macrosszero Turbocharged June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Today's Straits Times print edition (sorry no web version yet) 2 year old Suzuki Vitara has a single vehicle accident, skidded and hit guardrail, seems no other car involved. 46 year old owner sends it for repair at NTUC authorized workshop and the insurer pays out 19k plus for repairing the car. But repair bill includes replacing undamaged parts, eg. reverse sensor when the damage was in the front. Owner contests the bill amount, NTUC tells him to take it up with the workshop himself. Seems NTUC is happy to pay the 19k, the driver loses NCB not enough, but still have to contend with a 400% rise in premiums. See newspapers for photos of the car after the crash... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Midnightclub Neutral Newbie June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Seems NTUC is happy to pay the 19k, the driver loses NCB not enough, but still have to contend with a 400% rise in premiums. 400%...obscene Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweety889 Neutral Newbie June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 This is getting out of hand. Insurance companies also not interested to look further into it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Another sad case of insurance premiums farked up by the unethical costings of car workshop and Auntie Lucy. I think he is better off repairing this out of his own pockets. Will be cheaper than getting a inflated claim and a jump of 400% in premium. Seriously, if only motorists are willing to settle repair costs without involving the insurers (and that includes not sending the car to the authorised dealer) , I think the insurers will have no chance to increase premiums year after year after year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Wtf? damage infront, what has that got to do with the reverse sensor? Seems like workshops and insurers and in cahoots. Should we have a blacklist of all of them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kallangrally Neutral Newbie June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 dunno which scholar come out with the idea of "die die must report accident within 24hours".....this will definitely jack up all the funny claims which in turn hit innocent drivers like us....last time $50-$100 private settlement, now small accident repairs become 5 times 10 times by workshop....medical...loss of use...legal....admin.....then tell us they have a $#%$ ing big loss no choice but to increase the premium....no choice??????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 lets look this as a case-by-case basis owner shud have discussed with workshop for minimal repairs & shared the $19K . . . may be illegal. nevertheless, owner can always sell the car and get a fresh quote for a fresh new car with new insurance . . . hmmm else, owner can further bang others for more claim on his insurance since its oledi 400% w/o NCD a 14k car with 14k repair cost - say premuim at 1.5K, 400% is about 6K thus it takes at least 2 yrs + to get back the amount the insurance is actually at risk too...... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 i dread the day when insurance premium cost on average $3k to 8$k for a run-of-the-mill car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 i read the papers and saw the pics. i dun see which part or parts of the car requires repair fees tat totaled to S$19k. even if engine chui, the max only cost u S$5k to source and fit. S$19k? lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Sometimes when you can't say no to business that you don't want, just jack up the price lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Supercharged June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 yalor.. looking at the damage photos.. cannot imagine how the authorized workshop managed to end up with a the repair cost of $19k.. NTUC should really re-evaluate their authorized workshops.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Damage doesnt look that bad leh... Car didnt even overturn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Come to think of it, buying comprehensive is of no use if your bread and butter car is fully paid up. When u claim, u will be prejudiced and made to pay exhorbitant premiums - 400% jump!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG. LPPL. Would buying 3rd party and save the balance & ownself pay for "potential future own accidental damage" be more worthwhile? (no financial loss if no accidents) I don't think the w/s will go ahead to repair if estimated bill is 19K unless owner agreed. And estimated bill for such a case will definitely not go so high when w/s knows that you are not claiming against the insurer. Just an opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 (edited) Edited June 2, 2009 by Garlic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 i thought if repair bill > paper value + scrap, insurance will ask you to scrap the car ?? if his car worth 19k only, then just claim total lost mah, then can take BMW.... if lose 50% NCB --> insurance previously at $1k before NCB, x4 = 4k bo hua.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Now all insurance cos equate own damage claim as HIGH risk customers. As good as telling customer, I don't want your business, take it somewhere else when they knew no other insurer will bite. Owner in deadlock situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 Engine undamaged also 19k? What damage? A gearbox covered with gold? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Svtfocus Neutral Newbie June 2, 2009 Share June 2, 2009 (edited) Insurers quite bo chap when it comes to claims from their authorized workshop. Last year, I self claimed for a minor accident, besides undercarriage damage, the front bumper had a very minor scratch... and the workshop change the whole bumper! The parts list went on for a few pages, and the workshop did not allow me to scrutinize the list even though the insurer said I had the right to see. Repairs came to a few K. When I contested the parts changed, insurer only 'took note' of my complaint against the workshop. But probably because of my complaint (and NCD protector), the premium did not go up. Have to admit, the insurer had quite good service level and even got the quality manager to address my complaints... Edited June 2, 2009 by Svtfocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...