Char Yong(Dabu) Association, 29, Lorong 22, Geylang

* Char Yang Lee Chee Association, 50-B, Lorong 8, Geylang

Good luck, and learn how to speak hakka/khek. [thumbsup]

Hope this helps you out.

didn't realise that we are from the same dialect group.....