Peaceracer 1st Gear June 17, 2009 Share June 17, 2009 No, the 7-speed DSG used by Audi in the Q5 / S4 / etc is a completely different unit designed for longitudinal applications. The VW 7-speed DSG is a lightweight new design for transverse engined cars. Wa, I didnt knw abt that manz. Tot all along it was a marketing gimmick, almost told my friend to remap his to 300Nm. Luckily nv tell him.... Come to think of it, u ha a point there, those 7sp in Audi's are 4WD. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 (edited) Saw this in VW forum... VW's 1.4-liter TSI Twincharger Engine Bags International Engine of the Year Award -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- http://www.worldcarfans.com/9090617....the-year-award VW 1.4-litre wins overall International Engine of the Year award as well as being voted the Green Engine of the Year German powertrain engineering dominates, winning 11 of the 12 available awards Volkswagen has secured overall honours at the 2009 International Engine of the Year Awards, winning the accolade for the first time in the company Edited June 18, 2009 by Maddriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Wow, seems like they have struck the jackpot! Seriously speaking, those who are sensible and enjoy jus the performance would get the 1.4 tsi instead of the GTI. I saw a review somewhere comparing these 2 cars on the racetrack. Of cos the 1.4 is behind the GTI but you would be surprised at how close behind it is. In realife, the difference is probably negligible esp when considering that the 1.4 is lighter and would benefit from handling (& braking). Honestly speaking, i feel that there are sooo many GTIs on the road instead of the tsi is due to the name, cos its the legendary Golf GTi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Wa... really itchy ..... lol surfing too much car forums is bad for health and wallet... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 the TSI is a crap engine. When the supercharger shuts off and the turbo kicks in there is a slight 'jerk to the drivetrain. If you're in the middle of a somewhat fast corner; hit a bump and this 'jerk' happens you can say hello to the tree. If the engine is purely supercharged or turbocharged there is no such event. It rises smoothly, though it may not be linearly. More importantly there is no sudden 'jerk' that is both uncomfortable and potentially dangerous. There is a reason why GTI is the top of the range. It is better engineered, not a piece of fancy idea with the low-end high-end power theories cobbled together Yah yah yah....sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Wow, seems like they have struck the jackpot! Seriously speaking, those who are sensible and enjoy jus the performance would get the 1.4 tsi instead of the GTI. I saw a review somewhere comparing these 2 cars on the racetrack. Of cos the 1.4 is behind the GTI but you would be surprised at how close behind it is. In realife, the difference is probably negligible esp when considering that the 1.4 is lighter and would benefit from handling (& braking). Honestly speaking, i feel that there are sooo many GTIs on the road instead of the tsi is due to the name, cos its the legendary Golf GTi. Quite sometimes ago..I am really keen to know what this DSG and TSi are all about so I went for a test drive on Golf 1.4 sport and 2.0 Gti..After test driving both..I feel 1.4Tsi more responsive but the SE kept saying Golf 2.0 gti is a better buy and a diff class..So I told her is individual preference.. in the end I choose none cos the price tag is 90K to 110K..phew Till now..1.4TSi is still my favourite.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Wa... really itchy ..... lol surfing too much car forums is bad for health and wallet... lol Surf MCF still ok..surf VW forum then you feel the itchness... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Quite sometimes ago..I am really keen to know what this DSG and TSi are all about so I went for a test drive on Golf 1.4 sport and 2.0 Gti..After test driving both..I feel 1.4Tsi more responsive but the SE kept saying Golf 2.0 gti is a better buy and a diff class..So I told her is individual preference.. in the end I choose none cos the price tag is 90K to 110K..phew Till now..1.4TSi is still my favourite.. Ya lor, I feel the female SEs thr abit pushy. Somehow if i really like the car, i would prefer a male SE to attend to me. If i jus go c c car nia, thn female is ok. Best if . That time went over to VW to see the mk5 golf 122, she can push push till i become looking at the Gti special edition at the time, the $106k one. She said that a few k more can get a gti le. I was thinking, why must get gti??? You should ask her, why Gti better buy? Higher FC, road tax, insurance price more also. Then see wat she say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Yalo..I should ask her.. Gti looks nicer than GT..Both are sweet cars to own..Think looking at the price tag now with the COE increase..Dreams never come true liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Bro, Y not GLI since u used to sedan liao, with a big boot for ur products also..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Bro, Y not GLI since u used to sedan liao, with a big boot for ur products also..... Ya hor..but now COE shooting north..Maybe change my civic to a euro van..still can have the conti feel and psst psst.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mj79 Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Have been looking at the GOLF SPORT since it launched... but then saw the new GTI launching in the euro market, also look nice... although havent gone for any test drive but keep thinking day and night which to go for... hope to make a choice by end of the year and drop in COE.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mj79 Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Also at the same time monitoring the car performance and reliability, there seems to be some problems as read in VW forum that the engine stalled when in slow motion and send back to workshop.. Hopefully everything will be more stable as more rides are on the road.. Perhaps it also voice down to individual luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Have been looking at the GOLF SPORT since it launched... but then saw the new GTI launching in the euro market, also look nice... although havent gone for any test drive but keep thinking day and night which to go for... hope to make a choice by end of the year and drop in COE.. Ya ya, its a tough choice. But then if $$ aint a prob, gti will be great cos it can be tuned and it has the feel shiok factor. GT is good if u jus want the performance. Will be looking out for ur new ride end of the year. PS Jus noticed that we both joined the forum in 2007 and are in 1st gear only now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 From the posts, I gather that GT has less modding potential than GTI due to the relatively fragile 7spd DSG in GT (up to 250 NM) right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mj79 Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Ya ya, its a tough choice. But then if $$ aint a prob, gti will be great cos it can be tuned and it has the feel shiok factor. GT is good if u jus want the performance. Will be looking out for ur new ride end of the year. PS Jus noticed that we both joined the forum in 2007 and are in 1st gear only now. Haha... of cos $$ is also a consideration factor as car is a depreciating asset... I like to have the power but will want to keep it simple, unlikely will go for any tunning, so better just see see look look in VW forum can liao, if not sure kena poison.. hehe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 From the posts, I gather that GT has less modding potential than GTI due to the relatively fragile 7spd DSG in GT (up to 250 NM) right? Yup tats v true. But there are authorised tuners out there who can tune it to 200bhp and 300Nm. Thats more than a stock GTI!! So the thing thats the limit is the DSG. Thats y i like manual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Talking DSG, i really like the way Jeremy described it. You have two butlers. One gives you the gear you need at the current moment while the other quickly finds another gear and readies it to be used by you, all on a silver platter. But i wonder how Mitsubishi's own SST compares to DSG. hmmm hmmm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...