Sunnycrowe Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 i wonder y the ERP is only turned off between 10am to 12pm..... (in bugis city area) i understand during morning n evening peak hrs, ERP is on........ but between 12pm to 5pm oso on?? i dun see any difference in the number of vehicles during the 10am-12pm period and the 12pm-5pm period... my work involves driving ard in city area n i got zapped by erp so many times even though the traffic is not heavy from 12pm to 5pm... some erps even operate on sat..... there r so few cars n yet they turn on the erp... for what??? Well LTA can say "its due to the erp thats y cars on tat road is so few.".... i can say that even if they turn off the erp, the cars will remain few cos some roads are not heavily used..... ERPs on roads with few cars - plain stupid.... ERPs on roads with alot of cars - even more stupid cos we pay ERP n the road is stil jammed.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siong75 Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 (edited) i wonder y the ERP is only turned off between 10am to 12pm..... (in bugis city area) i understand during morning n evening peak hrs, ERP is on........ but between 12pm to 5pm oso on?? i dun see any difference in the number of vehicles during the 10am-12pm period and the 12pm-5pm period... my work involves driving ard in city area n i got zapped by erp so many times even though the traffic is not heavy from 12pm to 5pm... some erps even operate on sat..... there r so few cars n yet they turn on the erp... for what??? Well LTA can say "its due to the erp thats y cars on tat road is so few.".... i can say that even if they turn off the erp, the cars will remain few cos some roads are not heavily used..... ERPs on roads with few cars - plain stupid.... ERPs on roads with alot of cars - even more stupid cos we pay ERP n the road is stil jammed.... When LTA want do certain thing, they can give lots of "reasonable" reasons but are not logical or no sense one, sighs....... Edited May 24, 2009 by Siong75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnycrowe Clutched May 24, 2009 Author Share May 24, 2009 yes.... and if the roads r stil jammed even during erp turned on, they will review n come up with a genius solution..... "increase erp rate from $2 to $2.50".... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plim72 Neutral Newbie May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 they feel great about this and now want to make ERP an icon of singapore by selling souvenirs for tourists to bring home Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 (edited) they feel great about this and now want to make ERP an icon of singapore by selling souvenirs for tourists to bring home beep $$ from car IU, now beep $$ from human being pocket wonder wats nxt............. Edited May 24, 2009 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 ERP is like MacDonald's motto to LTA. I'm loving it! Anyway, 10am-12pm. You should not be on the road unless due to the following circumstances, your off-day thus you go and play, you've got a sales job and requires traveling, you're a delivery man. If not, you should be on your desk working. Alternatively, you've just booked a room at Bencoolen H81 for a bonking session. Why the ERP is turn on at 12pm. It's lunchtime! ERP is hungry! "I've loving it!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cam70 Neutral Newbie May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 Walao how can you criticise the idea of those top-paid Ministors and sikolars...!!!! With the failure of COE system ( which the famous Mr. Mah admitted himself) , this is the most genuis idea in the world. "THEY ARE THE BEST IN THE WORLD"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 (edited) Walao how can you criticise the idea of those top-paid Ministors and sikolars...!!!! With the failure of COE system ( which the famous Mr. Mah admitted himself) , this is the most genuis idea in the world. "THEY ARE THE BEST IN THE WORLD"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xcuse mi, don anyhow say.....its "THEY ARE THE BEST IN THE UNIVERSE" Edited May 24, 2009 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 Say what you want, that's how the familee works here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 We can discuss till the cows come home and the result is still the same - ERP will stay and the underlying reason is it's a revenue making machine. If I recall correctly, the ERP around Fullerton area operates till 8pm even for a Sat nite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 ERP will not only stay but will be on more frequently and also the amount of gantry will spread like a plague across all road in Singapore be it major or minor not forgetting residential car parks too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 The intention is obvious...it's for $$$$$$ no explanation is need be given by "world class govt" they are elites, so they think commoner dun deserve an answer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 ERP worst invention? You are wrong bro. ERP is very good invention. just that we are not at the position to understand and get benefit from this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viotrex Neutral Newbie May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 Only an idiot will believe the propaganda that the ERP's mission statement is to ease traffic congestions. If they really wanted to use ERPs to ease traffic congestions, they would have priced it at a ridiculously expensive rate like its English counterpart for the city of London where the prices really "hurt". Over here, the prices are just on the verge of being "painful" but yet affordable enough that most people will still pay daily to drive into ERP areas. Comparing the two pricing methods, it's easy to see that our ERP system is the one that can generate more revenue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 Only an idiot will believe the propaganda that the ERP's mission statement is to ease traffic congestions. If they really wanted to use ERPs to ease traffic congestions, they would have priced it at a ridiculously expensive rate like its English counterpart for the city of London where the prices really "hurt". Over here, the prices are just on the verge of being "painful" but yet affordable enough that most people will still pay daily to drive into ERP areas. Comparing the two pricing methods, it's easy to see that our ERP system is the one that can generate more revenue. over there its called congestion tax. it can be partially or fully waived if you drive a ridiculously small car (which some of us do) or a 'green' vehicle. and good luck if you're driving a 4.5L range rover. then again in london it is faster to travel by the tube.driving will be reserved for going into the country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viotrex Neutral Newbie May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 over there its called congestion tax. it can be partially or fully waived if you drive a ridiculously small car (which some of us do) or a 'green' vehicle. and good luck if you're driving a 4.5L range rover. then again in london it is faster to travel by the tube.driving will be reserved for going into the country. Exactly. It may or may not be a direct result of their government's intervention but nevertheless there is a successful travel/commute culture around the tube infrastructure, which is something that's lacking here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 ERP worst invention? You are wrong bro. ERP is very good invention. just that we are not at the position to understand and get benefit from this. agree, ERP is the best system to confuse road users so that more tax can be increase easily, anytime... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 (edited) still turn on erp with few cars on the road? That's why ERP works! enuf said. Edited May 24, 2009 by Felipe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...