Notsogoodman 4th Gear June 9, 2009 Share June 9, 2009 Bro I oredi tested iRoc last Sat but yet to try the Beemer.... maybe its time to test test yeah, go ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlered Neutral Newbie June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Woh a 125i is 30k more than a iROC leh and I truely believe 125i shd be much better in handling than iROC. But just a question, with that 30k if we use it to mod iROC, u think which will be better? Why would you want to spend $30k to mod a ROC? It's already such a great car coming off the factory. The 125 and the ROC are different category cars, can't really compare. Coupe vs Hatch, NA vs Turbo, RWD vs FWD. So what if the sprint/track timings are almost the same? Anyway, not easy to get it right even with $30k. Just ask any modded Evo or Wrx owners. You gain some, but you also lose some. Enjoy the ROC. Forget about comparing. Beat the 125, you still have the 135. Beat the 135 you still have even faster cars. There's no end to it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoutckl628 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Author Share June 10, 2009 Why would you want to spend $30k to mod a ROC? It's already such a great car coming off the factory. The 125 and the ROC are different category cars, can't really compare. Coupe vs Hatch, NA vs Turbo, RWD vs FWD. So what if the sprint/track timings are almost the same? Anyway, not easy to get it right even with $30k. Just ask any modded Evo or Wrx owners. You gain some, but you also lose some. Enjoy the ROC. Forget about comparing. Beat the 125, you still have the 135. Beat the 135 you still have even faster cars. There's no end to it. Bro u are right actually, there's always a better & more powerful car...... just go with the heart i suppose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Why would you want to spend $30k to mod a ROC? It's already such a great car coming off the factory. The 125 and the ROC are different category cars, can't really compare. Coupe vs Hatch, NA vs Turbo, RWD vs FWD. So what if the sprint/track timings are almost the same? Anyway, not easy to get it right even with $30k. Just ask any modded Evo or Wrx owners. You gain some, but you also lose some. Enjoy the ROC. Forget about comparing. Beat the 125, you still have the 135. Beat the 135 you still have even faster cars. There's no end to it. FYI, BMW E82 125 is also a coupe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlered Neutral Newbie June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 FYI, BMW E82 125 is also a coupe. Er..yeah...is the ROC a coupe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Bro is there a odd plastic for iROC? I went test drive last Sat nvr realised that.... hee hee. I'm pretty alright with the leg room bcos of my height (160). Woh nvr realised there's such good offer for their 2008 production, shxt...... Anyway quite true as per u said, one is TC and one is entry level but for the price paying for the iROC, one may just consider the BM even just for the entry level. I juz got a kang tao for u. Presto Expats is advertising 2008 E81 130 for sales. Price = $113.8k. Mileage = 1,800km (the number is correct). Price for a brand new E81 130 is around $150k. Look up in SGCARMART. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Hi guys, I just need some advise. Between the 2 (scirocco vs 118 or 120) which do u actually prefer? Both are 2 doors, price almost same, power wise I think scirocco shd win slightly, looks wise each got their good point. Actually i prefer roc but come to think of it with that $$ i can get myself a BM, still better than a VW right? I may even get from 2nd hand mkt for a 2008 BM which even cheaper..... s--t man really hard to convince myself to get a ROC scirocco if price is the same. but if you do your calculations maybe you can find a used 135i for not much more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoutckl628 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Author Share June 10, 2009 I juz got a kang tao for u. Presto Expats is advertising 2008 E81 130 for sales. Price = $113.8k. Mileage = 1,800km (the number is correct). Price for a brand new E81 130 is around $150k. Look up in SGCARMART. Bro saw that ad and also a 125i. But my friend told me a brand new 130i now selling 133k neg so that price is reasonable lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Definitely a Scirocco, be it 1.4TSI or 2.0GTi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Bro saw that ad and also a 125i. But my friend told me a brand new 130i now selling 133k neg so that price is reasonable lor. Based on June 09 pricelist, it is still $150k. PML usually don't give such a deep discount unless it is clearing ex stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlered Neutral Newbie June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Based on June 09 pricelist, it is still $150k. PML usually don't give such a deep discount unless it is clearing ex stock. There's the $16k overtrade. $150k - $16k is around $134k. About there lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 (edited) Based on June 09 pricelist, it is still $150k. PML usually don't give such a deep discount unless it is clearing ex stock. Sometime in May09, a PML SE called to inform me that the 130i hatchback can be had for $134K. This direct discount is applicable, if I do not take the overtrade for a trade-in car. Thus the $134K is the 'off the shelf' price for the 130i now. Not bad for a 265 BHP / 315 Nm NA RWD car, with a 0-100 of 6.2 secs on paper. Rated FC is 12 km/L - that's very good for a 3L engine. I can't even get anywhere near that with my 2.5L BMW. Must be the N52 engine ..... compared to my M54. Edited June 10, 2009 by Jolie888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Fifth Gear compared the VW Scirocco 2.0 TSI with the BMW 125i Coupe (note: not even the 135i coupe, or the 130i hatchback) on the track. Being an RWD, the Beemer handled better round the track and was 'much more stable on the brakes' than the VW. The Scirocco's being FWD, did not fare well with its electric power steering - which was deemed 'too light'. The 125i eventually beat the Scirocco, by a mere 1.5 seconds. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ri8Rz7zk3fM So it depends on what you want. For me, my priority list between the 1-er and VW will be (top = best): - 135i Coupe - 130i Hatch - 125i Coupe - VW Golf GTI Mk VI - VW Scirocco 2.0 TSI For now at least, all the above, except the Scirocco, are made in Germany. The Scirocco is made in Portugal. It is hard to beat an F/R-Balanced RWD on handling and road holding, especially when accelerating out of bends. The more bends there are, the advantage just go to the RWD car. So I am not surprised with the outcome. I saw another YouTube video of a Subaru WRX (TC / AWD) vs a Mazda MX5 (NA / RWD) racing on a track. On the word go, the WRX shot off and opened up the space in front (that's but of course). But the interesting thing is, at every tight bend, the MX5 will catch up and be almost kissing the WRX's behind. Then on the straights, the WRX will again disappear from the camera's (mounted on the MX5) sight. And the whole process repeats itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 Sometime in May09, a PML SE called to inform me that the 130i hatchback can be had for $134K. This direct discount is applicable, if I do not take the overtrade for a trade-in car. Thus the $134K is the 'off the shelf' price for the 130i now. Not bad for a 265 BHP / 315 Nm NA RWD car, with a 0-100 of 6.2 secs on paper. Rated FC is 12 km/L - that's very good for a 3L engine. I can't even get anywhere near that with my 2.5L BMW. Must be the N52 engine ..... compared to my M54. Thanks for the info. I don't buy new ka. So, don't know d price. E81 130 will also auto blip. I really like it a lot but dare not test drive. Otherwise, i can't sleep @ nite. N52 is a lighter engine as compared to M54. In addition, N52 got valvetronic which suppose to reduce pump loss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlered Neutral Newbie June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 (edited) ...Rated FC is 12 km/L - that's very good for a 3L engine. I can't even get anywhere near that with my 2.5L BMW. Must be the N52 engine ..... compared to my M54. That's under test control conditions. Real world figures in Singapore is around 9.5 km/l if you don't floor it (need lots of self-control man ). Edited June 10, 2009 by Littlered Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoutckl628 1st Gear June 10, 2009 Author Share June 10, 2009 Based on June 09 pricelist, it is still $150k. PML usually don't give such a deep discount unless it is clearing ex stock. Bro the price is confirm by BM SE who is a friend of my colleague. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 11, 2009 Share June 11, 2009 not counting the 135i cos that's on indent and the $$$ is crazy, not counting the 125/120 cos those are coupes/cabrios. 130i > Scirocco 2.0 > 118i all these not counting interior space of course... iroc rear is strictly for 2 so i dun think u be looking at interior space if ur lookin at the iroc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlered Neutral Newbie June 11, 2009 Share June 11, 2009 not counting the 135i cos that's on indent and the $$ is crazy, not counting the 125/120 cos those are coupes/cabrios... What's with carmakers this days? VW named the ROC the Scirocco 'Coupe' and the Passat 'Comfort Coupe' when both are not coupes. BMW name the 118 hatch and the 125 coupe when both are neither 1.8 nor 2.5. Merc another culprit with C180 etc etc. Come on, let's call a spade a spade. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...