Blue-winter Neutral Newbie May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 Just wanna to vent out my frustration.... I stayed in the corner unit 4 room HDB , my ex neighbour used to be phillippine nationalities, both family can share the common corridor in peace. They have moved out, my new neighbour are the india nationality , Guess what, eversince they moved in, the outside corridor has changed gradually seem to become their private property. They have put so much things and instead of pushing their things outwards to the corridor, they pushed inward towards my units. Running out of patience, I have told them off that they should be aware the area, and although the common corridor belong to government, that does not mean that they can put anything they like.I have warm them that either we dun put anything outside at all ( HDB say) or we have to agreed on the area within ourselves. Out of anger , I have drawn out the line to indicate that they should not cross over my side. To my surprise , the war has stopped since then.. Is it because of culture difference that caused misunderstanding? I wonder ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 I am seeing more of these, being a Mediator for the community. Tolerance is the key, but I sympathise with you as SOME of these FTs think that they are God-send to SG. Just tell them nicely first, and if it does not improve, escalate it to the TC and they will take action. Normally these FTs would behave as they are pretty subservient, thus being goody 2 shoes...SOME hor, not all. Those quailan ones will end up seeing me with the other neighbor...hahahaha Take care bro, and live and let live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 i think this is a misunderstanding i think they also don not want trouble so they quickly keep those extra things Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 Yep yep, always try to settle in a peaceful and polite way first. Naturally if u are friendly and polite at the beginning, most pple will reciprocate and cooperate. vice versa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue-winter Neutral Newbie May 25, 2009 Author Share May 25, 2009 I am seeing more of these, being a Mediator for the community. Tolerance is the key, but I sympathise with you as SOME of these FTs think that they are God-send to SG. Just tell them nicely first, and if it does not improve, escalate it to the TC and they will take action. Normally these FTs would behave as they are pretty subservient, thus being goody 2 shoes...SOME hor, not all. Those quailan ones will end up seeing me with the other neighbor...hahahaha Take care bro, and live and let live. Thank advise , actually I have no problem with them....in fact the husband is a nice man and I can see that he is trying to compromise the situation with me, It is the wife who keep on complaining here and there saying that we take up so much space which we did not , In actual fact, they actually occupate 2 third of the common corridor , I did told the husband that i supect their things keep moving inwards toward our unit day by day , it seem can move when after I came back home but he explained that none of his family will not do this type of thing.I got nothing to argue with him since I have no prove. hahaaha , eversince the line is drawn, no more this type of problem....I am glad.....cas I am very tired of argue with them... I do not wish to be Joo Chiat famour neighbour !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue-winter Neutral Newbie May 25, 2009 Author Share May 25, 2009 Yep yep, always try to settle in a peaceful and polite way first. Naturally if u are friendly and polite at the beginning, most pple will reciprocate and cooperate. vice versa. yes , I did....although we hardly talk to each other....but before the incident, I always nod my head n give a gentle light smile when ever I see them , ( i always the one who start 1st) but the wife always irritated me as she always stared at me in bloody cold expression , after the incident, I always look another side whenever I pass by them. To fall into argeument with each other is no joke , I am tired... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackchicken Neutral Newbie May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 yes , I did....although we hardly talk to each other....but before the incident, I always nod my head n give a gentle light smile when ever I see them , ( i always the one who start 1st) but the wife always irritated me as she always stared at me in bloody cold expression , after the incident, I always look another side whenever I pass by them. To fall into argeument with each other is no joke , I am tired... Sometimes you got no choice but to lay down the rules with some ppl who like to test water with ppls patience.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtc_exist Neutral Newbie May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 this happen everyday ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 my indian neighbour everyday burn the indian incense smoke damn smelly until i buey tahan lor !!! but no choice also cannot complain, complain also no use. hope to move house soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 my indian neighbour everyday burn the indian incense smoke damn smelly until i buey tahan lor !!! but no choice also cannot complain, complain also no use. hope to move house soon Try talking to them nicely. But Indians being Indians, will feel victimised and feel you're picking on them and kick up a big fuss (esp the ladies, trust me on this). Follow through with a mass kim-zua and joss-sticks burning session (without inconveniencing the rest of the neighbours). Do the burning and turn an industrial fan in their direction. Sometimes deploying paikia and seemingly barbaric technique does wonders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 What did they put? Rubbish or Flower pots? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 install a big fan on your side and blow 24/7 into their doorway? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched May 25, 2009 Share May 25, 2009 My Indian neighbour burns their incense and cook their smelly curry. Whenever I come out of the lift I'm assaulted by such unpleasant scent. So we pretty much keep our doors closed and air-con on. Really hated the smell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 it's like that. most of time is misunderstanding and cultural differences. just tell nicely, don't aggro, that might do the trick as some bros here say. they might even tell us some of our bad habits that we didn't know! but if cannot, depends on whether you or neighbor want to escalate to everitt road spat. like that, might even be worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 My Indian neighbour burns their incense and cook their smelly curry. Whenever I come out of the lift I'm assaulted by such unpleasant scent. So we pretty much keep our doors closed and air-con on. Really hated the smell. its e smell of spring onions....go past any construction site at nite, cfm can smell wif e FW cooking their curry . Smell not bad but if smell everyday, its another thing all together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 My Indian neighbour burns their incense and cook their smelly curry. Whenever I come out of the lift I'm assaulted by such unpleasant scent. So we pretty much keep our doors closed and air-con on. Really hated the smell. One of my neighbours staying below my unit is a hawker. Deep fry food and make balachan chilli middle of the night until the smell wake us up from sleep. So no choice evey night aircon to keep the smell away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 i empathise with you bro.coz my block,got some idiot who always throws his lighted cigg butt outside the kitchen window and land on cars parkde below.dunno how many times me and my neighbours' cars kena. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foxfire Neutral Newbie May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 I had the same experience with the mum neighbor, and happened I know one of the son from NS. Basically we were caught in the middle in the same situation, don't know what or who to side. The disagreement and stare occurred for a long while. BUT, one day, my dad had some problem, guess what, it was this neighbor that assisted. Since then, my mum has been very well with this family and they have been better in placing things along the corridor. Although the neighbor have shifted away, each family made the effort to gave the condolence when each of our dad pass on. There is a saying that the neighbor is better than the faraway relative. And once my neighbor was out to Malaysia, their daughter had fits and I had no hesitation to send her to seek medical help. I know my neighbor will do the same if I ever in the same situation. Maybe I am lucky, but sometimes it just turning to blind eye to that pot of plant that ate 1cm into 'my' space or those slippers that might have just been kicked by someone else to near my door. I just shifted to a new place and I must say it takes a while to build up the 'neighborhoodness'. Be patient really. I believe everyone want to live in harmony, less maybe those who believe that living here is a temporary solution. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...