Able to claim?

Plsaveme

Most importantly, did you take pictures as evidence? No picture, he can claim ANYTHING he wants. You lose all your course of actions.

law state clealy...... hit stationary car is wrong, whether or not he pked illegally.

survey e ground, if no cctv or witness at tat time, its ur words against his [sly] .

ethical or not is not impt anymore, cos u did try to ur best to pacify him............ [cool]

if he is in stationary , confirm is ur fault . he can say he nv park . he just stop . u can jolly well wait . why wan to squeeze ?

yah i agree that car park case usually is 50-50... but i ever hrd of a case whereby someone hit a truck parking illegally at double-yellow line, in the end the truck gotto pay compensation instead... but situation slightly different becos that was a public rd... like what many said here, since he already refused your offer to settle privately, then i think u just leave this to the insurer and insist that he was blocking the rude inconsiderately and the car was totally in blind spot where quite difficult for you to see him...

just my personal opinion.

2 different versions will result in making a $300 claim blowing up into more than 3k because of lawyer fees, courts, paperwork, witness bla bla bla. Try to keep the claim honest from both side. If the other guy's claim is inflated, thenfight the claim. If not, accept it.

ask him not to claim... just ask him to go any workshop and then u pay for it... this will be cheaper...

if he dont want, die die want to claim... then dont report...

even with video also no use... police dont care....

so anyone or even police sent u letter, just call back say accident never happen... and there will be no case..

this happen to me before... and i pay for the repair myself when someone hit my car, somemore i got video of prove that car is there, and hit me... but no one die, police dont check at all..

and i will not spent few k to get lawyer just to claim small dent...

On 5/26/2009 at 2:08 PM, Bugsbunny said:

Is there any witness or video?

If not just say he reverse and hit you.

Usually of carpark accident is 50%-50%.

[drivingcar]

[lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed] .... but ... [thumbsup]

thanks for all the comments....well, i have decided to ask him go to a workshop to do some spraying n i will pay for it. Time to look for a cheap spraying wkshp...

On 5/26/2009 at 3:41 PM, Bugsbunny said:

Whole Car?

juz the bumper only...its abt 3cm long....guess it wont cost too much...

Aiya! In the first place why you offer him money compensation?

By doing so, you admit liability liao.

He illegal parking you die die don't admit even if its your fault, and by illegal parking, he is at least 50% at fault.

Unless he's a nice guy and understand he at fault also, and since not too serious, both party offer something and settle it.

But since he is a jerk, you should not let him be no matter what.

If he try to claim your insurance, the company sure call you, then you tell them he illegal parking.

Insurance company knows what to do wan.

On 5/27/2009 at 3:08 AM, Hokk7777 said:

Aiya! In the first place why you offer him money compensation?

By doing so, you admit liability liao.

He illegal parking you die die don't admit even if its your fault, and by illegal parking, he is at least 50% at fault.

Unless he's a nice guy and understand he at fault also, and since not too serious, both party offer something and settle it.

But since he is a jerk, you should not let him be no matter what.

If he try to claim your insurance, the company sure call you, then you tell them he illegal parking.

Insurance company knows what to do wan.

ppl illegal pked don mean u ve right to bang him even its unintentional....

On 5/26/2009 at 11:27 AM, Plsaveme said:

Hi all,

if someone illegal park, and i accidently brush against his car, and there is a slight scretch, he refuse my cash offer, can he go claim against my insurance?

Cook up a story saying it's HIS FAULT... at most 50-50% or 40-60% ... Soot him jialat jialat

Who ask him to illegal park?

You wan to illegal park, you take the risks of having your car banged!

And by illegal parking itself is a selfish act that could poses other drivers dangers.

case by case lah. if hit someone's ride, apologize, speak nicely, high chances of resolving with cash.

i parked on double yellow lines, lorry hit my stationary car. driver came down say never hit leh, want to drive off.

i claim his insurance despite his report says no-contact with my ride.

of course i provide photos taken on site. sometime story can be made-up, but decision made is usually based on logic and common senses.

On 5/27/2009 at 4:00 AM, Admiralty said:

case by case lah. if hit someone's ride, apologize, speak nicely, high chances of resolving with cash.

i parked on double yellow lines, lorry hit my stationary car. driver came down say never hit leh, want to drive off.

i claim his insurance despite his report says no-contact with my ride.

of course i provide photos taken on site. sometime story can be made-up, but decision made is usually based on logic and common senses.

If hit someone... quickly be the first to inform your insurance agent and write a good long report about the other party being at fault!! First one in .. get's higher chance of winning... LIE if you need to... LIE!!!!