Guyver 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 Dear all, Was talking to a friend that switch from Windows Mobile to Nokia E71. He told me that it is much better than Windows Mobile which was what he was using. So would like to get some feedback here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 9:51 AM, Guyver said: Dear all, Was talking to a friend that switch from Windows Mobile to Nokia E71. He told me that it is much better than Windows Mobile which was what he was using. So would like to get some feedback here. For me, it's Symbian for the win....... it easy, straight forward to install and use........ what you can install, you can use..... for WIN Mo.... errrrrr..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 I use Android Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 Symbian [thumbsup] Iphone [thumbsup] Use both. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 9:56 AM, Nlatio said: For me, it's Symbian for the win....... it easy, straight forward to install and use........ what you can install, you can use..... for WIN Mo.... errrrrr..... Right on. I have owned both WM and Symbian phones before and I can objectively tell everyone that Symbian wins hands down. WM fanboys probably haven't tried Symbian or they haven't really tried getting some serious work done on their WM gadgets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Author Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 9:56 AM, Hub_n_mona said: I use Android Hi, Yes .... I saw HTC got a new HTC Magic ..... OS is Android ..... could you kindly feedback your experience here with Android? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Author Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 10:21 AM, Mazdaowner said: Symbian [thumbsup] Iphone [thumbsup] Use both. Hey bro, Called you the other day and you say you don't remember me ..... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruzmidah 2nd Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 Hmmm... Does symbian, Mac, Blackberry and android support word documents? cos some word doc i would like to access on the go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iamying Neutral Newbie June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 (edited) been using symbian for more than 10years. tried winmo and iphone..i can say that symbian wins hands down imho. windows mobile is just too laggy, yes it has a faster processor but at the expense of batt life. the thing with winmo is when u exit a program, it doesnt really exit, it stays on the background therefore consuming battery, you will only be able to exit the program using the task manager. Iphone is just dumb, it doesnt have a built in task manager. so when u're chatting away on msn and an sms comes in, you open the message only to find out that ur msn program has been killed. LOL. Symbian while on the otherhand, has a built in task manager. easily accessible by holding on to the menu button which will bring up all the icons of your running progs thus allowing u to toggle between programs. kill with either the backspace button or C. The 369mhz nokia E71 will outperform that 500mhz winmo phone anytime. there's so many good things abt symbian phones. excellent batt life even when on wireless. definitely more than 12 hrs of wireless usage without the need to recharge you could do all the things as you would on a winmo phone. plus many more. tons of applications to choose from. gps,web broswer, mp3 player, games. online streaming tv, youtube, msn messenger, radio, word, excel, ppt and many more.! simple and easy interface. Edited June 6, 2009 by Iamying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 10:58 AM, Guyver said: Hi, Yes .... I saw HTC got a new HTC Magic ..... OS is Android ..... could you kindly feedback your experience here with Android? HTC is crap. I was using the HTC Touch Cruise, dumped it after 3 months, so much problems, hang, calls cannot go out, answer calls, cannot hear caller, etc... serious, a lot of HTC users also kpkb. Maybe I suay, if I on for long periods, never turn off, sure got problems one, have to turn off and on again then ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 10:58 AM, Guyver said: Hey bro, Called you the other day and you say you don't remember me ..... [laugh] knn, you ar, now I see avatar I know lah. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 11:14 AM, Iamying said: been using symbian for more than 10years. tried winmo and iphone..i can say that symbian wins hands down imho. windows mobile is just too laggy, yes it has a faster processor but at the expense of batt life. the thing with winmo is when u exit a program, it doesnt really exit, it stays on the background therefore consuming battery, you will only be able to exit the program using the task manager. Iphone is just dumb, it doesnt have a built in task manager. so when u're chatting away on msn and an sms comes in, you open the message only to find out that ur msn program has been killed. LOL. Symbian while on the otherhand, has a built in task manager. easily accessible by holding on to the menu button which will bring up all the icons of your running progs thus allowing u to toggle between programs. kill with either the backspace button or C. The 369mhz nokia E71 will outperform that 500mhz winmo phone anytime. there's so many good things abt symbian phones. excellent batt life even when on wireless. definitely more than 12 hrs of wireless usage without the need to recharge you could do all the things as you would on a winmo phone. plus many more. tons of applications to choose from. gps,web broswer, mp3 player, games. online streaming tv, youtube, msn messenger, radio, word, excel, ppt and many more.! simple and easy interface. if u dont know how to use apple os, dont say the iphone dumb. iphone will simply kick their a$$ easily. jailbreak it & find the right appt, the problem u talk about is solve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iamying Neutral Newbie June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 (edited) On 6/6/2009 at 12:25 PM, Iliketodrive said: if u dont know how to use apple os, dont say the iphone dumb. iphone will simply kick their a$$ easily. jailbreak it & find the right appt, the problem u talk about is solve. why bother using 3rd party apps just to toggle through apps when it should have been built-in in the 1st place? and fyi i have used iphone and the only thing thats constantly worrying me is to see the battery life depleting like there's no tomorrow..definitely not for those who are heavy users. iphone = fancy remake of the ipod touch thats why its lacking so many features that should have been built in. not everybody here is a tech geek. Edited June 6, 2009 by Iamying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 To be fair I think the iphone's great. If only it comes with an attached qwerty keyboard like the E71.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 On 6/6/2009 at 12:55 PM, Leslielai said: To be fair I think the iphone's great. If only it comes with an attached qwerty keyboard like the E71.. Yeah, I agree, if only for a keyboard. But overall a great phone to use, specially for older folks like myself bigger screen can see better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowbell Neutral Newbie June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 used to be on symbian os (SE G900),yes able to read MS word. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 Agree. iPhone should have thought about all that before the OS is released. Anyway, with the version 3.0 OS to be released soon, iphone is becoming a serious phone, MID, mobile email and toy. New iPhone 2,1 to be launched 17th July (to be announce at WWDC 8th June) will be setting new benchmark again. Concerning the poor battery life, find me a phone with 320x240 resolution in 3.5" screen that matches iPhone's battery life. The large screen is one of the culprit that drains its batt life. But with ver 2.1 upgrade, battery life has generally been improved a lot. I'm using both iphone 3G and Blackberry Bold... seriously, iphone's batt life is longer than BB Bold. But i simply love blackberry's email user experience. For hardcore email on the go users, blackberry is the only way to go. Not even the iphone can match. For a new phone with a huge potential to beat WinMo, iPhone OS, Symbian S60, Android, etc.... it'll be the Palm Pre WebOS. Does everything the iphone does, plus a physical keyboard, multi tasking, etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched June 7, 2009 Share June 7, 2009 Currently using WM phone. Tried using e Nokia E71 for a week or so, but have e following issues: 1) I need a powerful PIM (eg. Pocket Informant for WM), e closest I found for Symbian is e "Handy" stuff, which isnt veri good IMHO. Do u guys have any suggestions? 2) Threaded msging! Top priority for me as I have to deal wif many "unknown" numbers. E one I tried isnt veri good. After e lack of this 2 items, I had to guai guai change back to my WM phone despite its shortfalls Now considering Blackberry, just e lack of Excel which is causing a small issue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...