Really do not understand ERP

Xiao_bai77

Why Why Why,

Why at 8.40pm , the ERP at CTE is charging us for $1 toward Ang mo kio. [confused]

After a hard day work to go home to have a good dinner and take care of kids,

Govenrment still charge for all these unnesscary $$$...

Taxi fare already very high plus the ERP charge at 8.40pm.

What is the main reason for CTE ERP to charge at late hour?

cause if dont charge there will be heavy traffic and u may not even reached home to have dinner on the day itself.

Can you please further explain why motorist has to pay road tax???

Thks.

we paid discount Road tax

Why Why Why,

Why at 8.40pm , the ERP at CTE is charging us for $1 toward Ang mo kio. [confused]

1 bucks for a less jam ride home why not. Imagine without the 1 bucks, its like floodgate open, over flow, i think u jam until 10 pm still haven't reach home yet to have a gd dinner with ur love one

probably in order to make ppl understand why the need for ERPs, the gov could just stop operating all ERP gantries on the island for two weeks to 1 month.. then tat would be the moment of truth of whether ERPs should be here to stay...

I think that's a good idea to testify whether ERP is working as it claimed for, or just another way to increase government income. Unfortunately I think we'll never find out.

the amount lost is too scary for them. spore is run like a pte ltd company. $$ is no. 1 for the directors at the top.

if spore is run like a pte ltd company, i think many top pple ought to step down long ago due to too many honest mistakes,

but never ley [confused]

Why Why Why,

What i cannot tolerate most is ERP on Sat. If ERP is solely for commercial reason then why on Sat? Sat and Sun are weekends for us and family. Why penalise us? I simply do not understand. If there are any LTA scholars out there, your enlightenment is greatly appreciated.

Edited by Rayleigh

the best part is the ERP on weekends to marina area, which I got one ERP summon recently, I mean, if there's really jam in marina or any other areas, it is the DRIVERS who is suffering, wasting of time/petrol is the business of the driver, if they really want to spend time/money, let them be.....ERP is just an excuse....

the reason for ERP is that every singaporean wants to own a car.

so gahment no choice since singaporeans want to own a car, you pay to drive on the roads. With the limited space available for roads and the gahment cannot be expanding roads till etnernity, no choice more and more ERP lor.

cannot afford to pay ERP, take BMW... bus, mrt and walk.

Do anyone still remember why the ERP is operating till 8pm on SAT?What LTA gives?

Is it any of the Tai Tai in Singapore complaining that the jam causing time lost for them to shopping in time during weekend?

Our Singapore industry is focuing on 5 work days week. But the ERP in town stand strong strong till 8pm then finish work.

Move house lor.

Previously i use to pay like siao using CTE from Sembawang to Great World City. Pay ERP + kena jam!!!! Nevermind, go via Sembawang/thompson rd, pay just one ERP @ thompson. But journey takes 1 hr!!!!!!!!! Really LPPL situation. [dizzy][crazy]

Everyday waste time waste petrol. [thumbsdown]

Now that have move to toa payoh, so much better. ERP free and journey only takes 10-15mins. 6pm step out of office, 6.25/6.30pm step inside house liao. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

the best part is the ERP on weekends to marina area, which I got one ERP summon recently, I mean, if there's really jam in marina or any other areas, it is the DRIVERS who is suffering, wasting of time/petrol is the business of the driver, if they really want to spend time/money, let them be.....ERP is just an excuse....

Precisely, weekend is our time. If I want to suffer jam on Sat, so be it. Why come and interfere in my weekend? On the contrary, they should go and solve their existing problem first. Solve PIE, CTE and speeding commercial vehicle first. I better shut up liao. The more I say the more my blood boils.

what if they decentralise the cbd area?

the problem lies in that most people work in cbd area

and very little people work in residential areas like tampines, woodlands, jurong......

what if they some city planning like a mandatory say 50/50 office to home ratio in every sector if SG?

much less travelling for all

but it would mean that the rental income for all the cbd offices owners will jiatlat

if spore is run like a pte ltd company, i think many top pple ought to step down long ago due to too many honest mistakes,

but never ley [confused]

66.6% agree that the management should lead the pte ltd company. so we have to follow......

ERP

- to control traffic, bcos too many cars.. why too many cars, bcos public transports sux..

Edited by Hondacrv

U want to know y?

Just take a look back a few years ago when a corolla/sunny costs SGD$100K.

The massive loss of income for the garment from tax/COE has to be filled up from somewhere else...

actually, still MUCH cheaper to operate a car, for most of us anyway.

for those who have to drive to those damn chor ERP places, i suspect that they can afford it. otherwise, they will adjust their driving patterns or find some other place to work.

i agree that ERP seems to be profit driven (i also suspect so). but the official reasoning for ERP is still sound.