Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 4, 2009 Share June 4, 2009 If intending to work overseas for a long period of a few years.... which option would make more sense: a. Sell car in Singapore, go overseas and buy another car. b. Export car to destination and continue using same car. How much does it cost to export a car overseas? Any hidden costs? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auto_emocion 2nd Gear June 4, 2009 Share June 4, 2009 If intending to work overseas for a long period of a few years.... which option would make more sense: a. Sell car in Singapore, go overseas and buy another car. b. Export car to destination and continue using same car. How much does it cost to export a car overseas? Any hidden costs? Admin fee is abt 800 bucks, not including freight and destination LOLO charges.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Author Share June 5, 2009 Admin fee is abt 800 bucks, not including freight and destination LOLO charges.. Hey, thanks for reply... how can I find out freight and destination LOLO charges ? (What are LOLO charges)? Any other charges I would face? What kind of documentation needed? Is there some website that lists this info? Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_benz Clutched June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 You want to export your car to which country? Port of Discharge? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Author Share June 5, 2009 Melbourne, Australia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 What are LOLO charges? Have you never heard of Google? Try this: http://www.google.com.sg/search?sourceid=n...p;q=LOLO+charge You want to research the matter but are too lazy when pointed in the initial direction and just want to be spoonfed? Then just pay someone to export the car for you in that case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_benz Clutched June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 Ship To Port Melbourne, in a 20FT Container, SGD$1,600. Car you need to De-register from LTA, Paper Rebates do Encashment from LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Author Share June 5, 2009 Have you never heard of Google? Try this: http://www.google.com.sg/search?sourceid=n...p;q=LOLO+charge You want to research the matter but are too lazy when pointed in the initial direction and just want to be spoonfed? Then just pay someone to export the car for you in that case. Thank you for the information. You can always ignore if you do not like people asking questions. Not necessary to be rude. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Author Share June 5, 2009 Ship To Port Melbourne, in a 20FT Container, SGD$1,600. Car you need to De-register from LTA, Paper Rebates do Encashment from LTA. I see... so, I would expect to spend something like $800 admin fee $1600 container fee $XXX Aussie taxes + other fees, etc and get some deregistration rebate from SG govt. Hmm... so it does seem quite an interesting idea to export the car, rather than sell here and buy another there. Thanks for the info! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Share June 5, 2009 Thank you for the information. You can always ignore if you do not like people asking questions. Not necessary to be rude. Being factual is being rude? Why so defensive? It must be because you are indeed too lazy to do some research. You have all the questions, but want someone to answer it for you. Are you very special? Those questions are not trade secrets. They answers are readily found if you can be bothered to look. eg What is LOLO charges. If you have a thin skin then do not ask questions in an open forum. You attitude is further reflected in this thread: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2638940 Basically you are saying: why LTA implement change in traffic flow direction never tell YOU PERSONALLY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 5, 2009 Author Share June 5, 2009 still such a rude boy.... must be your upbringing. No wonder they say Singaporeans lack graciousness. Never mind, hope you will grow up one day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 you also need to get the car approved by their local LTA-equivalent (can't remember leow), as well as clear their customs regulations. if kenna rejected, then lppl u got to either ship it back to sg, or destroy it (at your own expense) http://www.customs.gov.au/site/page.cfm?u=4371 one most important thing, are u a resident/pr? if not, cannot leh.. i also got this thought.. then saw this.. sian 1/2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 i mean, citizen/pr can import.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Author Share June 6, 2009 that's a good link.. thanks. oh.... just work there seems not able to import cars... that's too bad. Must become their citizen/PR... well.... that's torn that idea.... hmm.. looks like the alternative idea of selling here and buying another one over there may have to be used. Thanks all for the help! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 Ship To Port Melbourne, in a 20FT Container, SGD$1,600. Car you need to De-register from LTA, Paper Rebates do Encashment from LTA. bro, curious, S$1,600 for the shipping from SG to AU, or is it just the container charges? i read on some forum someone done it before and the whole thing inclusive of shipping costed him about S$12k. i didn't get validate this though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 if its only temporary, u can still ship it over and drive.. but u must ship it back to SG later on.. u can apply for this. Carnet De Passages En Douane. AAS got this service, check out under the link in value added services http://www.aas.com.sg/?show=content&sh...ew=8&val=8# do your math.. maybe still worth to ship there and then back, comparing to losing till pants drop by selling your car in SG prematurely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear June 6, 2009 Author Share June 6, 2009 wow! $12K. If that's true, certainly sounds not worth it! I was thinking of this idea 'cos an Aussie I know who is working in UK right now, was considering shipping back his car to Oz, and said it was going to cost a few thousand Euros only. And then some payments to Oz LTA. It would be cheaper for him to do so rather than sell his car in UK for almost no value, and then buy another in Oz. That got me to consider the same from SG. But not sure if our export costs and restrictions are worse than in UK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear June 6, 2009 Share June 6, 2009 No point lah, cars here in Melbourne are cheap, why bother and goes through all the hassle in importing? You still need to register with Vicroad and get a road worthy cert before you can drive here. Anyway, what car you intend to export to Melbourne? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...