Guniang Clutched August 6, 2009 Share August 6, 2009 The meaning of Hogging... No Matter how fast u travel, as long u block my way, u r road hogging.... hahahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Hmm, pretty interesting eh this topic.. For me, I'm quite neutral too.. How do u define hogger? I don't like hoggers, no, when they're travelling at 80-90km/hr on lane 1.. Anything lesser than 80km/h on lane one in normal conditions is hogging to me.. I don't reason with some theories that as long as the car behind you is faster than you, you should give way though.. If I'm doing 120 on lane 1 and a bugger happily travels at 160, why should I give way?? Of course if the roads on lane 2 is clear, I would, if it's hell bz, do you think I will risk getting into an accident just to give way to that car? Just see, I'll have to slow down to less den 90 for you to get into lane 2 so that I can let you through? If the driver behind is in a hurry, I believe they will definitely find alternative ways to overtake me.. I think some of you have deviated from the initial discussion on road hoggers.. In my view, road hoggers are people who deliberately travel at speeds slower than the norm speed, which I would generally say around 100-110km/h for lane 1, 80-90km/h on lane 2.. Anyone who wants to go faster have to find their way past me.. I usually travel at 110-120 on lane 1, and when I come up to a solitary car with no cars in front doing 90km/h on lane 1, I would just overtake him and get on my way, if lane 2 is busy and I can't even cut into it myself, do you think the car infront of you can do so?? But still, I'd still keep a safe distance mind you even if I cant overtake him on the left, not like some buggers who high beam, horn and tailgate.. I've been guilty of tailgating at times, never resorted to high beaming or horning though, (i think that is lame, wat is the high beam for? To warn others of an impending accident? Or to let you know limpeh is travelling faster den u and I wanna get thru? and do you even know what the horn is for?) thinking about it, I felt guilty to have tailgated, lucky no accidents as yet.. So, please guys, before you even think of doing these, please spare a thought for others first.. Road hoggers, love them hate them, but on SG roads, you just cant miss them.. i can onli conclude tat u r a selfish road hogger............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Nope. Don't travel by the KPE anyway but no matter which way you drive, there are sure to be hoggers everywhere! We see them whenever we drive and because of this thread, I've grown more aware of the nuisance they cause on our roads, but strangely, I've also grown more tolerant of their ridiculous driving habits. I guess it's inevitable so why strees yourself out so much? i find that KPE is different from other roads and the cars travelling on lane one there cannot constitute as hogging, as the speed limit is merely 70km/h. even if you want to speed up, once you reach 80km/hr, the speed camera will snap you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 not so bro..... if ppl behind 1 2 b snap, let them b n let them thru. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Hmm, pretty interesting eh this topic.. For me, I'm quite neutral too.. How do u define hogger? I don't like hoggers, no, when they're travelling at 80-90km/hr on lane 1.. Anything lesser than 80km/h on lane one in normal conditions is hogging to me.. I don't reason with some theories that as long as the car behind you is faster than you, you should give way though.. If I'm doing 120 on lane 1 and a bugger happily travels at 160, why should I give way?? Of course if the roads on lane 2 is clear, I would, if it's hell bz, do you think I will risk getting into an accident just to give way to that car? Just see, I'll have to slow down to less den 90 for you to get into lane 2 so that I can let you through? If the driver behind is in a hurry, I believe they will definitely find alternative ways to overtake me.. I think some of you have deviated from the initial discussion on road hoggers.. In my view, road hoggers are people who deliberately travel at speeds slower than the norm speed, which I would generally say around 100-110km/h for lane 1, 80-90km/h on lane 2.. Anyone who wants to go faster have to find their way past me.. I usually travel at 110-120 on lane 1, and when I come up to a solitary car with no cars in front doing 90km/h on lane 1, I would just overtake him and get on my way, if lane 2 is busy and I can't even cut into it myself, do you think the car infront of you can do so?? But still, I'd still keep a safe distance mind you even if I cant overtake him on the left, not like some buggers who high beam, horn and tailgate.. I've been guilty of tailgating at times, never resorted to high beaming or horning though, (i think that is lame, wat is the high beam for? To warn others of an impending accident? Or to let you know limpeh is travelling faster den u and I wanna get thru? and do you even know what the horn is for?) thinking about it, I felt guilty to have tailgated, lucky no accidents as yet.. So, please guys, before you even think of doing these, please spare a thought for others first.. Road hoggers, love them hate them, but on SG roads, you just cant miss them.. I think you do not see the light bro. It is the precise atttitude that I'm already travelling fast so why should I give way mentality that constitutes road hogging. Lane 1 for all purposes is an overtaking lane, so even if you do 120kmh and the car behind closes in at 160kmh, why shouldn't you give way? But I do concour that you should not risk an accident just to yield. Best thing is to signal your intention and the car behind backs off a lilttle. Everyone is happy. In local context people highbeam to remind u ....a horn is more agrresive. Ideally no one wants to do either. But if 2 wrongs don't make a right, what do we have to btich about? The guy in front is a dick. The one behind trying to overtake is an a-----e. So if we could ALL be a bit morew gracious, bo problem liow mah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Concur.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 not so bro..... if ppl behind 1 2 b snap, let them b n let them thru. ok hamburger bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalsubzero Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 (edited) i can onli conclude tat u r a selfish road hogger............ I don't see myself as a road hogger.. Why? Maybe I didnt make myself clear enough.. Well, I don't need you guys to judge me anyways.. Hogger? U mean u've never hogged the road before? U guys dutifully change lanes to let another bugger overtake u on every instance? C'mon, u'll have to take the road conditions into consideration, no? Yes, I usually travel at 110 up and usually go straight for lane 1, I'm sure alot of people does dat? If it is not on a bz stretch of road, you think I will purposely block someone travelling faster? Point is, usually at 110 I'm overtaking most if not all cars on lane 2.. If I do see someone chasing down by back from miles away and I have enough time to manoeuvre to the left, which also means to slow down and try to merge into lane 2's speed, I will.. Alot of you guys are racers I suppose? In SG context, as most roads have an influx of cars especially at peak periods, it simply doesnt make sense to be driving much faster than 120km/h.. Yes, u can argue, it's my car, I tio summon also my tai ji, I wanna go how fast u huan lo for wat.. But den how do u expect us to change lanes if you don't give us enough time or when lane 2 has much slower traffic and I cant cut in? Usually when a much faster car moves in quickly, I will speed up a little, and if I'm still not fast enough, I will still change lanes, PROVIDED I DON'T PUT MYSELF OR MY CAR AT RISK.. If u guys like to argue lane 1 is for overtaking, aren't I overtaking most of the vehicles on lane 2 by travelling on lane 1? Common sense will tell u, u don't need to travel at 160 to be overtaking much slower traffic at lane 2.. If lane 1's sole purpose is for overtaking, den no1 should be allowed more den 10 secs on it? Like someone suggested? Doesnt it make more sense? If u wanna be travelling at 160, do so in NSHW or ur grandfather's road, or when it's night and there is not much traffic.. I agree with Lex250, everyone just be a little patient and drive safely can liao.. If u really wanna speed, leave it to the tracks.. I'm not saying u cant speed, becuz it's non of my business wat u wanna do with ur life or your car.. But why should we inconvenience ourself at the sake of conveniencing you? There's always a give and take.. So if ure sipeh rich, ur car sipeh tok gong, and u dun care summon or wat, and u got more den 24points, and u drive like nobody's business, should everyone on the road give way to u? U guys reasoning is that as long as Im faster I'm correct, I have the right to be in this lane, the blardy slow poke in front MUST give way.. So, if you travel at 160km/h, and ure already overtaking most people on lane 2 and 3, and a bugger decides to go one up and travel at 180km/h, u should just suck ur thumb and slow down (to speeds lower den 90?) to merge into lane 2 just so that racer can get through? Am I right to say that? I know I'd still get stick for my comments, becuz wannabe racers are wannabe racers.. Edited August 7, 2009 by Metalsubzero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 (edited) i think it is both correct to say that if a car behind is faster, then the one in front should give way else constitute road hogging. but on the other hand, there is a limit to how fast a car can safely travel on lane 1. so if the car coming from behind is way too fast, e.g. 180km.hr, dont expect the cars in front to speed up even faster, cos it is not safe anymore. So in this situation, the cars in front is not necessary road hogging. In other words, road hogging is both relative and absolute. Edited August 7, 2009 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windcloud03 Neutral Newbie August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Wow, it's getting a little hot in here... Anyway, to give my 2 cents worth of road hoggers, I think this issue is not so serious on expressways but more on roads. Usually, I say usually based on my observations, these hoggers are the elderly drivers or newbies who are not quite sure on these roads. A friendly horn should usually alert them. I must admit I am quite a rash driver myself. Recently there is a report on drivers who tend to drive faster with young children on board started me thinking on speeding. Speeding, total inverse of Hogging is as important to road users. I would still give Hoggers a chance if I see them. Calm down and overtake and get on with your journey. No need to get mad. Another recent advert on getting home safely perfectly illustrates this point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 been a lurker here for a while but saw this thread bth create account to post also hehe. Road hoggers have been the bane of my life since i started driving. But then again, you cant really blame them cuz they have their on view points too. So what i do nowadays, if the next car infront of me refuses to give way even though the front is clear, i will go infront of that car and drive at 60 or even 40. I am within the speed limits, the car on my left so fast how can i filter in safely? I want to save earth and petrol so cannot accelerate fast to filter in the left lane to give way. So bo bian i must not break the 90kmh law and stay in the right lane lor. What is the 5-10minutes you waste by travelling at 40 instead of 90? Cannot take it then take MRT lor... Giving each hogger a taste of his own medicine, one at a time! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalsubzero Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 U know alot of problems in this forum is with selective reading.. Many a times, people can quote a whole chunk of text and a bugger can happily just highlight one sentence and flame ppl with negative remarks based on that.. And many of us (read us, I'm guilty too) not only does selective reading, but also jump into conclusion too fast.. What's our purpose here? To share experiences and hopefully curb road hoggers and understand why they hog and discuss whether it is right or wrong and how we deal with them, or are we here to flame each other and point fingers at one another? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalsubzero Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Wow, it's getting a little hot in here... Anyway, to give my 2 cents worth of road hoggers, I think this issue is not so serious on expressways but more on roads. Usually, I say usually based on my observations, these hoggers are the elderly drivers or newbies who are not quite sure on these roads. A friendly horn should usually alert them. I must admit I am quite a rash driver myself. Recently there is a report on drivers who tend to drive faster with young children on board started me thinking on speeding. Speeding, total inverse of Hogging is as important to road users. I would still give Hoggers a chance if I see them. Calm down and overtake and get on with your journey. No need to get mad. Another recent advert on getting home safely perfectly illustrates this point. I totally agree with your your last sentences on calming down and overtaking.. But I think on normal roads, isnt it even more dangerous to be speeding? There's so many other things to look out for compared to travelling on the expressways.. Well, I always believe at going at the speed which the road conditions allow you to.. No point travelling too fast or too slow.. It all boils down to road courtesy and graciousness in the end.. Without it, even if you're not a road hogger, u're still a nuisance to the general driving community.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalsubzero Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 i think it is both correct to say that if a car behind is faster, then the one in front should give way else constitute road hogging. but on the other hand, there is a limit to how fast a car can safely travel on lane 1. so if the car coming from behind is way too fast, e.g. 180km.hr, dont expect the cars in front to speed up even faster, cos it is not safe anymore. So in this situation, the cars in front is not necessary road hogging. In other words, road hogging is both relative and absolute. Wah, u can sum up what I say in a few sentences.. LOL.. Paiseh, I too lor sor liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Wah, u can sum up what I say in a few sentences.. LOL.. Paiseh, I too lor sor liao.. i do that for my occupation ... teach. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 I don't see myself as a road hogger.. Why? Maybe I didnt make myself clear enough.. Well, I don't need you guys to judge me anyways.. Hogger? U mean u've never hogged the road before? U guys dutifully change lanes to let another bugger overtake u on every instance? C'mon, u'll have to take the road conditions into consideration, no? Yes, I usually travel at 110 up and usually go straight for lane 1, I'm sure alot of people does dat? If it is not on a bz stretch of road, you think I will purposely block someone travelling faster? Point is, usually at 110 I'm overtaking most if not all cars on lane 2.. If I do see someone chasing down by back from miles away and I have enough time to manoeuvre to the left, which also means to slow down and try to merge into lane 2's speed, I will.. Alot of you guys are racers I suppose? In SG context, as most roads have an influx of cars especially at peak periods, it simply doesnt make sense to be driving much faster than 120km/h.. Yes, u can argue, it's my car, I tio summon also my tai ji, I wanna go how fast u huan lo for wat.. But den how do u expect us to change lanes if you don't give us enough time or when lane 2 has much slower traffic and I cant cut in? Usually when a much faster car moves in quickly, I will speed up a little, and if I'm still not fast enough, I will still change lanes, PROVIDED I DON'T PUT MYSELF OR MY CAR AT RISK.. If u guys like to argue lane 1 is for overtaking, aren't I overtaking most of the vehicles on lane 2 by travelling on lane 1? Common sense will tell u, u don't need to travel at 160 to be overtaking much slower traffic at lane 2.. If lane 1's sole purpose is for overtaking, den no1 should be allowed more den 10 secs on it? Like someone suggested? Doesnt it make more sense? If u wanna be travelling at 160, do so in NSHW or ur grandfather's road, or when it's night and there is not much traffic.. I agree with Lex250, everyone just be a little patient and drive safely can liao.. If u really wanna speed, leave it to the tracks.. I'm not saying u cant speed, becuz it's non of my business wat u wanna do with ur life or your car.. But why should we inconvenience ourself at the sake of conveniencing you? There's always a give and take.. So if ure sipeh rich, ur car sipeh tok gong, and u dun care summon or wat, and u got more den 24points, and u drive like nobody's business, should everyone on the road give way to u? U guys reasoning is that as long as Im faster I'm correct, I have the right to be in this lane, the blardy slow poke in front MUST give way.. So, if you travel at 160km/h, and ure already overtaking most people on lane 2 and 3, and a bugger decides to go one up and travel at 180km/h, u should just suck ur thumb and slow down (to speeds lower den 90?) to merge into lane 2 just so that racer can get through? Am I right to say that? I know I'd still get stick for my comments, becuz wannabe racers are wannabe racers.. Hi Bro, Chill chill it's a forum so let's look at things from a duscussion perspective and not name calling or cat fight way. You have your views but others will have theirs. So in the forum we debate about them. I actually got a lot fo things to say but I have been sitting on this reply and thought the crux of the matter is this: We tend to always look and expect others to give way before we replicate the behaviour. Why does this need to be so? Why can't things start with me? Maybe I should hold the lift instead or pressing the door close button when I hear/see people coming. Why don't I let people off the MRT first before going in? Notice these are things that are not legally mandated but a form of social courtesy. I find that in your replies you indicated you will yield when the situation warrants it. Well done mate. I do too. If I am doing 120 and the guy coming from behind is going a lot faster (whatever his car make), I will yield. If I cannot, I will speed up and find a gap to merge. I am inconveincing myself I know. Call me dumb, i waste petrol accerlerting then finding a gap to yield and slowing down agn in the process. I do not know why the other person needs to drive so fast...perhaps his wife is due? Perhaps he rushing to see his relative one last time before they pass on? The reasons are endless, some valid some not. But I do not presume he just likes to race. I hope I don't rub you off the wrong way bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 bro. you dont look like a hogger to me. But you sure is one of those self-centred driver on the road. i can tell you i am not road hogger at all, when i want to drive relaxing, i will take the slow lane. never miss once. when i drive at lane 1 at 120km/h or sometimes above, i still can find someone drive faster than me from my rear mirror. i will definitely change lane to lane two and slow down, wait for the fast driver to pass then change back to lane 1 again (in fact, i encountered quite a few give way to me also in this way). I never think i am rightfully to stay at lane 1 because i am driving "very fast" liao. please understand that for ppl to overtake you from slower lane is way more dangerous than overtake you from fast lane (isnt this a common sense?). and by self justify yourself that you are rightfully to stay at lane 1, you put other motorists' life at risk because you forced the driver at the back doing this kind of dangerous act. in fact, you become the indirect culprit if there is any accident involved in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalsubzero Clutched August 7, 2009 Share August 7, 2009 Hi Bro, Chill chill it's a forum so let's look at things from a duscussion perspective and not name calling or cat fight way. You have your views but others will have theirs. So in the forum we debate about them. I actually got a lot fo things to say but I have been sitting on this reply and thought the crux of the matter is this: We tend to always look and expect others to give way before we replicate the behaviour. Why does this need to be so? Why can't things start with me? Maybe I should hold the lift instead or pressing the door close button when I hear/see people coming. Why don't I let people off the MRT first before going in? Notice these are things that are not legally mandated but a form of social courtesy. I find that in your replies you indicated you will yield when the situation warrants it. Well done mate. I do too. If I am doing 120 and the guy coming from behind is going a lot faster (whatever his car make), I will yield. If I cannot, I will speed up and find a gap to merge. I am inconveincing myself I know. Call me dumb, i waste petrol accerlerting then finding a gap to yield and slowing down agn in the process. I do not know why the other person needs to drive so fast...perhaps his wife is due? Perhaps he rushing to see his relative one last time before they pass on? The reasons are endless, some valid some not. But I do not presume he just likes to race. I hope I don't rub you off the wrong way bro. Urm, I hope I didnt offend anyone, and did I resort to name calling? I hope I didnt, I only see myself quoting some as "racers".. Well, maybe I am wrong.. I did not fully think about the need for some to speed.. I thus retract my wrong labelling of these people as "racers" I totally agree with u.. Yes, the way u put it sounds nicer, I will yield when the situation warrants it.. LOL.. Well, I'm not good with words.. Nope u didnt rub me off the wrong way.. I believe it is comments from bros like you that makes imperfect drivers like me think through and probably repent.. It's certainly better than most finger-pointing, flaming individuals we have in this forum.. (I'm not saying all.. BUt there are some black sheeps..) I just hope to learn from you guys and take in watever is good and reflect upon my own behaviour and not to rub people off the wrong way.. I had my say, I know my remarks are flame-inducing, so well, I'd just see what other things I can reflect upon.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...