Berncsp76 6th Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Hello, I'm planning a trip to Cameron, is it advisable to travel from SG-CH w/o nite stopover? does it take 6-7hrs from Tuas checkpt and roughly how much is the toll charges? Thanks! Sure can! if you have a co-driver would be great, if not, think you will tire out soon given the long and boring NSHW. Timing I would say should be around there since you are going in at nite. Maybe you can chiong abit but do be careful coz nite time trucks like to park at the road shoulder to sleep without switching on their hazard lights. Also to look out for speeding coach buses. Toll charges would be about RM110+ to and fro. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 oh no no I'm aiming to start arn 7am from checkpoint... I guess gg from Tuas is faster than Woodlands? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 For me i left home abt 6 n reached NSHW abt 7am (started on weekday so took woodlands side) reached EQ abt 1400hrs. Only stopped in Ayer Keroh OBR for A&W float..nxt stop in Seremban for lunchie. For tolls plse check from here....http://www.plus.com.my/ Pace of drivin abr 110 or thereabout...for me i jus handover to my oc after malacca then relaxed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 For me i left home abt 6 n reached NSHW abt 7am (started on weekday so took woodlands side) reached EQ abt 1400hrs. Only stopped in Ayer Keroh OBR for A&W float..nxt stop in Seremban for lunchie. For tolls plse check from here....http://www.plus.com.my/ Pace of drivin abr 110 or thereabout...for me i jus handover to my oc after malacca then relaxed wa not bad, 110km/h also can reach by 2pm... I cant drive at long constant 110km/h cos I may find it hard to fight zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz....the dozing spirit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sufercck Neutral Newbie January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 i going to Genting this coming Sunday 10 Jan will start at 5 am from Woodlands Checkpoint. to reach there at 9 - 10am Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Sure can! if you have a co-driver would be great, if not, think you will tire out soon given the long and boring NSHW. Timing I would say should be around there since you are going in at nite. Maybe you can chiong abit but do be careful coz nite time trucks like to park at the road shoulder to sleep without switching on their hazard lights. Also to look out for speeding coach buses. Toll charges would be about RM110+ to and fro. any tourist center over there where I can get detailed free maps and places of interest on the area. my boy is going 2yrs old, do u think CH is suitable to for such young age? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 good stuff. any bros ever tried till penang? i only went up to melaka by car. any experiences to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 In pg 5 one bro hve attach maps of tanah rata n brinchang. u cnt go wrong up there as its 1 single main road coming all the way from brinchang(top) to lower most(tanah rata n others). for info u can refer to below sites cameron highlands online cameron highlands online portal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingamair Neutral Newbie January 6, 2010 Share January 6, 2010 Just to share, one other place to stop is Tapah R&R. Looks like quite a fair bit of food there. For those who like Shell petrol, there's a Shell at Sunway, Tanjung Malim & Tapah R&R on the way up north. Each is around 70kms apart. Can refuel here before heading up Tapah route or Simpang Pulai. BTW, there's a Shell at Ringlet & Brinchang, but no Vpower. Have to say that Simpang Pulai route is alot alot easier on your passengers than Tapah route. For the sake of your pax, please consider this route or drive slower on Tapah route :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Hello, I'm planning a trip to Cameron, is it advisable to travel from SG-CH w/o nite stopover? does it take 6-7hrs from Tuas checkpt and roughly how much is the toll charges? Thanks! Suggest you start out around 6am....hit Ayer Keroh along the NS highway for breakfast, should be there ard 8am, then proceed to KL just before the Ipoh highway for kopi break. should be there about 10, latest 10:30am, there you can proceed to either Simpang Pulai (new route) a bit further but less winding and easiler to drive or you can hit to Ipoh town for lunch, their CHicken rice with bean spout you should be up CH before 2pm to 3pm, jsut in time to check into hotel Have a fun and save journey... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 Great suggestion! Thanks man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 u sound very experience and planning i would say is reasonably good. the last time we went up, reached abt 5/6pm prolly we should cheong faster. we maintained 110km/h then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 yo bro~ nv drift down ah Never lah bro! On those roads, one mistake is all it takes! Better drive within your own limits On da 1st day, I got a scare as I was gog up Simpang Pulai route, the starting part quite sandy but as I went downhill after an uphill sprint, I started to D..........R........I........F.........T towards the ravine but heng ah, I saw a chicane but I managed to correct in time if not, additional $$$$$ for repairs!! The drift feeling as you correct is damn shiok!!!! Hwaaah!! Sounds scary man ! But yep, controlling the car when you're sideways is great fun...and damn addictive too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear January 7, 2010 Share January 7, 2010 u sound very experience and planning i would say is reasonably good. the last time we went up, reached abt 5/6pm prolly we should cheong faster. we maintained 110km/h then. not really lah... just estimate only... 2 hours plus from Sg to Malacca another abt 2 hrs to kl and 2 more to CH went thru google map... we were travelling around 110 to 130 max also lucky morning no jam and traffic along NS highway also light Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 For me i left home abt 6 n reached NSHW abt 7am (started on weekday so took woodlands side) reached EQ abt 1400hrs. Only stopped in Ayer Keroh OBR for A&W float..nxt stop in Seremban for lunchie. For tolls plse check from here....http://www.plus.com.my/ Pace of drivin abr 110 or thereabout...for me i jus handover to my oc after malacca then relaxed hey i'm driving up in feb. Btw, more concerned with rest pts. where is this Ayer keroh OBR? etc? my plan Tuas chkpt (530 am) Ayer keroh (830 am: Breakfast; any good recommendations?) Ipoh (1 pm: lunch ; any good recommendations?) Cameron (3 pm: check in ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilz Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 hey i'm driving up in feb. Btw, more concerned with rest pts. where is this Ayer keroh OBR? etc? my plan Tuas chkpt (530 am) Ayer keroh (830 am: Breakfast; any good recommendations?) Ipoh (1 pm: lunch ; any good recommendations?) Cameron (3 pm: check in ) Fr S'pore to Ipoh atleast 6-7 hrs if u drive 120 - 130km\h, with 3 rest stop. Ipoh - Bercham - u can find the original ipoh horfun. any store more or less the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avantism Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 OBR-overhead bridge restaurant @ 210km after normal ayer keroh exit no 231. can stop for good ole A&W makan ur plans look ok...jus a tip stop in those big R&R like seremban,tapah for more makan varieties.. enjoy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orablue 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 (edited) went up gunung brinchang last dec. i noticed that the road up the mountain had deteriorated. the pot holes were bigger, the ditches by the side were deeper than 6 months earlier. the ditch by the sides made it really difficult to share the one lane road bec any wheel drop in and that's it. i scraped the bottom of my mz3 each time i drove up. gee, i like the mountain strawberries there. :) anyone drove up there in a stock gti before? Edited January 31, 2010 by Orablue ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...