Any jobless/job seekers ard?

Peqasus

On 2/10/2018 at 2:35 PM, 13177 said:

Some boss might still see if you can get along with colleagues in the office or not de. If you are over lone ranger, some boss might not like it also. Even you have done your work properly.

Your boss hire you to do your work and contribute to the company.

If you cannot finish your work and waste time gossiping with others, why should your boss continue to keep you?

On 2/10/2018 at 6:04 PM, DACH said:

If you cannot finish your work and waste time gossiping with others, why should your boss continue to keep you?

There is once i question my my staff on why he took too long (2hrs) for lunch. He replied that it is also a form of building rapport with other colleagues. Sometime, they may take that opportunity to discuss about work matter.

See? ppls always have their reasoning

Edited by Lotr8445r

On 2/11/2018 at 2:44 AM, Lotr8445r said:

There is once i told my my staff that he took too long (2hrs) for lunch. He replied that it is also a form of building rapport with other colleagues. Sometime, they may take that opportunity to discuss about work matter.

Wow what job is that? So nice can take 2 hours

Last time, mine usually 45min max.

Otherwise buyback to eat.

Very hard life.

On 2/11/2018 at 2:50 AM, Throttle2 said:

Wow what job is that? So nice can take 2 hours

Last time, mine usually 45min max.

Otherwise buyback to eat.

Very hard life.

u mean u work 45mins max.. and is on lunch hrs for the rest of the time?

lol

private bankers v eng one leh... oppss

On 2/10/2018 at 6:04 PM, DACH said:

Getting along with colleagues doesnt mean gossip lo. And even gossip with colleagues doesnt mean you cannot finish your work or performance is bad le. Lol.

On 2/11/2018 at 4:02 PM, 13177 said:

Getting along with colleagues doesnt mean gossip lo. And even gossip with colleagues doesnt mean you cannot finish your work or performance is bad le. Lol.

What does your boss hire you for?

What your relationship with other colleagues is secondary to him.

If you have the time to gossip, means you can do more work, right?

Edited by DACH

On 2/11/2018 at 11:23 PM, DACH said:

although I dun gossip in office nor I like my staff to do it, but the staff relationship with other colleagues does matter if he is not a team player.

On 2/11/2018 at 11:23 PM, DACH said:

My ang mo boss prefer I interact more with other departments. I am only close with my own department and never lunch with any other department's colleagues.

We had some kind of encouragement program in the office where within the week, u must lunch with other colleagues from another department and no repeats the following week.

On 2/11/2018 at 11:27 PM, Jman888 said:

although I dun gossip in office nor I like my staff to do it, but the staff relationship with other colleagues does matter if he is not a team player.

Depends leh, especially on company culture. Cant judge based on that. 

On 2/11/2018 at 11:27 PM, Jman888 said:

Agreed, gossip or not is one thing, staff relationship with other colleagues is another thing. I believe most boss would like their staff to be a team player, whether work or non work in the office. 

On 2/3/2018 at 8:20 AM, Fishy said:

The worst interview I had was a 5min interview with a mining company with office in Singapore. A consulting firm, not MBB, wanted me to attnend the interview. I told the manager I don’t have the skills on the jd. The manager said it’s ok, the jd was obsolete so asked me to meet his client. He told me client is looking for people like me. Client told me in 5 Min that’s i don’t have the skills. Felt like xxxx the idiotic consulting firm manager... wasted my time and money on transport. He was just trying his luck at my expense, showing to the client he’s trying to get a headcount for he project. Damn that idiot.

Nowadays many FT (I think >80%) in recruiting firm, see liao also sian big time.  [:|]

On 2/12/2018 at 1:23 AM, Titanium said:

Nowadays many FT (I think >80%) in recruiting firm, see liao also sian big time.  [:|]

Then where are all the locals go?

On 2/3/2018 at 8:11 AM, Fishy said:

I used to work as an engineer in a semiconductor plant. We had operators from Malaysia, locals, PRC and Pinoys. During CNY, there are often many disputes because plant is operating 24/7 but every Chinese want to take leave on cny. Yes cny is not a holiday for them. Some of them get so upset and cry.

So who goes in leave during cny?

Singaporeans go on leave during 1st 2 days of cny because we stay in the country so essentially we will return on the 3rd day. Malaysians living in Johor can go on leave on 1st 2 days because it is a shorter journey. Those staying in other states will take leave after 3rd day. PRC have to stay because it doesn’t make sense for them to fly back touch the wall and return. It caused much happiness for them. Not easy to deal with Operators especially females. Some will cry foul and literally go down and beg to go back. We take cny for granted but for some, it’s very important to be home but work is work. If I recalled correctly, it’s triple pay for those who worked during cny but they prefer to be home.

Did you resign on your own accord or were you asked to leave?

The semiconductor sector is doing relatively well for the past few years.

If you are wiling to join the equipment vendors, I am sure there are a lot of openings. 

Of course you may need to make some sacrifices for the CNY holidays.

On 2/11/2018 at 2:44 AM, Lotr8445r said:

There is once i question my my staff on why he took too long (2hrs) for lunch. He replied that it is also a form of building rapport with other colleagues. Sometime, they may take that opportunity to discuss about work matter.

During those days that we are not so busy, I usually have a long lunch with my subordinates.

Sometimes,we may drive very far for some good food or we may even have a buffet for lunch.

I can tell you most of this rapport is built during lunch... no need to spend money for external vendor to conduct team building.

In my yearly appraisal, my boss always commented that I was able to get the most out of my team.

In fact she gave me the approval for additional headcount though I told her that I do not need.

On 2/12/2018 at 2:26 AM, Maz0608 said:

During those days that we are not so busy, I usually have a long lunch with my subordinates.

Sometimes,we may drive very far for some good food or we may even have a buffet for lunch.

I can tell you most of this rapport is built during lunch... no need to spend money for external vendor to conduct team building.

In my yearly appraisal, my boss always commented that I was able to get the most out of my team.

In fact she gave me the approval for additional headcount though I told her that I do not need.

Team building is useless la. If even during lunch in office hours cannot build rapport, even organise those team building also no use.

On 2/3/2018 at 8:11 AM, Fishy said:

I used to work as an engineer in a semiconductor plant. We had operators from Malaysia, locals, PRC and Pinoys. During CNY, there are often many disputes because plant is operating 24/7 but every Chinese want to take leave on cny. Yes cny is not a holiday for them. Some of them get so upset and cry.

So who goes in leave during cny?

Singaporeans go on leave during 1st 2 days of cny because we stay in the country so essentially we will return on the 3rd day. Malaysians living in Johor can go on leave on 1st 2 days because it is a shorter journey. Those staying in other states will take leave after 3rd day. PRC have to stay because it doesn’t make sense for them to fly back touch the wall and return. It caused much happiness for them. Not easy to deal with Operators especially females. Some will cry foul and literally go down and beg to go back. We take cny for granted but for some, it’s very important to be home but work is work. If I recalled correctly, it’s triple pay for those who worked during cny but they prefer to be home.

the restaurants here never close during CNY, so i believe many foreign staff are not going home for CNY also.

Although to the PRC CNY is important even if they work in China away from their hometown, they will still take a week or two leave, so much so that they dun have to go back to work unless the company also stop operations for 2 weeks.