Columbian78 6th Gear October 1, 2015 Share October 1, 2015 Correct me if I'm wrong. But from what I understand, the throttle controller alter's the throttle input. Hence eco mode makes the throttle less "sensitive", won't the car feel underpowered and less acceleration? P.s. 1.6T for your SSS not powerful enough for you? Fast and furious you. Yes, Eco mode makes the throttle less sensitive. It sounds silly to buy a turbo car and use Eco but that is exactly my intention for now, due to change in my status. I don't trust my foot all the time. The Eco mode force me to adapt. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eug1388 6th Gear October 1, 2015 Share October 1, 2015 there is a nissan owners group. www.sgnissan.com oops, sorry, you wanted dedicated for slyphy. Thanks,,,logged in successfully. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robtan99 1st Gear October 1, 2015 Share October 1, 2015 You go to www.duo.com.sg and sign up. You should have the duo points given. IF not check with your SA. You will earn duo points for any car purchases or servicing, For our car mart, u just need duo$9800. Normally they will give you 30k+ duo points for your car purchase. So you should be able to redeem 3 sets which can last your more than 10 years. yesterday sent my car to service also take quite sometime. Booked 10am, only can complete by 3pm+. Aircon didn't ask, just tell them the problem, they said will do a 'reset' to it. screen also did not say much say go to TPY branch will be able to check, they not able to check over there. All in all quite happy with Sylphy, just that need to get use to it. Maybe the engine seems quiet, there are times just get out of car not realising did not off engine and lock the doors and want to walk off. But there is a peep sound that makes you not able to lock the doors. Forgot to ask the service center, regarding the HU. Had tried the bluetooth syncing with my iphone and it works with calling. However when I load all my contacts from phone to the system, the calling function/bluetooth function will hang. Probably will only active back after you off enginer for quite sometime and turn on back again. what is this duo.com.sg about? didn't hear any about this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cicada1810 1st Gear October 1, 2015 Share October 1, 2015 True lah. The car is relatively affordable (I don't use cheap haha), you pay for what you get. Overall after owning the car 5 months and over 3k mileage (low mileage driver), everything is good. If I am not being fussy, the only trouble I have is getting used to the CVT. No doubts it provides smoothness, efficiency and no issues going to 100km/h on expressways, but it's missing the much needed acceleration when lets say.. The light sudden changed colour.. (WHOOPS) p.s. If you want a quick servicing, book the first appointment. My 5k servicing was done within 30mins, for first appointment at Ubi, around 8:30am. Yeah can anyone elaborate on the duo thingy? Do I have to sign up myself? How about the points? Nitro, pai seh....my wrong use of term 'cheap'. I take that back. 'Affordable' is the word. Tks for correcting :) I'm a huge advocate for paying for wat u use. That's why i chose the premium version over the signature because i didn't see the need for the body kit and Sound System. I saw some front body kit kanna wack when they cross a high hump. My colleage's front kit of her Sylphy also scratched badly. Either they went in too fast or the hump really a body kit-killer. So to all the bros here with body kit, pls do go slow over humps.most are generally ok, but most in HDB carparks especially those super big ones under the sheltered walkway from HDB to bus stop are made to seriously slow down oncoming vehicle. Those are kit killers. Saw a few cars kanna. They are also suspension killers. U will need to go dead slow. The reverse cam and GPS/Bluetooth are useful add-ons that my previous Altis didn't have. No regrets for those 2. Agree on the quick servicing. My 1k and 5k was done within an hr. Latest 10k was a freak by the SA's inefficiency. For future service, I will just take AM VL and go back to work in the PM. For DUO, you can sign up online. They are supposed to issue opening points but i got none. I'm supposed to get points after rounds of servicing but i think i didn't get the points because they are still Not charged to me for now. I will email them later to enquire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FinalNitro 2nd Gear October 2, 2015 Share October 2, 2015 Nitro, pai seh....my wrong use of term 'cheap'. I take that back. 'Affordable' is the word. Tks for correcting :) I'm a huge advocate for paying for wat u use. That's why i chose the premium version over the signature because i didn't see the need for the body kit and Sound System. I saw some front body kit kanna wack when they cross a high hump. My colleage's front kit of her Sylphy also scratched badly. Either they went in too fast or the hump really a body kit-killer. So to all the bros here with body kit, pls do go slow over humps.most are generally ok, but most in HDB carparks especially those super big ones under the sheltered walkway from HDB to bus stop are made to seriously slow down oncoming vehicle. Those are kit killers. Saw a few cars kanna. They are also suspension killers. U will need to go dead slow. The reverse cam and GPS/Bluetooth are useful add-ons that my previous Altis didn't have. No regrets for those 2. Agree on the quick servicing. My 1k and 5k was done within an hr. Latest 10k was a freak by the SA's inefficiency. For future service, I will just take AM VL and go back to work in the PM. For DUO, you can sign up online. They are supposed to issue opening points but i got none. I'm supposed to get points after rounds of servicing but i think i didn't get the points because they are still Not charged to me for now. I will email them later to enquire. Haha nothing much. Your meaning of cheap and my meaning of affordable may be different. Different people different perception. Only problem I've face with the bodykit is high kerb from old HDB carparks, hence the rear got scratches, heart pain. Also the exhaust pipe always kena the kerb, then vibrating on the concrete. Normally happens with there's heavy load, and the car seems to be quite low, or the suspension is quite soft. New carparks are alright, the kerbs are lower. Got to check with my SE later. Seems like 50k points is alot, can redeem quite some stuff. Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juuzbe Clutched October 3, 2015 Share October 3, 2015 You go to www.duo.com.sg and sign up. You should have the duo points given. IF not check with your SA. You will earn duo points for any car purchases or servicing, For our car mart, u just need duo$9800. Normally they will give you 30k+ duo points for your car purchase. So you should be able to redeem 3 sets which can last your more than 10 years. had asked but the SE said is meant for guaranteed COE purchases only, mine not guaranteed COE so not entitled. Don't know if he smoked me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robtan99 1st Gear October 3, 2015 Share October 3, 2015 had asked but the SE said is meant for guaranteed COE purchases only, mine not guaranteed COE so not entitled. Don't know if he smoked me. he smoked you la.. mine also not guarantee but i also got the points..... as long as the car is transacted, you should get the points... got nothing to do with COE... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eug1388 6th Gear October 3, 2015 Share October 3, 2015 Hi mates, so you all got the duo points and details upon collection of the car or u have to register a duo account before receiving the points? Tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juuzbe Clutched October 3, 2015 Share October 3, 2015 he smoked you la.. mine also not guarantee but i also got the points..... as long as the car is transacted, you should get the points... got nothing to do with COE... Oh.....OK, will try ask again. KNS smoke me but since collected car and he closed his deal I guess he will F care about this, won't recommend friends to him liao. By the way, went into duo Web to check the 9800 points car mat you mentioned, it is the same that came with my car leh, the thin type. I want the dust trap type similar to those 3M type, which had asked TC selling the $60+. Anyone used that? Good bo? Or would recommend other brand instead? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FinalNitro 2nd Gear October 3, 2015 Share October 3, 2015 Oh.....OK, will try ask again. KNS smoke me but since collected car and he closed his deal I guess he will F care about this, won't recommend friends to him liao. By the way, went into duo Web to check the 9800 points car mat you mentioned, it is the same that came with my car leh, the thin type. I want the dust trap type similar to those 3M type, which had asked TC selling the $60+. Anyone used that? Good bo? Or would recommend other brand instead? I'm using that. I think it's call 3A mats, replicas of 3M types? My SE gave it to me when I collected the car, on top of the thin type one, so I got 2 in my car. Its works fairly well, traps leaves and stuff, but because they slide around, not fixed, so some bit goes under the mat. Its average and works, but cannot be compared to 3Ms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear October 4, 2015 Share October 4, 2015 Has the price gone up? Use to see many new Syl on the road but now very few new ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robtan99 1st Gear October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 Has the price gone up? Use to see many new Syl on the road but now very few new ones. should be price gone down and so are other continental cars. Probably people going for other choices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FinalNitro 2nd Gear October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 Has the price gone up? Use to see many new Syl on the road but now very few new ones. Yeah gone down. So people might be looking at other models as the price not so competitive already. When COE high, Sylphy one of the most affordable, bang for buck, Japanese saloon. Now with COE dropping, there are many more options for the same price range / category. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 The listed price for the 1.6 premium model is still unchanged at around 106k compared to exactly a year ago. Btw if you noticed when this current Sylphy was launched here 2/3 years ago, the rear middle seat has 3 point safety belt. Now it is just lap belt. I noticed from the photos of the cars in sgcarmart. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juuzbe Clutched October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 with recent price of standard Altis upgradable to Elegance at its same price, I guess would have drawn many buyers over. If this promotion comes during my purchase months ago, I would have swung to Altis too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FinalNitro 2nd Gear October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 The listed price for the 1.6 premium model is still unchanged at around 106k compared to exactly a year ago. Btw if you noticed when this current Sylphy was launched here 2/3 years ago, the rear middle seat has 3 point safety belt. Now it is just lap belt. I noticed from the photos of the cars in sgcarmart. This! I just noticed from the sgcarmart review posted year 2013. Wonder why they changed it. with recent price of standard Altis upgradable to Elegance at its same price, I guess would have drawn many buyers over. If this promotion comes during my purchase months ago, I would have swung to Altis too. Haha me too! But then Altis no rear air-con leh. Aiya anyway, now got car, drive liao happy, enough for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kt2011 1st Gear October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 The listed price for the 1.6 premium model is still unchanged at around 106k compared to exactly a year ago. Btw if you noticed when this current Sylphy was launched here 2/3 years ago, the rear middle seat has 3 point safety belt. Now it is just lap belt. I noticed from the photos of the cars in sgcarmart. Oh yes i noticed that too. Can anyone here owning the 1st few batches confirm on that? Btw my center console cup holder does not have retractable cover. According to SE, they removed tat feature for all recent n future production. Hmm even this also want cut cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kt2011 1st Gear October 5, 2015 Share October 5, 2015 Yeah gone down. So people might be looking at other models as the price not so competitive already. When COE high, Sylphy one of the most affordable, bang for buck, Japanese saloon. Now with COE dropping, there are many more options for the same price range / category. Actually i noticed more b&b cars now than when prices were high. Guess many buyers have this mindset of "topping up $xxK can get a better brand/car" when prices were high. If price dropped for a car that one wish to buy, isn't it good since he can save that few $k? :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...