Doosan 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 what drew my attention was more than a decade ago that particular I-ching master releases his publication a few days b4 Xmas, forecasting events a year ahead of unforeseen events to take place. if got chance to meet him in HK, must ask him for 4D so to "zhat" 1st/ 2nd/ or 3rd prize KNN, no $ no talk, no $ no water/ electricity oso ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 banks are full of money, the system is full of money, the only question is whether you can access it. and for those who can access it, they are all shock how cheap and abundant money is. so before you know it, you have a property rally and a stock market rally in the midst of a recession. Yes, lots of money in banks....but the question is: is this money really money or money that are funded with more debts (eg, bonds). I believe the downturn still not at it's fullest yet...Not tooo optimistic as data does not show any positive note...I mean 9.5% unemployment rate...nearly 1 out of 10 in US are jobless which make me think, where's the recovery insight...? Singapore even though undergoes retrenchment, but it seem less affected (eg, IT show still a lot of ppl, still go tours,etc) The reasons could be ppl are more well prepare now as in 10 yrs we went thru 3 recessions so they had been prudent in their spending...Companies also tighten employment and thus overheads are low and not to forget maybe FT got retrench first and most of the locals are still hanging on... Hence, if US still show no sign of recovery next year and China still can't boost domestic comsumption to a level to sustain the asia economic...we are in of a rough ride.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Masters wont give gambling advice usually...its against thier practice. but no harm to ask when,where to do the thing..most luck at when,like that still can advice.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 btw, those enbloc propertys, most construction will be completed by then yeah, 2010 and 2011???? by then, private really over supply, over priced, rental drops, owner lost big money?? any comment? unless e 2 IR pull us out. did they just announce SG has population of 4.58million? Jet Li moved here ? were those news posted as carrots? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 These elites move here but they dun stay here at all. Juz that on govt paper and system got their name only, i wonder what contribution do these ppl contribute, do these ppl really recognise themselves as sinkie? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 These elites move here but they dun stay here at all. Juz that on govt paper and system got their name only, i wonder what contribution do these ppl contribute, do these ppl really recognise themselves as sinkie? the contribution they make is to buy expensive properties, park their wealth here and spur the wealth management industry. it also help spur high end consumerism, such as yacht, expensive watches, boutiques, fast cars etc. but it's also ultimately inflationary, to have wealth coming in and parking here and spending here. if more and more rich people settle here, it may also polarize society and widen the gap between haves and haves not. these are the issues the govt need to be mindful about when attracting rich people here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear June 20, 2009 Share June 20, 2009 Yes, lots of money in banks....but the question is: is this money really money or money that are funded with more debts (eg, bonds). I believe the downturn still not at it's fullest yet...Not tooo optimistic as data does not show any positive note...I mean 9.5% unemployment rate...nearly 1 out of 10 in US are jobless which make me think, where's the recovery insight...? Singapore even though undergoes retrenchment, but it seem less affected (eg, IT show still a lot of ppl, still go tours,etc) The reasons could be ppl are more well prepare now as in 10 yrs we went thru 3 recessions so they had been prudent in their spending...Companies also tighten employment and thus overheads are low and not to forget maybe FT got retrench first and most of the locals are still hanging on... Hence, if US still show no sign of recovery next year and China still can't boost domestic comsumption to a level to sustain the asia economic...we are in of a rough ride.... agree with you a lot of the money takes the form of debt, which is the primary way US govt print their money. a lot also take the form of govt infrastructure projects, stimulus plans, subsidies etc. finally, there is a lot of money earned during the great years, in the form of million dollar bonuses, high property sales, high salaries etc. much of that were lost, much of that were still around. there was one report that as at end 08, more than US$1 trillion of cash was on the side line waiting to enter markets. i believe that's where the rally is coming from. i don't believe recovery is coming. but if there is so much money sloshing ard, recovery or no recovery, stock and asset prices can remain elevated? it's unhealthy and point to a further (and bigger) crash, but when would the music stop? or will the liquidity hold the fort till economic activities catch up? for singapore, first i don't think FT gets retrench first. from the retrenchment exercises i have seen, it looks pretty even. for singapore, so far, manufacturing is dead given external demand. . BUT if oil stays above US$70, there is hope for oil and gas. the banks and financials are doing not so badly again given the recent rally. construction still got lots of projects in the pipeline and govt can always pump there. tourism is quite affected but let's see what the IR can do. if China continues it's restrictions on macau, there is yet hope. then there is the civil servants that is partying away while rome burns. so the picture i see is that there is still legs for singapore to stand on, notwithstanding the worsening economic conditions in US or china. things might go along the way we are now, but we might not feel anymore worse from here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie June 22, 2009 Share June 22, 2009 the contribution they make is to buy expensive properties, park their wealth here and spur the wealth management industry. it also help spur high end consumerism, such as yacht, expensive watches, boutiques, fast cars etc. but it's also ultimately inflationary, to have wealth coming in and parking here and spending here. if more and more rich people settle here, it may also polarize society and widen the gap between haves and haves not. these are the issues the govt need to be mindful about when attracting rich people here. Go google Monaco...you will find our policies are heading that direction....as PM had said...."Nobody will be left behind...." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dearjoshua Neutral Newbie June 22, 2009 Author Share June 22, 2009 PM Lee urges citizens to do their best to get through downturn together By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 21 June 2009 1730 hrs SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has called on Singaporeans to do their best to work through the economic downturn together, as a society and country. He was speaking at a community event at Jalan Kayu on Sunday, where he launched a S$45,000 programme to help needy families. Speaking at the annual family day celebrations at Jalan Kayu, Mr Lee said: "Bonuses are down, unemployment has gone up, not as much as we feared, but it is higher than it would be. And we can see the effects as MPs, because in our Meet-the-People sessions, the numbers have gone up." And Mr Lee said the government will help those looking for jobs and assistance. He said: "The government has done what it needs to do through the GST offsets, the Resilience Package and the many schemes which Singapore has in the Budget and off the Budget, in order to help people in the ways which would help them to help themselves - keep their jobs, find new jobs and help their families." However, the Prime Minister stressed that help must be given at different levels. Tackling the economic crisis in Singapore also involves the "many helping hands" approach. And one programme which the Jalan Kayu division has launched is called Heartstrings. It will benefit a hundred needy families in the division. Wee Siew Kim, MP, Ang Mo Kio GRC, said: "By using the Heartstrings approach, the local grassroots organisations, which is the RC, can reach out to them directly with a package of household necessities. We intend to make it an on-going project, it is not meant to be mandate just for these trying economic times. "And we intend to start it small with a package of S$40-50 a month on the basis that we can sustain it. We also (that) intend every two months, the RC works with the other entities in the constituency, whether it is the merchants association, mosque or temple, and together they can reach out to the needy households in our midst, and the households also see that these entities are working together as part of a community." The Heartstrings scheme is targeted at senior citizens and needy families earning less than S$450 per month. - CNA/ms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie June 22, 2009 Share June 22, 2009 You could be right...but then..looking at the development of the situation in the region, it's not looking good... Thailand still..?? Indonesia now election which could tilt either way... Malaysia is ok but got internal issue, see newspaper always the same headlines, eg. UMNO, PAS,...?? Philippines saying IR got 5000 jobs waiting for them so...?? IndoChina also got their own set of issues...so?? So, whole of ASEAN is also quiet...no driver to drive growth...Not to forget the H1N1 thingy...it might add cost to businesses and if there's a few more cases of death...it will send another wave of fear like the SARs...this will further worsen the now affected travel, airline,services,etc... Yes...oil prices seem to be heading north but then again..is demand rising? or bcos the oil cartel needs $$$? IMHO, my guess is the latter...look at Dubai, it's slowing down a lot, the only reason is no more additional $$$ to support the 'dream'...They can keep rasing the prices but will piss off countries like US and China who are now looking at alternatives fuel...if they succeeded, middle east will be more peaceful then, I hope... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched June 22, 2009 Share June 22, 2009 there is already very good alternatives to fuel... just that it is not going to be adopted due to alot of reasons and powerful people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear June 22, 2009 Share June 22, 2009 You could be right...but then..looking at the development of the situation in the region, it's not looking good... Thailand still..?? Indonesia now election which could tilt either way... Malaysia is ok but got internal issue, see newspaper always the same headlines, eg. UMNO, PAS,...?? Philippines saying IR got 5000 jobs waiting for them so...?? IndoChina also got their own set of issues...so?? So, whole of ASEAN is also quiet...no driver to drive growth...Not to forget the H1N1 thingy...it might add cost to businesses and if there's a few more cases of death...it will send another wave of fear like the SARs...this will further worsen the now affected travel, airline,services,etc... Yes...oil prices seem to be heading north but then again..is demand rising? or bcos the oil cartel needs $$$? IMHO, my guess is the latter...look at Dubai, it's slowing down a lot, the only reason is no more additional $$$ to support the 'dream'...They can keep rasing the prices but will piss off countries like US and China who are now looking at alternatives fuel...if they succeeded, middle east will be more peaceful then, I hope... i was in indon recently and things are really looking not bad at all there. maybe it's the commodities spike recently (which some are saying is coming to an end) but most people will tell u there is no effect. politics wise, these asean countries will always have their issues, but their domestic economies are really not anywhere near collapsing. it's the exporting cty like Skorea, Taiwan, Singapore and HK that are facing big drops in GDP in any case, i think we are more dependent on west, US and china than our immediate neighbours for this recovery. Read in today ST that citi is now saying that recovery will be a usual V shape??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie June 22, 2009 Share June 22, 2009 in any case, i think we are more dependent on west, US and china than our immediate neighbours for this recovery. Read in today ST that citi is now saying that recovery will be a usual V shape??? For Indonesia, hopefully ah bang can be elected as under him things start to move but beware of that housewife (mega) if she got elected...Indonesia will be back to square one again.... As for citi analyst, you trust the analyst from a bank that nearly bankrupt and Mr Oei is suing them as well..So take it like a pinch of salt... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...