Sdf5725 1st Gear June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 Why do Malaysian's mandarin sounds...so funny none of the option. i got a mandarin teacher told me before, malaysian speak mandarin without one of the tones (in chinese, tones separate different word). that is why their spoken mandarin is not really right. if not talking to them and they just come out one or two words (like dictation), no one with proper mandarin speaking can understand them. of course with whole sentence, we will automatically "understand" what they are talking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 Aiyah...like that more colourful meh...one language but my different favour...there's no right or wrong...so long get your point across can liao.... Like English in Europe, you hear the way they speak, straight away you know where they come from.... Even our Singlish now Ang mo find it quite interesting...as we shortcut the sentence but still get to the point for eg, When a taxi driver asking passenger the destination: Singapore driver: Go where, sir? (3words) English: Where would you like to go, sir? (7 words) So Singlish are abt 60% more efficient than tradiational english but still get to the point. Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 U are right. They literally translate cantonese to mandarin.... For eg... Not free = Mm Tak Han (Canto) = Bu De Kong (Mandarin) How much? = Kei Tor cheen (Canto) = Ji Duo Qian (Mandarin) probably they speak mainly cantonese, HK people speak chinese also sounds funny...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 Weird.... I spoken to some taiwanese uni students and they told me actually lian pang mandarin is better understood by them, not talking about the 几够力华语, Singamandarin is sometimes more difficult to understand with the monotone - listens to comments from mandarin speaking country instead of covering our ears ! hehe i like your username. btw there is a young HK actress whose english name is annie man. any man can do.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 (edited) i got a mandarin teacher told me before, malaysian speak mandarin without one of the tones . Think it's the second one. My Malaysian MIL pronounces China as zhong(3) guo(4), not zhong(1) guo(2), and "study" as du(4) hsu(1), not du(2) hsu(1). Edited June 16, 2009 by Kklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 even people from different part of china don't understand each other 'mandarin'! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anniewan99 Neutral Newbie June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 hehe i like your username. btw there is a young HK actress whose english name is annie man. any man can do.... You belonged to that type...... 有读书,没文化! an nie wan! an jua gong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktgan Neutral Newbie June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 My friend used to say "lian pang qiang" Sounds low class.. like language spoken by uneducated labourer.. 几够立一下喔。。。Something like that LOL should be ... 几够力一下的喔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched June 16, 2009 Author Share June 16, 2009 should be ... 几够力一下的喔 My version is abit dirty one... LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 (edited) isn't fun to make fun of people language.... as long it serve the purpose of communicating.....and each party do understand another.....dun see any problem with it. overall i find their chinese competency , depth of vocab...is better than most people...here... where some chinese here dun even can speak proper mandarin.. How about our singlish ? isn't it pretty "unique" too? Edited June 16, 2009 by Lv3338 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 the msian admin girl in my office wear bra on outside today Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 the msian admin girl in my office wear bra on outside today LIKE SUPERMAN?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 the msian admin girl in my office wear bra on outside today LOL this sounds funny hahahahaha. is she crazy? are you sure it's a bra? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 the msian admin girl in my office wear bra on outside today NPNT!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 isn't fun to make fun of people language.... as long it serve the purpose of communicating.....and each party do understand another.....dun see any problem with it. overall i find their chinese competency , depth of vocab...is better than most people...here... where some chinese here dun even can speak proper mandarin.. How about our singlish ? isn't it pretty "unique" too? agree wif u bro....watch any local news broadcast on ppl being interview,8 out of 10 cant speak proper chinese. Always got tis ..then, also,bcos etc. I find it v irritating n an insult to mandarin as a chinese language. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear June 16, 2009 Share June 16, 2009 i purposely asked this penang girl why her mandarin sounds so funny...she said she was from English-school in malaysia...LOL and there is this my converted sg citizen who went to army liao but as much as he tries to hide his accent, he still sound like my and a bit cc in the tone. They may sound funny but their mandarin standard is better than Sporean. Can check with any chinese educator here. They will say the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TinTin Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 I find it rather amusing that the poll starter should start a poll as such to criticise Msian Mandarin when his/her written English is so ridiculously bad, judging from the title of the poll. Truely ironical...lol. This poll perhaps reflects more on him/her than Msians. Our spoken languages sound different to the people from other countries as well, so would it be nice to see a poll saying our accent is such because our teachers screwed up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optix Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Why do Malaysian's mandarin sounds...so funny ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...