Donut Supercharged June 14, 2009 Share June 14, 2009 Hi, i just bought a 1TB Seagate FreeAgent HDD from PC Show. $159 I tried to backup some files from laptop to this HDD. but i couldn't find my files in the HDD. is there something i'm missing? I have already registered my online warranty ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear June 14, 2009 Share June 14, 2009 You copy and paste or use the backup software? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 14, 2009 Author Share June 14, 2009 i use the backup software. is there anything i did miss out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear June 14, 2009 Share June 14, 2009 IMO, can you try to copy n paste files into the HDD from windows explorer first? If cannot, try to format it via control, administrative tools, disk management.. I assuem you use XP... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 14, 2009 Author Share June 14, 2009 one more thing i just realise. i have not format the new HDD yet. Do i need to do this first, before using it? ok, i will try to copy and paste or drap the files into HDD first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear June 14, 2009 Share June 14, 2009 no need to format 1st... dun use the backup software... juz copy and paste ur files can liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear June 14, 2009 Share June 14, 2009 it might be in some sub folder. did u try to navigate manually or use the search function? external HDD may take longer to search and find the files even with ur search function Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched June 15, 2009 Share June 15, 2009 I'm using the same freeagent ext hdd.... since you have opt to use the seagate manager program.... it ask you which to backup...e.g..your my document folder... desktop ...etc etc.. for all these they create a folder in the 1TB... and everything is been stored there.... u can do a file search with the known name.... sure can find it inside there... Hope that helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 15, 2009 Author Share June 15, 2009 thanks for all yr advise. i was worried that i gotten a lemon product this is the one i bought http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?loca...p;reqPage=Model Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched June 15, 2009 Share June 15, 2009 bro, is the same model i have... i also had 500GB maxtor...which got spoil probably due to my rough handling... so i lost 20% of my backup... for the new 1TB... i had physically copy content into the 1TB.. I created dulplicate sector on all content...as mirror storage in case one of sector got screw up again...just sharing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 15, 2009 Share June 15, 2009 hitachi hdd is better in term of reliability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 15, 2009 Author Share June 15, 2009 i saw hitachi HDD in the PC show. but the outlook of it doesn't look promising.... so i passed that. but i must say that HDD prices have "lao sai" alot..... i'm surprised that Ranger HDD is the most expensive in the market now. i thought Ranger is dead long time ago.... the guy claims that Ranger HDD is fully made in Korea, got full one piece PCB board inside, won't over burn etc...... not sure if he's BS or not...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 15, 2009 Share June 15, 2009 currently the top 3 hdd makers are Seagate, Western Digital, Hitachi. Ranger got make hdd meh? i think they simply purchased the HDD and packaged it as their own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 15, 2009 Author Share June 15, 2009 oh i just recalled.... Ranger is using Fujistu HDD...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...