Road Hoggers love them or Hate them?

Ellf

WAhahahah..... nice one! [thumbsup]

rephrase nicely la.... "Speeder" sound so punk.

instead, say we "give-way" to faster vehicles [grouphug]

Oh yah [lipsrsealed] !

Me "Giver-of-Way" [bounce2]

To give you a very very straight forward primary school level answer, my views are neutral. I don't love nor hate. Why should I love or hate a hogger?

Like to a pri school kid I don't have time and effort to explain everything. Go read up yourself.

Judging by your postings, You a hogger yourself !! what neutral...b-------t...come on, 90% of ppl here cant be wrong right? we try to educate you here but you seem stubborn, well, maybe e outside world will "teach" you the correct way one day....

need someone to teach him a lesson on the road. Some ppl need to learn a hard way in order to learn. Soft approach dun work for some ppl

You're right there bro, some people just need to learn from the school of hard knocks...like the lady in your avatar!! Whatever happened to her by the way?? Looked like a really bad fall man, but very funny all the same! Did she survive? [speechless]

he's living in "self-denial"

Hi there! Wasn't even addessing you in my post but you seem to have very rigid views about this topic. I'm not saying that if one drives faster than most others, he is the King of the Road. It is a ridiculous statement!

So holding up traffic by driving at your own leisurely pace on Lane 1, and not giving way to faster traffic s the correct way to ride? Sounds more like "King of the Road" behaviour to me [thumbsdown] !!

And always this recommendation to take public transport. Bro, that is NOT a solution what! We complain because we drive, if we don't drive, complain for what?!?

One thing I agree though, this topic can talk forever also no resolution lah. Let's face it, hoggers will be hoggers, speeders will be speeders. We will never see eye to eye. It's the way of the world [shakehead]

Me Speeder [drivingcar][:p]

As I have said before, this kind of thread will never close case. We can sit, talk and eat until all the biscuits finished and still will not be able to come to a conclusion.

The only way is just get used to it. Ask yourself, you are born in SG, too bad. We have all kinds of pples over in SG. Have to learn to respect and share with others including road usage. Complain so much for what... End of the day, what you do? Buy the road over and ban all slow drivers? Still have to LL and drive on the day.

Its just another day for you on the road. Period.

Me uncle... Always driving on lane 2, seldom lane 1. now old liao... Just to make sure I reached home with my legs n hands plus my head intact.

Me hogger loh since I am old and slow driving. Can say I not into fast speed since old and slow reactions.hahaha. But one thing, I am always with a clear mind when comes to claiming full car insurances. :)

So what's next? Are we going to debate that old drivers should not be on the road after this thread is closed? Oops

Edited by Apvman

that's the reason we shouldn't get all work up when someone is slower in lane 1 it could be an uncle or even a grandpa does that mean these ppl doesn't deserve to be on sg roads because they are not that fast to keep up......

slow is their problem.

they can go at 60 in any other lanes they happy can liao.

my dad also old but he dont hog lane 1 what.

maybe some dont do it on purpose it's okay nobody gonna kill them lol.

but when kena high beam they should zi dong abit right?

[confused]

You guys have made some very good points here. Including Apvman...you have my respect sir! But like the li'l pink giraffe with wings sez (sorry, your nick is kinda hard to type out!), old people have every right to use the road, but they still need to be considerate towards others who may genuinely be in an emergency, or just simply enjoy driving fast!

It doesn't matter what the reason is, if ya wanna go slow, no one's saying you can't, just move over to lane 2 or 3, and let the fast ones have their fun!

the argument put forth that road hogging is a part of the traffic situation here, and therefore should just accept it, is utterly flawed. road hogging is fundamentally wrong because firstly it poses as a road hazard to drivers, and secondly it inconveniences other drivers and is an inconsiderate behavior. To say that just because road hogging will always be in existence and so we have just got to accept it and not do anything about it (thru education and raising awareness) , is as indifferent and unsensible a reasoning can be.

might as well say that in a society there will always be crime (petty or not) and so we should not hate it or do anything about it, just live with it, since we are part of the society , ala occupying the same road.

i cant believe this kind of logic can come from someone senior enough to claim to be an uncle, myself mid forties really cannot imagine someone equivalent can have so little sense.

Edited by Vextan

As I have said before, this kind of thread will never close case. We can sit, talk and eat until all the biscuits finished and still will not be able to come to a conclusion.

The only way is just get used to it. Ask yourself, you are born in SG, too bad. We have all kinds of pples over in SG. Have to learn to respect and share with others including road usage. Complain so much for what... End of the day, what you do? Buy the road over and ban all slow drivers? Still have to LL and drive on the day.

Its just another day for you on the road. Period.

Me uncle... Always driving on lane 2, seldom lane 1. now old liao... Just to make sure I reached home with my legs n hands plus my head intact.

Me hogger loh since I am old and slow driving. Can say I not into fast speed since old and slow reactions.hahaha. But one thing, I am always with a clear mind when comes to claiming full car insurances. :)

So what's next? Are we going to debate that old drivers should not be on the road after this thread is closed? Oops

this kind of thread will end.

when TP enforces "no hogging" rules

[bounce1] [bounce1] [bounce1]

You guys have made some very good points here. Including Apvman...you have my respect sir! But like the li'l pink giraffe with wings sez (sorry, your nick is kinda hard to type out!), old people have every right to use the road, but they still need to be considerate towards others who may genuinely be in an emergency, or just simply enjoy driving fast!

It doesn't matter what the reason is, if ya wanna go slow, no one's saying you can't, just move over to lane 2 or 3, and let the fast ones have their fun!

^_^

and i totally agree with you!

Senior guys are entitled to use the road and it seems that no one is taking issue on this. At times I was angry with hoggers but i immediately cool down once I saw white hair. However, I must say that I hardly see senior folks driving on lane 1 and hogging all the way except taxi drivers who, I believe, got a high by doing so.

Edited by Tourdefrance

For folks who were travelling KPE towards ECP at about 8.40-50am reaching ECP this morning, did you see a silver altis travelling at 60km/hr in lane 1 all the way?

Nope. Don't travel by the KPE anyway but no matter which way you drive, there are sure to be hoggers everywhere! We see them whenever we drive and because of this thread, I've grown more aware of the nuisance they cause on our roads, but strangely, I've also grown more tolerant of their ridiculous driving habits. I guess it's inevitable so why strees yourself out so much?

Hmm, pretty interesting eh this topic.. For me, I'm quite neutral too.. How do u define hogger? I don't like hoggers, no, when they're travelling at 80-90km/hr on lane 1.. Anything lesser than 80km/h on lane one in normal conditions is hogging to me.. I don't reason with some theories that as long as the car behind you is faster than you, you should give way though.. If I'm doing 120 on lane 1 and a bugger happily travels at 160, why should I give way?? Of course if the roads on lane 2 is clear, I would, if it's hell bz, do you think I will risk getting into an accident just to give way to that car? Just see, I'll have to slow down to less den 90 for you to get into lane 2 so that I can let you through?

If the driver behind is in a hurry, I believe they will definitely find alternative ways to overtake me..

I think some of you have deviated from the initial discussion on road hoggers.. In my view, road hoggers are people who deliberately travel at speeds slower than the norm speed, which I would generally say around 100-110km/h for lane 1, 80-90km/h on lane 2.. Anyone who wants to go faster have to find their way past me.. I usually travel at 110-120 on lane 1, and when I come up to a solitary car with no cars in front doing 90km/h on lane 1, I would just overtake him and get on my way, if lane 2 is busy and I can't even cut into it myself, do you think the car infront of you can do so??

But still, I'd still keep a safe distance mind you even if I cant overtake him on the left, not like some buggers who high beam, horn and tailgate.. I've been guilty of tailgating at times, never resorted to high beaming or horning though, (i think that is lame, wat is the high beam for? To warn others of an impending accident? Or to let you know limpeh is travelling faster den u and I wanna get thru? and do you even know what the horn is for?) thinking about it, I felt guilty to have tailgated, lucky no accidents as yet.. So, please guys, before you even think of doing these, please spare a thought for others first..

Road hoggers, love them hate them, but on SG roads, you just cant miss them..

Edited by Metalsubzero

I think there is nothing we can LEGALLY do about Road Hoggers.

For me, I just keep a constant look out for such people, when I spot them from far away I start changing lanes to overtake them peacefully while mindful of any unpreditable moves they and or others behind them may make.

This problem is NOT going to go away very soon, as it will take quite some time for Singapore's society in general (not just the motoring community) to evolve into a more cultured and well mannered people.

But I foresee more complications from the new citizens from abroad (I don't want to mention race or nationality) but their numbers are increasing and they DO NOT even know the meaning of Road Courtesy. So... clench your teeth, and drive on.