Acer Aspire Timeline notebook AS4810TZ at PC Show

Piyopico

IF YOU HAVE ONLY $1,200...

What: Acer Aspire Timeline notebook (AS4810TZ-272G25MN)

How much: $1,198 (U.P. $1,598), comes with freebies like notebook carrying case, memory upgrades and vouchers

Where: Harvey Norman booths A1926 and B1908

Why buy: This baby is lightweight, at only 1.9kg, and has a long battery life of up to eight hours.

Anyone have this notebook, need your review.

Online reviews gave it high marks.

Understand the same notebook would probably costs the same at Sim Lim and you get get them to load up software for free due to competition with PC show. But Harvey Norman may be offering shopping vouchers....

1.9kg is not exactly light weight. you sure it's the 4810T and not the 3810T that is going for this price ? i doubt so.

1.9kg ok lah, not small type 14" leh.

Price is correct, my post is taken from asia1.com about PC Show good deals. Price is good cos this one only launched in May leh.

i saw the timeline and i like the keys, and it is quite slim, but not near airbook. however the plastic material doesnt spell class.

i'm using a Acer now....! can tell you its sucks, HP has a promotion too $1299

Not too fussy, normal use, Compaq can get $999.

Actually hor, Compaq is HP and HP and Compaq, so we can use the term LPPL :D

i'm using a Acer now....! can tell you its sucks, HP has a promotion too $1299

can elaborate or explain why it sucks leh?

i'm using Acer too... Travelemate 6292... been with me more than 1year already. running on Vista business with 4gb RAM. so far running fine.... had 2 minor problem... DVD rom spoil but replaced under warranty and spacebar not sensitive enough so replaces keyboard. other than that, at the price vs specs range i've no complains

Actually hor, Compaq is HP and HP and Compaq, so we can use the term LPPL :D

Though same, both have their own different models. But value for price.

No windows PLEASE

made the switch abt two months ago and NEVER LOOKED BACK [wave]

and now apple prices have come down so much from the past, u pay a few hundred more but get much more.

I apologize to Tunge but my experience with an Acer notebook was not a good one. Been going in and out the service centre so often it can apply for a PR status there.. So far the notebook that I had used and feel pretty comfortable with it are like those made by IBM (now Lenovo), HP and Fujitsu, especially Fujitsu... they are good.

i think acer is really good value for money if u lucky (from a windows user perspective). mine was quite ok and had the best specs for the price.

i guess the sacrifice is reliability, but i got lucky. didn't get to use the two yr extended warranty. now over 3 years and my sister is using it. works ok except for the screen abit koyak, only viewable from certain angles

I second that. Have you been to Acer Service Centre? Rows and rows of people sitting waiting for their turns. Either too many people buy Acer or Acer sucks big time. Acer's cheap plastic quality is really way inferior compared to the others. Even the HP Service Centre has a much lesser crowd.

can elaborate or explain why it sucks leh?

i'm using Acer too... Travelemate 6292... been with me more than 1year already. running on Vista business with 4gb RAM. so far running fine.... had 2 minor problem... DVD rom spoil but replaced under warranty and spacebar not sensitive enough so replaces keyboard. other than that, at the price vs specs range i've no complains

I have a Acer Travelmate 290 series laptop.

its the first generation of centrino @ 1.3Ghz with 512mb ram.

till now, its been 5 and a half years, its still going strong even though i mistreated it so many times.