Directions to Cameron Highland

Xmark

Would like to know the directional routes to Cameron Highland.

Points also I will be interested to know:

1) From SG to Cameron HL, how many KM?

2) Roughly how much needed to clear the Toll.

3) Any fare hotel to recomment. Burget about RM200+/-

4) Any must try food over there? or any good makan place.

5) What is the temperature like in June.

Thanks in advance for all bro and sis to assist me in the above.

From the South via Tapah (Old Road)

Cameron Highlands is about 300kms from Kuala Lumpur and it takes about 3 hours to get there via the North-South Expressway (NSE). If you are driving from Kuala Lumpur, find your way to the NSE by following the signs to Ipoh. Once you're on the expressway, keep on driving north for about 1.5 hours until you reach Tapah.

Take Exit 132 and you will be at the Tapah toll booth. Once you have paid the toll, turn left at the traffic lights and from here onwards you will be on the long winding road to Cameron Highlands which is about 60 km's away..."

~ above is reproduced from www.cameronhighlands.com ~

If u want to take the new road:

"From the north via Simpang Pulai / Ipoh (New Road)

Now that the new road from Simpang Pulai is open, more people are using this route to get to the highlands. The road condition is much better here than the Tapah route and it only takes about 45 minutes to get to Kampung Raja from Simpang Pulai.

Take Exit 137 (Simpang Pulai) and turn right at the traffic light right after the toll booth. Turn right again at the next traffic light about 200 metres away. You are now on the way to Cameron Highlands. After about 1 hour, you will reach the Kampung Raja junction where you will have to turn right from the new road into Kampung Raja town. You're now in Cameron Highlands and you can just follow the main road to your destination. Brinchang & Tanah Rata is about 25-30kms from here."

Keep heading for Ipoh on the NSH. From Lima Kedai (2nd Link) to exit at Tapah is about 470km (5 hrs). Turn left to Cameron and right to Tapah town, if u want to. Then the climb is about 50km from there (1+hr). I prefer to go up by Tapah (more old school twist and turn) and down by Simpang Pulai (Sweeping corners). Go up slowly, u can even stop at the waterfall. Also, if u go in June + weekend, expect traffic jams especially during meal times cos the roads are very very limited. So u might consider walking if u dun stay too far out from town.

Toll is about RM70, IIRC.

There are couple of small hotel at Brinchang and Tanah Ratah that will might fit your budget. But personally, strawberry park is my fav. I think peak should be around RM300.

So far, no particularly nice eating place but the pasar malam on weekends got some nice stuffs to eat. becareful of the steamboat restaurants in Brinchang, sometimes they potong carrothead Singaporeans. There is one restaurant which is quite good, not exceptional but I generally go there is

"O.K Teck" at Brinchang. Its located in the big carpark by the main street meaning right hand side of the road when you are going up.

Should be 20+ in the day and 18 in the evenings.

Here is a good site to have more information - http://www.cameron-highland-destination.com/

Have a good trip. drive safe.

I got this off the net previously when i needed directions to CH, was driving there first time and the directions pretty accurate.

Basically there are 2 routes up to camerons. The old route is from Tapah, and the new one from Ipoh.

General Directions:

After the 2nd Link, drive up to Ayer Keroh, where I

If u want to take the new road:

"From the north via Simpang Pulai / Ipoh (New Road)

Now that the new road from Simpang Pulai is open, more people are using this route to get to the highlands. The road condition is much better here than the Tapah route and it only takes about 45 minutes to get to Kampung Raja from Simpang Pulai.

Take Exit 137 (Simpang Pulai) and turn right at the traffic light right after the toll booth. Turn right again at the next traffic light about 200 metres away. You are now on the way to Cameron Highlands. After about 1 hour, you will reach the Kampung Raja junction where you will have to turn right from the new road into Kampung Raja town. You're now in Cameron Highlands and you can just follow the main road to your destination. Brinchang & Tanah Rata is about 25-30kms from here."

any idea how diff is e new rd to e old one? Last time i went up there was like 8 yrs ago n till now it still haunt mi. The climb was v gradual n it takes 2 hrs of non stop L&R turning of wheels to go up. Its really a horrific experience for e passengers esp e 1sitting behind [sweatdrop]

sorry I have no idea as haven't driven it personally. But from what I read of others' experience, the new road is much much easier.

new road is better in the sense its wider and more room for overtaking, but longer distance and not so steep, better scenary

i was hoping for a steeper climb like genting..... quicker to e top. Cameron HL slope is really flat [sleeping]

but old road can see waterfall [bounce2][bounce2] anyway i prefer old road when going up, faster.

After visiting the other smaller waterfalls in Cameron Highlands near Tanah Rata, I am not sure I will ever step into the Lata Iskandar Waterfall (enroute to CH via Tapah) again.

Agreed that the Tapah drive is shorter. If you drive it like the locals (ie. not keeping strictly to your lane at all times but in a safe manner, if you know what I mean), the drive is actually not too bad, none of my passengers complained the last time. If you have someone who gets carsick easier, do stick to Simpang Pulai.

To TS, it might be worth your while to do a search on Cameron Highlands.

And if you go there then book hotel, it is cheaper. About 25% discount over the counter. Even when compared from internet rates.

Can share with me which hotel offers better walk in rates than internet rates? I always pay more, never less under such circumstances. Would be good to KIV this information should I decide to make a last minute stopover at CH in the future.

Most of the hotel are fully booked on 12-14 Jun. [furious] Those who go without booking please take note.