Road Hoggers love them or Hate them?

Ellf

Cool bro...I also relative newbie in this forum. Been driving for 20 yrs but nvr participated in any forum. I NOT perfect lah... [crazy] No one is....just I find sometimes we share - we learn...

Please do share with me what u think...I wanna learn too! Have a good w/e! [wave]

bro. you dont look like a hogger to me. But you sure is one of those self-centred driver on the road.

i can tell you i am not road hogger at all, when i want to drive relaxing, i will take the slow lane. never miss once.

when i drive at lane 1 at 120km/h or sometimes above, i still can find someone drive faster than me from my rear mirror. i will definitely change lane to lane two and slow down, wait for the fast driver to pass then change back to lane 1 again (in fact, i encountered quite a few give way to me also in this way). I never think i am rightfully to stay at lane 1 because i am driving "very fast" liao.

please understand that for ppl to overtake you from slower lane is way more dangerous than overtake you from fast lane (isnt this a common sense?). and by self justify yourself that you are rightfully to stay at lane 1, you put other motorists' life at risk because you forced the driver at the back doing this kind of dangerous act. in fact, you become the indirect culprit if there is any accident involved in this case.

I guess u are right.. But in no way have I had any thoughts that it is rightful for me to stay in lane 1 becuz I'm already "driving fast".. I do give way to faster driving cars, it just have to depend on situations.. Perhaps are u are right.. But I don't think a driver is stupid enough to put himself at risk just to overtake, so I dun think I can considered an indirect culprit and certainly, I can't force him to do wat he doesnt want to..

Ok, nvm.. peace to all.. Have a nice Friday.. I hope I'm not making things worse.. SHUCKS..

Edited by Metalsubzero

I sincerely apologise to all bros here for any childish remarks I have made, or any improper posts.. I am here to learn.. Therefore, please give me a chance.. I'm relatively new to driving, only 2 yrs license, but have been driving regularly.. Therefore, what I post is only from my viewpoint and it is never my intension to create controversy or stir trouble.. Please feel free to leave ur comments for my posts, and if I'm wrong, I'd take it as a man.. Afterall, all of us are here to share experiences and learn aint we?

Cheers and have a nice weekend to you bro Lex250.. :)

That's life in Singapore. If you want to complain so much abt road hoggers, you might as well go n take MRT or bus? No stopping of traffic. no road hogging, got chio bu gers to see. Even the bus got bus lanes now. Best of all, no erp for u too.

What is road hogger to u? A driver who drive at 100km in lane 1 but u going at >100km and tailgate him. U called that road hogger? Also, you think it is easy for pple to filter to the left so that you can overtake in singapore? Not many are friendly road drivers.

Taking a quote from what you have said. It is exactly your type of mentality that typical road speeders have. It is typically guys like you who speed, tailgated and later got into accidents then make high claims. In the end, the car insurance keeps going higher n higher.

In short, if you want to drive, then get used to the singapore roads. This is NOT MALAYSIA. U want to RACE, GO NS highway. But make sure it is not a one way ticket to Hell first hor.

Sigh...typically KS Singaporean attitude...

It doesn't matter at what speed you are travelling on the overtaking lane - as long as there is a faster car coming up behind you, you should filter left to let him through...

It is not up to you to play TP...

If you are uncomfortable with being tailgated, simple - shift to driving on the left or centre lane...

No one is forcing you to drive fast - however you also cannot force others to drive slowly [smash]

i think it is both correct to say that if a car behind is faster, then the one in front should give way else constitute road hogging. but on the other hand, there is a limit to how fast a car can safely travel on lane 1. so if the car coming from behind is way too fast, e.g. 180km.hr, dont expect the cars in front to speed up even faster, cos it is not safe anymore. So in this situation, the cars in front is not necessary road hogging. In other words, road hogging is both relative and absolute.

Like you said, it's relative...

180km/h on the autobahn is considered slow leh...hahah

That would still be considered road hogging

And if I may take it a step further - IMHO as long as we hold up someone who's faster than us, we are road hogging...

It's also perception - we are so used to be limited to 90km/h (maximum legal speed here) that we have a "fear" of driving fast...

Hello,

Your summarized statement is simple, clear cut and easily understood. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

If you are uncomfortable with being tailgated, simple - shift to driving on the left or centre lane...

No one is forcing you to drive fast - however you also cannot force others to drive slowly

Edited by Subutai

It's still pretty unclear among drivers whether there's special exemptions from speed limits on lane 1. Although I'm sure the TP have their own ideas, but that's not really my problem. It's their license and their lives, not mine anyway.

So why should I worry about excessive speeds in lane 1? After all haters of road hogs are travelling in their own lane minding their own business? Because at excessive speeds, a driver can loose control of his car and veer anywhere, including other "innocent" lanes, or even to the opposite side of the road. The results could be disasterous.

But if you the sworn enemies of road hogs do crash (I'm sure it's never your fault), please do the decent thing, try not to crash into other vehicles. Look for a good landing spot, like a pillar, a solid road divider, solid tree, lamp post or something, you'll win extra points if you managed to crash into one of those annoying speed cams.

And one more thing, please move your mangled vehicle out of the way ASAP or you'll be causing obstructions to other users on the road.

I really feel very PO when it comes to road hoggers. I have no grudge against someone who buys a new ride. BUT pse dun think that you own the road. Travelling at 80km/hr on extreme right lane and braking when there is no car infront. Really PO with them. If you want to show off, keep to the middle lane on the expressway. Extreme Right lane is for overtaking and emergency. 90km/hr is only a gauge but the main purpose for the right lane is for emergency!!!

BE Considerate!!!!

Damn man!

Totally hate them! [thumbsdown] [thumbsdown]

U guys dutifully change lanes to let another bugger overtake u on every instance?

To be honest - Yes!

On 2 occassions I saw a car very far behind but driving very fast and moved to the middle lane waiting for the car to pass me on the right only to realise that they were on the far left existing the high way!

Its not difficult to move left to let another car past but hoggers won't do it cos of their stubborn attitute not road conditions.

Its a state of mind not state of road condition. Its the "die die also I won't move left to let someone pass me attitute." [thumbsup]

reading in the forum that most forumers detest road hogging, it is quite encouraging. so i guess most road hoggers are unaware of their act. As such, TP should raise awareness through public campaign.

been a lurker here for a while but saw this thread bth create account to post also hehe.

Road hoggers have been the bane of my life since i started driving. But then again, you cant really blame them cuz they have their on view points too.

So what i do nowadays, if the next car infront of me refuses to give way even though the front is clear, i will go infront of that car and drive at 60 or even 40.

I am within the speed limits, the car on my left so fast how can i filter in safely? I want to save earth and petrol so cannot accelerate fast to filter in the left lane to give way. So bo bian i must not break the 90kmh law and stay in the right lane lor. What is the 5-10minutes you waste by travelling at 40 instead of 90? Cannot take it then take MRT lor...

Giving each hogger a taste of his own medicine, one at a time!

Did this a few times....amazingly when you slow down purposely, they also slow down to match your speed..... These type of hoggers are really psychotic about maintaining distance from the front vehicle.....give up on them...

It because here, the driver behind gets 100% liability automatically if he kisses the backside of the car infront. So keeping a safe distance make for relatively stress free driving.

To be honest - Yes!

On 2 occassions I saw a car very far behind but driving very fast and moved to the middle lane waiting for the car to pass me on the right only to realise that they were on the far left existing the high way!

Its not difficult to move left to let another car past but hoggers won't do it cos of their stubborn attitute not road conditions.

Its a state of mind not state of road condition. Its the "die die also I won't move left to let someone pass me attitute." [thumbsup]

Very good of you bro.....more need to learn from you. Most of these hoggers are self-absorbed and have poor road awareness....Ppl who are used to driving fast are usually more prone to give way to even faster vehicles to avoid becoming hoggers themselves.

If i had a gun and shot every hogger on the road, i would run out of bullets real quick.....

It because here, the driver behind gets 100% liability automatically if he kisses the backside of the car infront. So keeping a safe distance make for relatively stress free driving.

I believe that there are some who don't even take a look at their speedometer...just drive only....just follow behind....road hoggers detail.... [laugh]

reading in the forum that most forumers detest road hogging, it is quite encouraging. so i guess most road hoggers are unaware of their act. As such, TP should raise awareness through public campaign.

Yeah, my gd friend's dad was fined for road hogging by TP along ECP....quite unheard of these days...

I believe that there are some who don't even take a look at their speedometer...just drive only....just follow behind....road hoggers detail.... [laugh]

Road hoggers convoy.... [rolleyes]

Very good of you bro.....more need to learn from you. Most of these hoggers are self-absorbed and have poor road awareness....Ppl who are used to driving fast are usually more prone to give way to even faster vehicles to avoid becoming hoggers themselves.

If i had a gun and shot every hogger on the road, i would run out of bullets real quick.....

Well said bro! [thumbsup] If there's a faster car coming up behind me, I'll defintely give way...after which I give chase [lipsrsealed] Hahaha! Kidding only lah, but it is true that fast drivers are usually the ones with better road manners.

That being said, I heard on the morning express once that in a computer simulation of a typically busy city like ours, congestion on the e-ways is inevitable. But strangely, when they changed the parameters of the simulation to include 40% of all drivers NOT complying with traffic rules (i.e. speeding, overtaking from left, change lanes abruptly, not signalling etc...) the congestion actually EASED!! So in other words, if not for fast drivers like *ahem* us [drivingcar] , our roads & e-ways will be in an even worse state!!

Well said bro! [thumbsup] If there's a faster car coming up behind me, I'll defintely give way...after which I give chase [lipsrsealed] Hahaha! Kidding only lah, but it is true that fast drivers are usually the ones with better road manners.

That being said, I heard on the morning express once that in a computer simulation of a typically busy city like ours, congestion on the e-ways is inevitable. But strangely, when they changed the parameters of the simulation to include 40% of all drivers NOT complying with traffic rules (i.e. speeding, overtaking from left, change lanes abruptly, not signalling etc...) the congestion actually EASED!! So in other words, if not for fast drivers like *ahem* us [drivingcar] , our roads & e-ways will be in an even worse state!!

This is NOT true! I witnessed this 'simulation' before long ago! Its benchmarked to the allocated speeds deisgned for the roadways. Its simply aimed at vehicles not abiding to speed limit at the island's traffic conditiions. To an opposite example: if all cars travel below 100kph (designed for 80 - 120kph) at M6 & M18 in UK, then there will be massive jams followed by chain collision and deadly accidents.

Back to topics: Road Hoggers are seeds to troubles on the road. Its only whether we wanna nourish it into a trouble or simply ignore them.

Cheers!