Lancer CS3/EX Owners...Please Check in Part XIV

Mivec9

On 9/4/2009 at 3:27 AM, Amsyl said:

Hi guys, checkout my blog on the Lancer CS3

http://sgauto.wordpress.com/2009/05/12/mit...r-1-6-glxi-cs3/

Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 GLXi CS3

The Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 GLXi CS3 (value for the money Japanese car) shares a similar platform as the Proton Wira and although many drivers would consider it as a somewhat ancient platform, it uses the Multilink suspension system in the rear. This Multilink system was Mitsubishi's answer to Honda's Double wishbone system. The Multilink system gives the Lancer good handling characteristics despite its soft springs and this can easily be fixed with a set of spring adjusters or lowered springs although the latter would definitely reduce its ride comfort.

The Mitsubishi 4G18 engine is based on the long in tooth 4G92 with upgrades in the EFI system and the adoption of a modern distributorless ignition system. While this engine is a traditional engine without the fancy Variable Valve Timing and VTEC-type system, it is a robust work horse and is great engine especially if you plan to turbocharge TC it for more power and torque. It can easily handle 0.8bar or 12psi of boost, giving you about 84% increase in power. However, TC is illegal just in case you are not aware of it. Alternatively, a more discrete modification would be to change the block to a 1.8 or 2litre and with a kerb weight of about 1.1tons, acceleration is pretty exhilirating for the manual of course. The CS3 lancer 2 litre is commonly available in the USA. Another trick would be to hunt for the very very rear pre-2000 Lancer MIVEC RS from Japan gearbox which has a close ratio gearing and a LSD Limited Slip Differential. This gearbox will easily knock off 1 to 2 seconds without any engine work. The drawback would be a higher engine rpm at cruising speeds that will impact on the fuel consumption.

An example of what a close ratio gearbox would do is in the comparison of the Suzuki Ignis Sport versus the Toyota Vios manual as both have very similar power to weight ratio but a difference in the 0 to 100kph benchmark of 1 second. Because the Suzuki Ignis Sport comes with the close ratio gearbox, it allows to the driver to upshift quickly during accceleration. Engine power is not everything as most drivers seem to think and spend their money.

The CS3 automatic is a different cake as it is based on the CVT continously variable transmission which is a steel belt that works like a bicycle gear system. This steel belt is the weak point of the CVT and if you tend to be aggressive with the throttle, it wears out pretty quickly but can be changed if it happens. CVT works well during cruising as it gives you one of the lowest gear ratios you can get and this translates into better FC. However, due to the 'rubber-band' effect of the CVT, throttle response is not direct and can be frustrating. For normal (slow) drivers, this is not an issue as the CVT gearbox is very very smooth without any upshift jerks in the traditional automatic gearboxes. Owners are advised to change the CVT gearbox oil more frequently eg. 40K to extend the lifespan of it. (Use only Mitsubishi CVT gearbox oil).

Thanks for sharing. This is very informative. [thumbsup]

sorry guys for my MIA, lost my password file when i changed notebk and FINALLY had the time to change password and login [sweatdrop]

btw... wat happened to Fri MU har? suddenly nobody talks abt it so i thinking its called off?

anyway Ah Joe and I were thinking maybe we can make one of the MU during DAY TIME for some phototaking session? since some of us likes playing wif DSLR too [thumbsup]

On 9/7/2009 at 3:26 AM, Cloudywind said:

sorry guys for my MIA, lost my password file when i changed notebk and FINALLY had the time to change password and login [sweatdrop]

btw... wat happened to Fri MU har? suddenly nobody talks abt it so i thinking its called off?

anyway Ah Joe and I were thinking maybe we can make one of the MU during DAY TIME for some phototaking session? since some of us likes playing wif DSLR too [thumbsup]

well sis i'm on...must find a gd place to have our photoshoot....

On 9/7/2009 at 2:58 PM, Mazda323 said:

lol....always like that one ma...ppl sure will bargain one...

so everything go with the car?

LoL now I know what is lowball [sweatdrop]

All majority I guess, dekitting my ICE and some other things only [scholar]

On 9/7/2009 at 3:26 AM, Cloudywind said:

These days weather very unpredictable.....Can try lah. Great suggestion. [thumbsup]

On 9/7/2009 at 2:57 PM, Jb15 said:

Wanted to, but too leceh to deal with those people la, sell strut bar at 100 they want 50, kns..

Just need to be more tactful lah. Plus a lot of cut throat, dishonest buyers and those who have pilot licences capable to fly A380......

Other than the above, in the normal flow of things, it is an enjoyable process.

On 9/7/2009 at 2:48 PM, Mazda323 said:

The tree top walk near the Bukit Timah there not bad....Except got a lot of monkeys.....Never mind....We got Ah Sam to handle the monkeys.... [lipsrsealed]:D

On 9/7/2009 at 8:27 PM, Jb15 said:

LoL now I know what is lowball [sweatdrop]

All majority I guess, dekitting my ICE and some other things only [scholar]

Remember don't type wrongly hor....It is lowball not half ball.... [lipsrsealed][sweatdrop][laugh]

On 9/7/2009 at 2:48 PM, Mazda323 said:

yeah bro. How's was sat...did u guys (YC) mu? sorry was busy with road trip and concert last week. Now still a bit lag/shag. Hope we still can see him??

How's everything guys? [grouphug]

On 9/7/2009 at 2:57 PM, Jb15 said:

Wanted to, but too leceh to deal with those people la, sell strut bar at 100 they want 50, kns..

bro....based my experience, u can put in your advert on the price as guideline (u can put lowballers will not be entertained). They can lowball all they want, either u lash at them or totally ignore.

For strut bar, think new ones around 120? u can just check out other folks pricing for 2nd hand and use that to do your pricing. if u think 50 from those who offer too low, i normally just say sorry too low liao or simply put - current bid price is 50. This is to entice others to come in and bid. so far it works for me perfectly. [sunny]

if i never get good pricing, open a new sale a few days later lor....lol! [thumbsup]

On 9/8/2009 at 12:13 AM, Yuan said:

Remember don't type wrongly hor....It is lowball not half ball.... [lipsrsealed][sweatdrop][laugh]

wah bro, pls dun corrupt our young boy jB! [smash]

On 9/8/2009 at 12:12 AM, Yuan said:

The tree top walk near the Bukit Timah there not bad....Except got a lot of monkeys.....Never mind....We got Ah Sam to handle the monkeys.... [lipsrsealed]:D

i managed to scare off some monkeys during my road trip!