Mk1 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Jus becareful n hav a safe trip... any type of cars can go up there... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Depending on your passengers and the driver, you can stop as often as you want. Thats one of the perks of driving yourself. The major stops are all pretty safe. Major stops are the ones with food courts. For CH, you might want to make 3 long stops before Tapah/ Simpang Pulai. Averages 2hrs in-between stops. Then u can always take short stops for toilet and smoking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tee_bag Neutral Newbie December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Depending on your passengers and the driver, you can stop as often as you want. Thats one of the perks of driving yourself. The major stops are all pretty safe. Major stops are the ones with food courts. For CH, you might want to make 3 long stops before Tapah/ Simpang Pulai. Averages 2hrs in-between stops. Then u can always take short stops for toilet and smoking. To CH .. my route is ... Tuas ---> Melaka ( stay 1 nite ) Pump full next morning ---> Tapah R&R (pump full) ---> CH CH ---> Tapah (pump full) ---> Ayer keroh (lunch) ---> Machap (Pump Full) ---> JB ( pump 10 RM) At machap .. quite alot of SG cars queuing to pump full tank @ the petronas station .. i tink tat is the last stop before 50km from SG border. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tee_bag Neutral Newbie December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Pics of SG cars queuing up to fill up at Petonas Machap R&R. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingamair Neutral Newbie December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 (edited) Hello, Just wondering, whats the road condition from Simpang Pulai to CH? Smooth straight road or just as windy as the old road? Will be travelling at night, so might like to factor some additional time if the road isnt as good as its advertised to be. Oh yah, choosing betw EQ and Century Pines, which would be err.. nicer? I've stayed at EQ before and it was alright. Havent tried CP though. Edited December 28, 2009 by Lingamair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackslayer 1st Gear December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 Pics of SG cars queuing up to fill up at Petonas Machap R&R. HAHA. i was there too. last night.. queue until crazy.. till the machap rnr entrance... out of 10 cars... 8 cars singaporeans... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear December 28, 2009 Share December 28, 2009 how was the weather there in the evening?? see you guys having steamboat with sweaters on... btw. is that steamboat call Highlands resturant? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie December 29, 2009 Share December 29, 2009 For me EQ was a better choice as all other attractions are within a stone throw's away, u can even jus walk around. Evenings there are chilly cos as i leave for dinner (normally drive down to tanah rata) hotel register outside temp as 17 deg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear December 29, 2009 Share December 29, 2009 For me EQ was a better choice as all other attractions are within a stone throw's away, u can even jus walk around. Evenings there are chilly cos as i leave for dinner (normally drive down to tanah rata) hotel register outside temp as 17 deg. EQ as Equatorial Cameron ? evening = 17 deg? that's nice cooling weather Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear December 29, 2009 Share December 29, 2009 Hi Guys ... Just got back from CH yesterday ... the drive was good and smooth ..the food was super shiok will post peektures tonite just for info .. i find that SG cars along NorthSouth Highway quite fierce leh .. no give ways and chiong beri fast... Did you tried the steamboat there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie December 29, 2009 Share December 29, 2009 Yup..Eq as in Equatorial CH.. Evenings are cooling n nice..jus a jacket will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear December 29, 2009 Share December 29, 2009 Yup..Eq as in Equatorial CH.. Evenings are cooling n nice..jus a jacket will do. Thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingamair Neutral Newbie January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 Hi, Made it up to CH with 45 mins to spare to the New Yr. Had a good time at EQ, pity the hot water there was inconsistent at times. Traffic was horrid at Kea Farm and in Brinchang though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Hello, I'm planning a trip to Cameron, is it advisable to travel from SG-CH w/o nite stopover? does it take 6-7hrs from Tuas checkpt and roughly how much is the toll charges? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Btw, add in 2 more pics for the Tapah route and Simpang Pulai route to see the difference...only very few areas there is only 1 lane and have to manouvre carefully... wow how to squeeze 2 cars on such narrow lane! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 wow how to squeeze 2 cars on such narrow lane! haha...that's where our driving skills comes into play!! No worries about that though, not all roads there are lidat, only certain areas. Planning to go again this year! Yummy strawberries here I come!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 For me EQ was a better choice as all other attractions are within a stone throw's away, u can even jus walk around. Evenings there are chilly cos as i leave for dinner (normally drive down to tanah rata) hotel register outside temp as 17 deg. yeah at nite rather chilly if there are passing wind...cars are all fogged up and condensation starts in very short period. best to have steamboat!! If go during summer season dun think will be that cold though. at most like our airconditioned office temperature. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Hello, Just wondering, whats the road condition from Simpang Pulai to CH? Smooth straight road or just as windy as the old road? Will be travelling at night, so might like to factor some additional time if the road isnt as good as its advertised to be. Oh yah, choosing betw EQ and Century Pines, which would be err.. nicer? I've stayed at EQ before and it was alright. Havent tried CP though. Rest assured bro that the SP route is wider and better that the old route as mentioned. not really straight but not that curvy though. kinda like when you descend Genting highlands near to the foot of the mountain. low gradient. Hmm, din stay EQ before, but Century Pines suits me well. Everything was ok from the reception to the room to the view. Only the breakfast part need to make a bit comment. The next morning after 1 nite of rest as there were not much guests (i think less than 10), there were no buffet breakfast, can only choose Set A (Continental breakfast aka bread+butter+scrambled egg+hotdog+bakebean+milk/coffee/tea) or Set B (local breakfast aka mee goreng/nasi lemak with condiments like ikan bilis/sunny sideup/chix wing+coffee/tea). Some more can only order 1 portion maximum which the big side me (i am a big eater la ) dun even consider half full :angry: (I eat heavy breakfast), have to make do with it then go out to buy some muchies (corn/steam sweet potato) to fill my stomach. Only the next morning more guests then we can have buffet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...