Lendevear 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 (edited) Currently my colleague is engaged with her girlfriend. They have bought a resale 4 room flat, taking the $30k HDB grant. Renovations are on going and they are supposed to register their marriage in Dec. Payments for the flat has started 3 months ago, each paying 50% of the loan. However, both discovered that they are not suitable for each other. Worse still, the girl is now seeing another person and my colleague is distressed. He claims that he will have to pay HDB a large sum of money and be sued breach of contract. He can't sell the house due to min occupation of 5 years. Is there any way out to sell the house, return the grant and lead separate lives without being sued. bankrupt and jailed? They have both seen marriage counsellors and even the professionals feel that they should reconsider their choices. Any one know the exact penalty or have friends who went through the same thing? Edited June 10, 2009 by Lendevear ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 call HDB n check. Safest ways. No need to guess and ask ard. wait get wrong info Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowbell Neutral Newbie June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 sell back to HDB so dat HDB can resell as a repurchase flat. do call up HDB directly too seek advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 wow... go so far as to buy flat and start paying... then discover not compatible. Pretty sad .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 wow... go so far as to buy flat and start paying... then discover not compatible. Pretty sad .... Nothing new... very common scenario.... I think HDB handled plenty of such cases so there is already an established SOP over at their end. This is the problem with our "Singapore style romance"...... In other countries. Boy: Will you marry me? Gal: Yes, I will!! In Singapore, Boy: Ei... want to buy H-Dee-Bee or not?? Gal: Got enuff CPF? Boy: Ya, got enuff... Gal: Okay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 They have both seen marriage counsellors and even the professionals feel that they should reconsider their choices. Why not listen to these ppl?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMraven Neutral Newbie June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 I think hor next time HDB will amend their rule......Want H DEE BEE....get married first...show me the Cert!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 I think hor next time HDB will amend their rule......Want H DEE BEE....get married first...show me the Cert!!!! Quite true. Dunno what this couple is doing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 honestly speaking.......i did just that but hey i was just a young adult then 20+ if i were to live my life again, i will do it differerntly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lendevear 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Author Share June 10, 2009 call HDB n check. Safest ways. No need to guess and ask ard. wait get wrong info HDB just say will sue them, never say what is the SOP. Dunno what's with young people these days also! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 dumb and dumber couple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 H-Dee-Bee will not sue.... Your fren just got to return the flat to HDB and HDB will take the flat back at a certain % (I think it is 80%) of the Purchase Price or Valuation, whichever is lower.... The proceed will go back to repaying the loan, cpf and then any residual will be paid out in cash back to your fren and his gf. But hor since your fren only got the flat for only 3 months, usually the amount is just enough to cover the loan... so your fren and his gf can kiss any cash and probably a large chunk of their CPF goodbye! This is a deterrent to young couples anyhow play play and suka suka buy flat for fun..... Cheaper to get married, stick it out for a few years and then get a divorce after that. If it is not too far from the Min Occupancy Period, can even appeal to HDB to sell the flat on the open market and make some $$ out of it... by then, maybe the gf kena dump by the new guy and come running back to your fren... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 my colleague was going to get married with his gf....then the gf say they are religiously uncompatibale the gf was claimed to have insisted that my colleague convert to christian but my colleague is already a catholic end up, call off everything 7 years of relationship, gone in a few months there was no 3rd party or 4th party toa payoh hdb flat gone everything gone my friend went downhill lucky, he got many buddies now he is steady already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 i treated marriage seriously,call me old fashion if u like....hehehe..... i was with my first relationship for 10yrs and we still separated in the end....and my second relationship just need 1yr+ to go from being stead to rom... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongkongwolf Clutched June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Oredi service 3 mths loan, that's not backing out anymore. Deal oredi done! Continue 2 service loan, wait till court order then sell. Earn from there. No point having lose lose situation, right? Make de opportunity here! Earn some $$ !!! Catch, ensure ur friend gets de bigger share of $$! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowbell Neutral Newbie June 11, 2009 Share June 11, 2009 TS,how?Any updates? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mangos Neutral Newbie June 11, 2009 Share June 11, 2009 ready to marry and then split? the girl is even seeing another fellar? I can't understand how were they thinking in the first place. and my opinion to the OP, better ask HDB directly. I don't think court or lawyer need to be involved as long as everybody is honest of what's the situation is prepare for the outcome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lendevear 1st Gear June 12, 2009 Author Share June 12, 2009 ready to marry and then split? the girl is even seeing another fellar? I can't understand how were they thinking in the first place. and my opinion to the OP, better ask HDB directly. I don't think court or lawyer need to be involved as long as everybody is honest of what's the situation is prepare for the outcome. Yup, now I realised my colleague rushed into marriage within months of their relationship as they are reaching the income ceiling of 8k (thus 40k grant) soon and want to "jiak" govt. But they dunno govt never kenna makan one.. Penny smart, pounds foolish. Yet another sucker into the HDB market.. sigh.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...