Nissan Sylphy Feedbacks Please

Sazali

Actually i noticed more b&b cars now than when prices were high. Guess many buyers have this mindset of "topping up $xxK can get a better brand/car" when prices were high. If price dropped for a car that one wish to buy, isn't it good since he can save that few $k? :)

Precisely. Another thinking is that, "Since already paying $100k, why not top up abit more for something better."

But normally that "abit" is not really abit haha.... Like eg i heard ppl say instead of Altis, why not topup $xxk to get A3? Think angmoh chia still got a much stronger appeal afterall :)

Haha that one normal. Non-stop one if you look at it that way, end up looking at a Merc A-Class already.

Abit maybe considering that total amount is 6 figure, so maybe afew K is abit. Haha. Somemore all these "angmo chia" doesn't stop at the sale of the car, servicing and maintenance is also "angmo" rate hor.

Oh yes i noticed that too. Can anyone here owning the 1st few batches confirm on that?

Btw my center console cup holder does not have retractable cover. According to SE, they removed tat feature for all recent n future production. Hmm even this also want cut cost?

ya mine also no sliding cover. However, if you really put a bottle or cup there, the sliding also redundant lah. you won't be able to close it either.

Haha that one normal. Non-stop one if you look at it that way, end up looking at a Merc A-Class already.

Abit maybe considering that total amount is 6 figure, so maybe afew K is abit. Haha. Somemore all these "angmo chia" doesn't stop at the sale of the car, servicing and maintenance is also "angmo" rate hor.

Wanted to praise but not enough points :p fully agreed on your thoughts abt the upgrading and maintenance!

ya mine also no sliding cover. However, if you really put a bottle or cup there, the sliding also redundant lah. you won't be able to close it either.

Ya true. But most of the time i don't put bottle or cup there so the 2 "holes" will be there permanently haha...

Yes, Eco mode makes the throttle less sensitive. It sounds silly to buy a turbo car and use Eco but that is exactly my intention for now, due to change in my status. I don't trust my foot all the time. The Eco mode force me to adapt.

For me, it is the standard premium with no further alteration to the engine parts. The switch from VVTi in Altis to CVT in Sylphy was drastic. I was used to cruise consistently at constant speed while keeping my right foot constant. Till I read on the local Shell website that the efficient way is to release the trottle to let it glide before tapping again to let it glide (of course not uphill). Once u get into the habit, it gets quite addictive trying to maintain 90-100kmh at an RPM of 1500 with the we econo bar maintaining in the green. Sometimes I hit 120 while maintaining at 2000rpm. But I stopped doing so, because at one time, my ride was so smooth that I didn't feel like it was 120kmh. That's dangerous.

Im a 60 urban-40 highway. So I'm happy to hit 14kmL on weekday peak periods. Weekend tend to improve at 14-15 kmL

Edited by Cicada1810

Hi all.

For a Signature Series 1.8l, at half tank, does it consume up to 200km of petrol? I find the consumption abit high.

On my first tank after the refuelling indicator lit, i travelled for another 40km. After top-up, I found that it was only 42litres empty...alamak, like what most said, the fuel indicator sibei kiasi..Haaa.

As for the duo rewards, i also did not get it....Posted on TC's Facebook

Hope to hear on your consumption soon. tks.

For me, it is the standard premium with no further alteration to the engine parts. The switch from VVTi in Altis to CVT in Sylphy was drastic. I was used to cruise consistently at constant speed while keeping my right foot constant. Till I read on the local Shell website that the efficient way is to release the trottle to let it glide before tapping again to let it glide (of course not uphill). Once u get into the habit, it gets quite addictive trying to maintain 90-100kmh at an RPM of 1500 with the we econo bar maintaining in the green. Sometimes I hit 120 while maintaining at 2000rpm. But I stopped doing so, because at one time, my ride was so smooth that I didn't feel like it was 120kmh. That's dangerous.

Im a 60 urban-40 highway. So I'm happy to hit 14kmL on weekday peak periods. Weekend tend to improve at 14-15 kmL

Can share the Shell link?

Hi all.

For a Signature Series 1.8l, at half tank, does it consume up to 200km of petrol? I find the consumption abit high.

On my first tank after the refuelling indicator lit, i travelled for another 40km. After top-up, I found that it was only 42litres empty...alamak, like what most said, the fuel indicator sibei kiasi..Haaa.

As for the duo rewards, i also did not get it....Posted on TC's Facebook

Hope to hear on your consumption soon. tks.

It's perfectly normal and is caused by the design of the tank. it will taper off after indicator reaches half gauge. it does not mean that your car is inefficient.

Of course if you compare with other model eg Altis, it will take some getting used to.

the consumption of my 1.6L is about 13-14 on average since Im only 40% highway.

Top up wise, its simple.the tank capacity is 52L. At low fuel indicator,you should still have about 10L remaining in the tank.

l wouldn't push on because the lower the tank goes, the more impurities there are at the bottom of the tank. Anyway. so long as you are pumping at regular intervals like once a week, its ok.

Edited by Cicada1810

This! I just noticed from the sgcarmart review posted year 2013. Wonder why they changed it.

Haha me too! But then Altis no rear air-con leh. Aiya anyway, now got car, drive liao happy, enough for me.

my guess about this is their attempt to differentiate the premium from the 1.8 signature. Every small little thing will count. Like the 3 point seat belt, seats with such Seat belts allow collapsible reer seats. So they probably removed it and fixed it to the premium version. So if you want collapsible seats with 3 point Seatbelts, go for the 1.8. It's all about marketing

had mentioned, in my previous service, TC 'reset' my aircon to make the other blower not coming out warm air when high blast... Now ok liao, but when car just started (still cool), I on the aircon there is a wierd sound coming out... after that it goes off.

Next service will have to ask them liao. One of passenger door also cannot be closed well without a heavier slam. :lll._.::wut:

had mentioned, in my previous service, TC 'reset' my aircon to make the other blower not coming out warm air when high blast... Now ok liao, but when car just started (still cool), I on the aircon there is a wierd sound coming out... after that it goes off.

Next service will have to ask them liao. One of passenger door also cannot be closed well without a heavier slam. :lll._.::wut:

Is it the door behind driver? Mine also like that.

yes yes... mine is behind the driver. wonder why hor? probably can only consult in next service period.

Just asked SE about it, DUO only applicable for those signed with guaranteed COE. Jin eh bo? Hahah....

Your 5k mileage I can hit in less than 2 months liao.

I refer to our previous conversation regarding DUO points. Its not true that only guaranteed COE get the points.

I bought by Sylphy in apr 15 and only registered for DUO a couple of weeks later no guaranteed COE. My points were zero.

I only emailed DUO last week and gave them my licence plate number, model and my name. And on Monday, 35k+ points were credited into my account to be used by April 17.

So for the bros who still haven't got your deserved points, dun be smoked by TC. Email DUO directly for your points.

Good luck.

bought premium at 109,500 in apr when coe was 67k. Freebies included FOC 7 inch HU upgrade with BT, GPS ,etc, solar film, 2 years free servcing (excluding the default free first 10k servicing), mats, front back and reverse cams.

seems like most ADs are now taking the chance to fatten their profit margin when COE has dropped 10k since.

fren recently bought the new Jetta 1.4 TSI for 117k (only 9k more than premium sylphy). its the 'highline' version. Seems like a better value compared to other jap/korean makes of similar prices. Not so many freebies but got 45k servicing, $100 petrol voucher, and potential DSG problems [:p] ? He test drove my sylphy from upp thom to tampines ave 12 (SLE all the way) and felt that Sylphy pick up is too slow and the drive is rather boring and he can fall asleep while driving. End up with the VW. Strangely, we were both ex civic 1.8L owners... I tot there are several scenarios where the sylphy is better for our local traffic conditions due to its CVT transmission. Eg. can exit corner smoother and faster. Smoother transmission due to no gear changes. Slightly less body roll on stock conditions despite being a slightly taller car. Overall much quieter than civic. less bumpy and more comfortable too. More rear leg room and has rear air con. Personally, heard of quite a few civics to sylphy converts like myself and all seems to be happier car owners [laugh]

Just an update to share with all Sylphy owners. I just did my 10k servicing at TC LK. They have a large and spacious lounge on level 2 and 2 nice and comfy recliners and very friendly and polite staffs. Maybe, that's why i kept going back to them even though i stay in tampines.

I think I heard some bros mentioned that during the 10k servicing, need to top up some $ for fully synthetic oil. But, they told me they will upgrade to fully synthetic oil for free. Hence, i paid zero $ for my 10k servicing. Maybe its because I got the 2 years free servicing package from them when i bought the car? Anyway, I realized that they gave me 2.5 years (or 50k) worth of servicing! apparently, the 1st 10k is part of complimentary servicing for all new car purchase, and the 2 yrs maintenance package starts from 20k onwards. wow! :a-happy:

After 10k of driving my sylphy, I'm still very happy driving it. Its spacious, comfortable and quiet for me. so far, i have no issue with the performace as I normally do not drive fast. Fuel consumption has been good too. On a 70% City and 30% HW pattern, I get around 13.5km/L. On a 70% HW and 30% city pattern, I can get almost 16km/L ! My old civic 1.8L never got anything close... Though I still hear some of my frens say nissan cars very slow pick up and drinks fuel like water. :a-confused:

I quoted my previous old post is because recently i just got to sit in my fren's brand new jetta TSI 1.4. Hmm.. I was thinking conti car with turbo the interior must be nice and performance must be pretty good. Upon entering the jetta, I was quite surprise to see the interior is totally black, without any other colours of trim?? My arm touches the door and it felt hard and rough. I checked it out and realize its actually hard plastic and not leather padded? Weird? The console has a tiny screen showing radio stations with no GPS feature. No keyless entry no start/stop button? the wordings for aircon were pretty small, and the buttons were pretty small and a bit difficult to press too. No electric chair adjustments or other features too. Got bluetooth at least though. I was really surprised! I tot the interior of a conti car would be much more luxurious? Even our economical sylphy came with soft leather padded door panels. I've sat in a bmw 3 series many times, and I thought i was quite familiar with the high standards of a German branded car, but the jetta was nothing close to that...

Anyway, maybe it was the performance that attracted my fren to buy the car. So he started driving. Another surprise... The car did quite took off as fast as I thought it would? Maybe he light footed? I check the meters, he accelerate from 0 to 1k to 1.5k rpm while we were doing city driving. but we were moving quite slowly... a lot of cars actually over took us.. Then he tried to step in, at this point of time i really could hear the engine roar. In my mind i was thinking, here comes the TSI! But i was wrong, nothing much pretty happened after a 3-5 sec engine roar... Maybe he should have stepped in a little longer before the turbo kicks in and propel us forward?

Comfort wise, seats were a bit stiff like the bmw. Seats were also a bit narrow (for my fat body..) car wasn't as quiet i tot it should be. (of course its still way quieter than our old civic.) despite running on 16 inch thick tires. (well isn't it same tire size as our sylphy??)

I did test drive the jetta before, but that was sometime back when they were selling the sports version with 140 (or 160 Hp??) twin charged engines. I recalled that version was really fast! How come the current jetta is like this? But at 117k, its only less than 10k more ex than our slyphy and I can see why many people are attracted to the German brand.

Any comments?

I refer to our previous conversation regarding DUO points. Its not true that only guaranteed COE get the points.

I bought by Sylphy in apr 15 and only registered for DUO a couple of weeks later no guaranteed COE. My points were zero.

I only emailed DUO last week and gave them my licence plate number, model and my name. And on Monday, 35k+ points were credited into my account to be used by April 17.

So for the bros who still haven't got your deserved points, dun be smoked by TC. Email DUO directly for your points.

Good luck.

Bro, I also bought mine in apr 15 and reg for DUO few days ago. Mine was non guaranteed COE too. I've checked and got zero points in my account too. Thanks for the great info! I shall email DUO to get my points!

just curious any bro here ZENG your sylphy? Or what you had ZENG?

Hi

Just wondering, why would you want to do that to a brand new car and risk voiding the warranty?