Here's what you get when you have a retarded neighbour

Leslielai

Major security risk at Nusajaya

By NELSON BENJAMIN and MEERA VIJAYAN

JOHOR BARU: Kota Iskandar, the sprawling new state administrative capital in Nusajaya, faces a major security risk as it is located near a Singapore firing range.

The range, inside the Sarimbun Camp, is operated by the Singapore Armed Forces and involves the use of live ammunition from tanks and aircraft including helicopter gunships.

Sarimbun is located about 1km away from Lim Chu Kang Road in Singapore where Japanese soldiers crossed the Johor Straits in a fleet of small boats and successfully landed on the island around midnight on Feb 8, 1942.

There have been instances when the explosions at the range have caused vibrations on the Malaysian side less than 2km away.

Too close for comfort: An aerial view of Nusajaya showing the close proximity of Kota Iskandar(foreground) to the Sarimbun firing range,marked X.

Government servants, who have been moving into buildings at Kota Iskandar in recent weeks, have also expressed worries about stray bullets or shells.

Nusajaya assemblyman Datuk Aziz Sapian said he was aware of the risks posed by the firing range and had raised the security issue at the Johor State Assembly even before the area was developed.

He hoped the Government would discuss the matter with Singapore and set up a military base on Pulau Merabong to beef up security around Kota Iskandar.

At NTU you can also feel the vibrations and there are very close to the range too. So violent at times that you can see & hear the windows rattle. But so far no students(including M'sian ones) got hit by stray bullet & shell. So far nobody comprain over at NTU.

IMO if you are building a city there you would have found a lot of stray bullet and shells by now. The sg training & live firing ground stretches very far, how to relocate? TCSS. Not at all smart ppl to make such comments.

I just find it incredibly funny that they themselves are aware that the camp's been there eons before they built anything on their side, and yet they think it's reasonable - even possible - to complain about "stray bullets" and "vibrations".

What a pile of morons. I'm sure there're brilliant Malaysians, but they're surely not working for their government.

Why....they think to relocate the firing range to CBD and CBD to firing range??

This will not happen unless, SG can reclaim some more lands elsewhere and build their firing playground there.

Dun think that they will spend that type of $$ unless got free sponsers from elsewhere....

but the retarded neighbor manage to catch msk wor...... so, this title also can be used by MY when msk escape from toilet??.. :D

Move also good lah... That area got farms and factories...

TS hate his neighbour so much think he will not contribute to the weekly congestion at the check points for food, fun and cheaper petrol.

now they got MSK in their hands, they will use him as a bargaining chip with us....

just watch and see...

we all know how our neighbor works.

if not, then they have to keep MSK for so long? excuse is that they are investigating some terrorists info from him.... its all Bull.......

MSK is probably eating nasi lemak with the police officers, while waiting for the garment to take something from us......

Well, it is not a secret that that they are always much superior then us, at least this is what they belief....But I have to say that it is much much batter when DR. M did all the bashing on us.....during that time.....it was worst man.....

Malaysian govt maybe less competent, but do U tink Singaporeans are any smarter than Malaysian citizens??

Relation with our neighbour has gone up a few notches with the recent visit by their new PM. [flowerface]

we also not so innocent, if you look at our latest two gahmen incinerators, tuas and senoko, no need to guess who its facing directly... not very nice leh, if u ask me..

Better them dan us kenna the smog. [laugh]

Or you have a better suggestion?

Better them dan us kenna the smog. [laugh]

Or you have a better suggestion?

err.. built at jaybee? [laugh]

This kind of comment is normal lah... made by all these small-time kampung politicians in Johor... what's new?

Such comments serve the purpose of rallying support for unpopular govts on both sides of the causeway, if you know what i mean...

Actually, behind the scenes, the establishment in malaysia works very well with the establishment in singapore indeed. IMHO, all these comments and 'provocations' happening once in a while seem to be quite rehearsed and always play out the same way... [;)]

You must look at this from a political angle. Stupid or not, the Malaysians can build whatever they want, where ever they want, as long as it is on their sovereign land. If they get disturbed by vibrations or some stray round, they can turn the matter around and paint us as the inconsiderate neighbour.

If there is some thorny bilateral issue next time, don't be suprised if this firing range thing is used as a bargaining chip, diversion or crutch.